We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creevy Pier Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Creevy Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great base!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

On arrival we had to wait for our room. However the staff were apologetic and offered drinks at the bar in compensation of this. Our room was basic but very clean, the beds were very comfortable with good linen!
All staff members were very friendly and went out of there way to ensure we had all we wanted. The food was excellant and reasonably priced.
The location was right on the coast and has excellant acess to the pier from which people of all ages swam, quite safe for little ones too.
Rossnowlagh beach is very close were you can hire wetsuits, boards and bikes.
An abundance of pubs/places to eat all along the coast area with Donegal town only a short distance away.
Creevy is a great place to stay for either relaxation or an energetic jaunt!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    64
    20
    15
    9
See reviews for
56
115
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked in over the phone. Girl was lovely. As a result of that we expected some thing really nice.
Brought family up for lunch before we stayed but were bitterly dissapointed. Some meals were fine but others had obviously been reheated and were awful. Two lovely young girls were trying to look after everyone but no management to be seen. Dirty tables and unnecessary delays due to lack of manager ruin what is an amazing location that with some imagination and guidance could be an absolute gem.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roystonbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had an unexpected stay at Creevy Pier on saturday evening. Following a surprise proposal at a favourite spot in Fermanagh my new fiance announced he had the bags in the boot and where would i like to stay?! I had recently read reviews for creevy pier and as we were so close we decided to drive over and have a nosy before deciding. The area is beautiful, even though it was a dull damp evening the ocean and pier are just gorgeous. at first sight we thought it looked a bit dead but persevered and discovered the car park was pretty busy. The lovely girl on reception informed us she did have a room available and agreed a very reasonable rate. on enquiring about the sea view she explained that all the rooms had a view of the sea but that there was one of the best ones available. Happy days. when she enquired about our impromtu trip i couldn't stop myself showing off my brand new sparkler, much excitement and congratulations later we nipped to the car to collect our bags. On arriving in our room we were thrilled to be met first of all by an unexpected, but very much appreciated bottle of bubbly (how they managed to get it there before us remains a mystery) and then by the view from the bay window! amazing! The room was fairly small and simply furnished but it was spotlessly clean and had everything we could have needed - hairdryer, iron, tea/coffee and bottled water etc.
We had dinner in the hotel and both my fish and his steak were yummy! Then on to the bar for a few drinks, where the lady serving "oh-so-subtly" got our names and passed them to the guy singing who gave us a little shout out and congratulations. All the locals were very friendly and wished us well before leaving.
We woke up on Sunday morning to sunshine, and had a lovely cooked-to-order breakfast by the window overlooking the pier, followed by a short stroll. We were sorry to leave and so glad we found this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyp2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights....arrived and found slight mix up in booking so figured this may not work out. Were we wrong...assigned room with breathtaking view... following am greeted by top class breakfast and discovered we were only couple staying for those nights. Actually felt guilty with the service we received their being only two of us.The location is beautiful and the craic in the bar is worth checking out...make sure to meet Alec, a great character and a joy to be with and do bring a camera.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Youghalbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

celebrated our ruby wedding anniversay here on april 21st well done to the management and staff good food great service All our guests including the children got the five star treatment Great reports from all of our fifty guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel is in one of the loveliest parts of Ireland. Yes it is remote and can be a bit hard to get to. But it is well worth the effort. It is lovely, the service is great, the location can't be beat, even on a wet and windy day. The rooms are small but it is so lovely hearing the sea crashing on the rocks on the pier when you are in bed. One tip, for a great view ask for rooms 6 or 7, these are the quietest rooms too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tetuan22s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned from an excellent evening at Creevy Peir. The management here are really doing everything possible to satisfy their customers as the previous review said. The welcome was second to none, as was the service and food was very good.(kids ate free!)
On a sunny day there is nowhere quite like it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
2.5 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dorrian's Imperial
Dorrian's Imperial
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creevy Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creevy Pier Hotel

Property: Creevy Pier Hotel
Address: Kildoney Glebe | Creevy, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable family hotel at the edge of Creevy Pier, with a breathtaking view over Donegal Bay. All rooms en-suite finished to the highest standard. Swimming, angling, golf and windsurfing at our doorstep. It’s the ideal base to tour Donegal and the Fermanagh lakelands. Cuisine is modern with a strong emphasis on fresh Irish produce, with a particular focus on fresh fish right from our door step, complimented by a fine wine cellar. Vegetarian options also available. Enjoy a relaxing drink in the Captains Bar with its natural stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Creevy Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creevy Pier Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing