We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfection”
Review of Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House
Ranked #1 of 16 Bundoran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
omagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfection”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

i just want to stay ive been going to bundoran since i was a child(now 39!) and i have stayed in all the hotels and quite a few guesthouses and NONE compare to bank house . the staff are so acoomodating and friendly nothing is too much trouble for them. indee on our last stay i had dose of flu but went down anyway--well before i had even got settled on of the young ladies had sent up an extra heater for me when i asked her why she said she had heard me sneezin and thought she'd make sure i was warm enough---even tho the room was already warm enough!. the breakfast was beautiful and you were made to feel like it was more a family holiday everyone was talking over to each other while the staff ran around tending to every little detail. undoubtedly the cleanest most pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: ask for one of the back rooms as they almost all have sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charleyOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, General Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi charleyOmagh,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are always trying our very best to ensure that all our guest have a great experience when staying with us and receiving comments like yours is fantastic boost for everyone involved in Bank House.
I have no doubt we'll see you back again sometime soon!
All the best and once again thank you so much for your review.

Laura & All the staff @ Bank House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Staff were great and so helpful! Room was lovely and clean, breakfast was delicious and we loved that it was self service that way you could have your perfect fry. Only downside to our stay was an overly loud guest who kept us awake saturday night but that cant be helped! Definitly would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamicaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, General Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Dynamicaura,

Thank you for your great review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced some noise at night, I know from experience how irritating that can be! If you do stay with us again and experience some noise at night please speak to our night porter who will be happy to speak to the other guests or if possible transfer you to a different room.
Thanks again for your review.
Laura & All the staff @ Bank House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldcastle, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the Bank House with our 3 children. Found the staff very friendly and helpful from when I first rang to make the reservation right up until we checked out. The breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location very central to everything. we had lovely sea views. we will be returning again for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, General Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Claire,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate your positive comments.
We are glad to hear that you had a great experience with us from booking through to check out.

Hope to have you and your family back with us again soon.

Laura & All the staff @ Bank House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

spent a night in a 3 bed family room number 21. fantastic views and very clean and comfortable. excellent size and suited our family of 4. (4 year old and 2 year old). Entrance to the bank house is from either the back or front with parking at the back and a large hallway at front of buiding which was a great spot for storing our childs buggy. Good sized lift was also an asset when moving luggage in or out.

Breakfast is self service which suited us (fussy kids). 3 cereals to choose from and 3 types of bread brown or white and wheaten. Cooked breakfast consisted of a selection of black or white puddings, eggs, sausages, bacon, hash browns and tomatoes. The staff were very polite and friendly.

Overall an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the buiding have excellent sea views and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccaffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, General Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Mccaffreys,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We are very happy to read that you had a great experience with us. Its a family business so we understand how important it is to provide child friendly services.
Hope to see you and your family back again soon.

Laura & All the staff @ Bank House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and my wife were staying in Bundoran for 2 nights for a friends birthday weekend. The Bank House is in a good central location on the main street. The staff are its best asset - very friendly and helpful. It was a much more reasonable option than the local hotels whch were very expensive for the dates in question.
The room was big and clean, and the breakfast buffet was very good too. The parking behind the property was useful too as Bundoran was very busy.

Quibbles:
The hot water in the shower was a bit hit and miss.
The Breakfast should finish later than 10:00 on weekends.

Overall a good option for a weekend/surf break and we'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Who'stheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, General Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Who'stheMan,

Thanks for your great review. Its always nice to receive positive feedback from our guests. We always aim to provide a good value service for our guests and you have highlighted all the aspects we take great pride in. We are currently discussing extending our breakfast times for the summer months, we have never been strict about breakfast finishing at 10am and its very rare that any of our guests would leave without a good breakfast.
Once again thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
All the best,
Laura & All the staff @ Bank House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

from I made my booking - the staff were excellent - very helpful and so friendly.
there is a lift, and also off road parking at the back of the B&B. Dining room was spacious, very clean and the food was both cooked and presented to a high standard.
the bedroom was spacious, the linen and towels were off good quality. It was enjoyable to have a sea view. A tv was provided - but i didnt use same - as I was intending to chill out. Very clean and comfortable throughout.
there is also a shop in the building.
10/10 to the great staff and thank you for my enjoyable break! I will definately be back!!

Room Tip: ask for what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, General Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Irishlsis,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed very aspect of your stay with us and I will pass your kind words on to all the staff. Hope you had a safe journey home and hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again for your review.
Laura & All the staff @ Bank House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I wouldn't recommend a visit, shower broken as well as the hand rail, small room and breakfast was poor. On a positive the staff are nice.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank clurbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ll_doherty, Manager at Bank House, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Hi Clurbert,
Thank you for your review.
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.
We work hard to ensure that everything from our staff, rooms and breakfast is kept to a high standard. I am particularly disappointed that you did not enjoy the breakfast as it is something that is continually praised by our guests. In relation to the size of the room, all of our our rooms are different sizes to accommodate singles, doubles, twins and triples and as we are fully booked most weekends they all are used. Unfortunately this means that some guests stay in slightly smaller rooms than others. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, I will let them know.
I hope that you let us know about the problem with the shower so that it could be rectified and not be an issue for the next guests that stay with us. If you didn't let us know would appreciate if you would email me at bhouse@live.ie with the room number. Also I would welcome any suggestions that you may have as to how we could improve any aspects of our business. We are willing to try anything that will improve the experience for our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us, its very unfortunate that your stay was not a pleasant one.
Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundoran hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rolling Wave Guesthouse
Rolling Wave Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Property: Bank House
Address: Bank House Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1999 Bank House is located in the centre of Bundoran and is easily accessed from both the main street and beach area. Bank House is well known for its comfortable modern rooms, very helpful friendly staff and a great breakfast. Facilities in all our rooms include digital tv, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing boards and all our rooms are ensuite. Bank House is close to everything Bundoran has to offer, we are less than two minutes walk to Water World, main beach and funfair and around five minutes walk to cinema, bowling, surf schools, amusements, kids indoor play park, shops, café's, restaurants and an abundance of night-life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing