We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Night's Sleep in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavangarden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyshannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavangarden House
Ranked #9 of 11 Ballyshannon B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Night's Sleep in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was our favorite B & B in Ireland. The house was absolutely gorgeous and the rooms were very comfortable and large. The owner of the house was attentive, even offering a space heater b/c we were traveling with a baby. We asked if there was anywhere we could do laundry and she had it done for us by morning (at a very reasonable price.) We decided to stay a second night!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cryysta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

A lovely old house in a picturesque country setting. This is budget accomodation which is very clean, reasonably comfortable and provides an excellent breakfast. The owners/staff are extemely friendly and helpful.
You will need to have a car and it is fairly convenient to Yeats grave, Lissadell House and the town of Sligo (where lots of lovely friendly people live and the restaurants are good)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LundyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

We considered this house the find of our trip. It's a lovely hold house but this in no way takes from the experience, Excellent location Clean spacious quiet & comfortable with a real honest personal touch. We really found it to be great value & would love to return there at some time in the future. We are already thinking of 2010!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obama409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, IE
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Very nice woman who welcomes us back everytime. This is an older house up a lovely drive in a lovely part of the country. Its very good value and if its what you are looking for, then you will be happy. The lady takes the trouble to check with us what we want for breaksfast in the morning and when we come down its freshly cooked for us. Sure its an old house so enjoy it for what it is, it is really quiet and far enough away from the road not to hear any noise. I will stay again a\s its really well located and what you see is what you get.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry, nothern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

we booked to stay here over night as we had a feis in ballyshannon and didnt fancy the drive up from derry as the kids were dancing at 8. when we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and led to our room.

the room was quite big, with a nice, clean bathroom and tv. we had 4 kids with us, and the room was laid out quite nicely to allow the kids to sleep while theadults were watchin tv,

mrs mc cafferty slipped a menu under the door to take orders for breakfast and you could specify the time u wanted it at.

breakfast was lovely, there was a bit of confusion over it but it was all sorted (my boyfriends writing wasnt the clearest) and the food was great.... food was ready for us just to come down at eat at 7oclock as we asked.

all in all had a lovely stay and would definately go back there in the future.

  • Liked — the room layout, we could keep an eye on the kids, but they were out of the way
  • Disliked — the didnt have brown sauce...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

We travel to Ireland every year and always stay at Cavangarden House. The home is close to all the Donegal CO. attractions and also a close drive to Sligo to see sights there also. It is a wonderful older house situated nicely within the 380 acres they farm. Just the drive through the woods to the home transitions you from the hustle of the N15 to the peacefulness of the property. Breakfast is a nice selection of wonderfully prepared meals. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and filled with older furniture.
Agnes McCaffrey is a welcoming and accomodating hostess. Do not miss Cavangarden on your travels through Co Donegal.

  • Liked — The atmosphere the the hom
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

We visit Ireland yearly and stay at Cavangarden House every year. This home built in 1750 is beautiful and filled with antiques. The .5 km drive curves through woods and then opens up with a wonderful view of the house.
Mrs. McCaffrey is always welcoming. The rooms are spacious with bathrooms ensuite. All rooms are nicely decorated with TV and tea/coffee.
The choice of breakfast is very varied and delicious. We've tried them all.
When you go to Co. Donegal, stay at Cavangarden, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
3.2 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorrian's Imperial
Dorrian's Imperial
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
113.1 mi away
Dun Na Si Guesthouse
Dun Na Si Guesthouse
#3 of 4 in Ballyshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavangarden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavangarden House

Property: Cavangarden House
Address: Donegal Road, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyshannon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cavangarden Hotel Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing