We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romanatic Weekend Away”
Review of Creevy Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creevy Pier Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romanatic Weekend Away”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had stayed with my boyfriend at this hotel. I had rang the hotel in advance to plan to arrange the room for a romantic surprise for our anniversary. The manageress Madeline was extremely helpful when we arrive she had placed rose petals in the room along with candles and champagne it was a wonderful surprise. The view from the room was stunning waves crashing on the rocks every morning it was perfect. It was quiet and secluded and beautiful walk ways, with mountains across the shore. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food was fantastic, melt in your mouth and every where was sparkling clean. I cannot praise this hotel enough it made our weekend, we will defiantly be returning and would recommend for everybody to stay here if they want a peaceful beautiful stay by the sea. The views were stunning.

Room Tip: Room 7 if it is available. It is right in front of the pier stunning views every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creevy-Pier, General Manager at Creevy Pier Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Tara,

I am delighted you and Gavin enjoyed your stay with us, from all staff and management here at Creevy Pier Hotel I want to wish you two all the best together in a long and happy future. We will be delighted to have you both back. Thank-you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review.

Many Thanks,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    66
    23
    16
    14
See reviews for
63
124
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Relaxing break away from it all. The staff were exceptionally friendly especially Liam who worked in the bar. Didnt know what to expect in the restaurant but the food was beautifully prepared and presented. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrickgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creevy-Pier, General Manager at Creevy Pier Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to write a review. We look forward to having you stay again.

Many Thanks,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed as part of a Groupon deal and enjoyed our break. The hotel is a little off the beaten track but this has its advantages. We took our dog (which was kennelled at the rear of the hotel in a newly built facility) and enjoyed the many walks in the vicinity of the hotel. Don't forget to pack good walking boots!
The food at the Hotel was very good and the seafood dishes most enjoyable. The chowder was in a class of its own. Breakfasts were hearty with plenty of choice. Rooms were basic but clean and we were pleased to find a flat screen tv installed by the window. There were tea/coffee facilities in the rooms and a modern ensuite shower and toilet.
Staff were friendly and helpful and although put under pressure at breakfast (everyone seems to arrive at once) managed well.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and7 have an amazing sea view, worth asking for these at booking. If you intend to bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creevy-Pier, General Manager at Creevy Pier Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank-you very much for all your comments, we gratefully appreciate all feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at Creevy Pier Hotel on 30th August 2012. We had 115 guests for the full day and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff and location are what makes this hotel perfect. Unlike many hotels Creevy are more than happy to do whatever they can to make your day special. Forget about set packages with bigger hotels, with Creevy you get a fully custom wedding day. Nothing and I mean nothing is too much. To sum this up I recall a memory on the night before our wedding, I returned to the hotel to find my family and friends on ladders, hammering nails into the walls to hang flowers, pictures and decoration, the hotel were more than happy to help and allow us to turn the venue into our special venue. What other hotel would allow this?

The day ran smoother than you could ever believe, the staff are incredible and attention to detail comes as standard. Maddy (Manageress) is exceptionally organised and ensures everything runs without any issues. All 115 guests raved and commented on how amazing the food was, the first time I experienced this at a wedding, the hotel offer a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and a trio of deserts, guests could choose on the day, how amazing is that? The food was out of this world and presentation was excellent.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable; the views from 6 & 7 are exceptional. The house out the back is available to rent and our best men stayed very comfortably here. Some families had extra beds added to their rooms for their children, with no extra cost, incredible.
If you are planning a few nights away, an event or wedding then don’t hesitate to book, you will not regret it and I would guarantee you will be very impressed, you couldn’t not be with this place.

Creevy Pier and the staff made our day and our guests day more memorable than any other venue could. Check it out :)

Tip: If your having an event or wedding ask the hotel to contact Fun Briton, this amazing lady provided all our exotic flowers, arrangements and decorations, she is extradonary. The flowers were out of this world and all so fresh.

Room Tip: Room 6 & 7 have amazing views of the sea & pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommygarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creevy-Pier, General Manager at Creevy Pier Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Well what can i possibly say to that review. Thank-you both very much for all your comments, we are delighted you both had a wonderful day, and have taken the time to post a review. I for once am lost for words, thanks again.
From all the management and staff at Creevy Pier Hotel may I wish you both all the best for a long and happy future together, and of course we look forward to you returning for many anniversaries to come.

Kind Regards,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

For a get away from it all relaxing break in a great location, this is it.Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble.Basic room but clean and nice sea view.The food is excellent and very good service. Would we go back? YES, we even booked a weekend break for our daughter before we left. James&Helen

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james57390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creevy-Pier, General Manager at Creevy Pier Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi James & Helen,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip and look forward to your daughter staying with us. I am glad you found your stay relaxing and we appreciate you taking time to give feedback.
We look forward to having you both again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This review may or may not be helpful as I was using it as a stop off on a buiness trip. I guess the hotel was OK mostly but it was let down by a couple of points. Firstly there was no wi-fi. I know that's not a major issue for most people but as it was a business trip this hotel was booked specifically for the wi-fi connection. Secondly the staff were few and far between, probably becuse it was low season but I had to wait longer than expected to check out.
In other circumstances it probably would have been a great hotel, unfortunately it wasn't for me this time.
The rooms were OK if a little dated nad the food was OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As with other reviews the rooms are basic but very clean, the staff were very good and the food was excellent, the views are outstanding and we would have no hesitation on returning.
The All Ireland final was on on the Sunday of our visit and I was slightly worried about Donegal playing. The atmosphere in the bar was terrific and the supporters were noisy but really well behaved.....even when Donegal won!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMXDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
2.5 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
360 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creevy Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creevy Pier Hotel

Property: Creevy Pier Hotel
Address: Kildoney Glebe | Creevy, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable family hotel at the edge of Creevy Pier, with a breathtaking view over Donegal Bay. All rooms en-suite finished to the highest standard. Swimming, angling, golf and windsurfing at our doorstep. It’s the ideal base to tour Donegal and the Fermanagh lakelands. Cuisine is modern with a strong emphasis on fresh Irish produce, with a particular focus on fresh fish right from our door step, complimented by a fine wine cellar. Vegetarian options also available. Enjoy a relaxing drink in the Captains Bar with its natural stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creevy Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creevy Pier Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing