We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portbeg Holiday Homes at Donegal Bay
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We rented 8 houses here for the weekend just gone past and we only have great things to say about it! Last year we came down with a large group to get some surf in and we were so impressed with how spacious and well fitted the house was to cater our needs. This year we came down with an even larger group and stayed the full weekend. All 8 houses we rented were kitted out with hot water, heating, very spacious and modern living rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen was very big and like the rest of the house was well light to guarantee maximum light into the house. The houses fitted up to ten people each which was fantastic and the best part was how every one still managed to have their own space due to the luxurious size of the house. T
He owners of the houses are very friendly and are willing to help with any small problems. The houses are only a ten minute walk into the town of Bundoran and the beach. We would definitely recommend a stay here and are for sure coming back again. Many thanks to the owners for having us!

Kind regards,

DCU Surf and Sail

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcu-surf-and-sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a great week in Donegal Bay Homes, the 3 bed house was lovely and spacious so great for a big family and kids. They were very clean and a great location for all activities with plenty to do. kids loved the swimming pool and the beach but there is everything you can imgine to keep the kids happy. We would go back in a minute weather was changeable but you can't plan the weather

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Third time to these houses in Bundoran. Thanks had a great time again. All the houses are four bed so very spacious. They are only 3 star houses and very well equipt for 3 stars. Large family with four children so the space was great. Weather not so good, but then again we always come prepared with rain coats. The houses are right beside the cliff walk so great for walks with the children. Not so good on the windy days. Only about 10 minutes walk to the Beach, Bundoran town is about a mile long so lots of places to go. We always ask for the detached houses by the cliff, but they get booked up early, so last year we had to take a semi. Children love Bundoran and never get bored. Had a problem with the Iron, but nothing too much trouble for management we were given a new one instantly. Look forward to next year, booked already

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went for 12 day holiday in July this was our third stay in 4 years not available last year due to our late booking. The homes are well laid out very clean with plenty of extras left like dishwasher tablets kitchen roll loo roll etc .TV basic channels but owner has promised Saorview this year will be installed. The location is unreal with a view of the Bay in fact fotos I took this year and posted on Facebook people thought we in in France given the few sunny days we did get it looked even better. The place is pet friendly but dont worry there are no hoards of dogs around annoying you. There is a lovely cliff walk beside the houses also. I will go nowhere else if I return to Bundoran in 2013.Staff are friendly and easy going and always

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at these houses for the Aug Bank Holiday week. The house was very spacious and had all we needed for a family break. This was our second holiday here. Weather was good too so we had some great walks on the beach. The Sea is just beside the houses so you can walk along the cliffs. Kids had a great time yet again in Bundoran, and only takes about 5 mins to walk into town. Ample size houses clean and tidy. We found nothing was too much trouble for the staff and always willing to help. Waterworld great in the town, kids love it. We will be back in October, great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coyoteugly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We paid 700 euro for 1 week and left after 4 days - we got 3 days money back thankfully which we spent on a lovely hotel in Letterkenny for the remaining time. The house had lots of cracks in it's walls and floors, the dishwasher and washing machine did not work, the bath water leaked through the floor into a light fixing, the furniture smelled musty and there was mould in the showers. Location was good but not worth 700 euros. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

really don't understand statements from all others. location = fairly good. plenty of room. the beds are not very comfortable. Value and service average, nothing more. Cleanliness more than worse. we paid € 700 per week with an additional charge for electricity.

All further services they are providing are to expensive for the level of quality you receive (riding, surfing etc.).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toplevelGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
6.4 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
617 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maddens Bridge Bar
Maddens Bridge Bar
#13 of 16 in Bundoran
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rougey Lodge
Rougey Lodge
#6 of 12 in Bundoran
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portbeg Holiday Homes at Donegal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portbeg Holiday Homes at Donegal Bay

Address: 19 Portbeg, Bundoran, Ireland (Formerly Donegal Bay Holiday Homes)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bundoran
Price Range: $185 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portbeg Holiday Homes at Donegal Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the fringe of Bundoran, Ireland's Surf Capital. Portbeg Holiday Homes are situated one minutes walk from the Atlantic coast on the Wild Atlantic Way route in Donegal. We are approx 8 minutes walk from the restaurants, pubs, and visitor attractions. The location is an ideal base for surfing, golfing, horse riding, deep sea angling, cycling and walking holidays. Each house has four bedrooms and is furnished to the highest standards with an array of mod cons including TV, video, microwave, dishwasher, fridge-freezer, washing machine and dryer. All houses are centrally heated with an open fireplace for those colder evenings. Located in a secure, quiet location, Portbeg Holiday Homes are ideally suited to surfers, families or to people just wanting to 'get away from it all.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portbeg Holiday Homes at Donegal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing