We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allingham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the allingham arms hotel on sat nite 3rd Nov had a great time there staff were very friendky food was excellent in the bar enjoy the dancing and music enjoyed it so much i recommened to my friend who travelling up from limerick on the 23 our room ways lovely overlooking the sea following day breakfast was lovely rooms great and a friendly face to greet you at reception il will be back again keep up the great work and atmosphere at the allinghamx

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank childmindero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for suggesting us to your friend, they have already booked with us on your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    72
    41
    31
    21
See reviews for
81
134
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Just back from the bank holiday weekend there,fabulous food and music,very happy overall,and we will defo be back,the rooms were great and the staff were very friendly,we cant wait for the next big weekend there,keep up the great work,thank you all so much to the staff and management,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review. I will pass your kind comments on to staff and management. Our events page is regularly updated on the website if you wish to keep up to date with our music festvals and showbreak weekends. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 28th October 2012 (Music Festival / Bank Holiday). Would highly recommend. We had a really nice spacious room over looking the sea. Room was modern, clean and tidy. Really comfy beds and good powerful shower. Room was nice and warm and if needed the windows could be opened. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was great and the entertainment in the evening was really good craic (Derek Ryan). Breakfast was tasty and hot however the cooked breakfast was very limited as there were only sausages, bacon, eggs and beans there was no white or black pudding, potato bread, mushrooms or tomatos which I found strange as every hotel i've been too always have these with your cooked breakfast. We also had bar food in the evening which I would class as average as it was really over cooked. Apart from the food I would say it overall it was a very enjoyable stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCCONKEY261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay over the bank holiday weekend. I was really pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay in one of our seaview deluxe bedrooms. With regards to breakfast, the other breakfast items you suggest are certainly an option and I will pass your suggestions on to the head chef, I will also pass on your feeback with regards to your Bar Food, I apologise that you felt it wasn't up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for country Phil Mac Country Show which was a great night. Staff very friendly
and helpful. Food in hotel was excellent and also breakfast was fab. We were in room on ground
floor which was a little dated and could do with being updated but it was still clean which was
the main thing.

Room Tip: Ask for front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback.
The Phil Mack country show was a great success and we have had nothing but positive feeback following their show. We have commenced refurbishments on the 2nd phase of the ground floor this week including new decor, furniture and carpets and we hope to have this completed within the next fortnight, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

After taking advantage of one of the hotels great deals, 2nts b&b + 1 eve meal + entrance to the dance we had a brilliant weekend.
Room was a little dated but was clean, with tv, tea & coffee making facilities.
Breakfast on both mornings was excellent with plenty of variety as was the evening meal,also a lovely view of the beach & the Atlantic Ocean from the restaurants large windows.
Staff were all very friendly & professional. Looking forward to taking advantage of another one of their deals again very soon ! Irelands top country bands play here regulary, Nathan Carter & Derek Ryan for excample. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Beatiful views from the front rooms over looking the beach & the Atlantic Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for our recent review. The showbreaks are a very popular weekend package and we believe that they offer great value for money, which is very important to us. The renovation process at the hotel is something that is ongoing, I apologise if you found your room dated but, I can assure you that we are doing our best to do a little bit each year during quiet periods and with minimal distruption to our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a disastrous day at The great northern hotel (see my review) my girlfriend and i walked around bundoran looking for somewhere else to stay and eventually came here. i explained what had happened earlier with the great northern, and the girl whose name escapes me behind the desk offered me a room with a sea view for over 30 euro cheaper. She asked if id like to see the room first so i did. It was absolutely magnificent for the price we paid, it was spacious, High ceilings, Two beds, beautifully modern yet still traditional. It was the best hotel experience i've had in Ireland and i will without doubt be staying there next time i'm in bundoran. Only criticism is that all rooms are not up to this high standard but from my experience it's a winner and ill ask for the specific room number i had last time.

side note: breakfast was set up well and the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view at hotel front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Upon arrival we were given a ground fllor room which was dingy, dark and outdated. I complained and was given a 3rd floor bed room which was much better, or so I thought. We went to bed at 12.30 but could not sleep for the noise from dance below us. I rang reception and was told dance wasnt over till 2am and were moved again to 2nd floor sea view, which was much quieter. When I complained the next morning, there was no managaer to speak to and my wife rang on Monday and spoke to a Peter McIntyre, manager. His attitude was more or less dont care, you got what you paid for in a "3 star " hotel. Nothing more he would do for us and bascially couldnt care less. I have stayed in many a 3 star hotel and never have I been moved to 3 different bedrooms in one night. Given this was our wedding anniversary, I was deeply disappointed with the stay and the attitude of Mr McIntyre , who I believe would benifit from refreshers course in customer service. I will never stay in this hotel again nor would I reccommend it to anyone. Only good thing was evening dinner was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flannys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Flannys1,

Thank you for your recent review. I would like to start by clarifying that your initial room move on check in was your own choice, all our rooms adhere to Failte Ireland's requirements for 3 star standard. Unfortunately, we cannot appeal to each individuals taste and it's disappointing that you felt the room was out dated, we offered you a room move to the 2nd floor which you accepted. As you state in your review, later on in the evening at approximately 12.25am you contacted reception with concerns about the noise from the dance and the receptionist on duty immediately offered you a complimentary deluxe sea view room at the front of the hotel. A member of bar staff was asked to call up and assist you with your move & luggage, to avoid any further inconvenience to you both.

The following morning on check out you expressed your disatisfaction with your experience. You requested a voucher as a form of compensation and queried having to pay the wine charge on your bill. It was agreed that you would call later that day and discuss your concerns with the manager.

Peter has been running the Allingham for the last 20 years and has been in the hospitality industry from a very young age, the majority of our client base is repeat due to Peter's welcoming and kind nature. He is such a generous and kind hearted man and I can assure you that there is no issue with his customer service skills.

We advertise on a weekly basis, locally and nationally that we are predominantly a country and western venue. We also advertise our weekend dance breaks on our website which you would have noticed when you placed your booking online. We do not hide the fact that we are an entertainment venue featuring the biggest acts in Country Music every weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Property: Allingham Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allingham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Allingham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing