We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty! ”
Review of Nirvana

Nirvana
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Ballyshannon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nirvana restaurant is now back under the management of the Kelly family. We look forward to meeting and greeting all our old friends and welcoming new faces to Ballyshannon. We are sure that you will enjoy our fine dining in the rear portion of the restaurant or our casual dining in the front of house. In either case you will be well catered for by our widely experienced local Chefs - Graham Lynch and David McCadden
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner decided to have dinner in nirvana as we had heard that it was under new management. I have have to say that the food was very good and we got plenty of it. The staff were very friendly and the service was quick. We will be back again

4  Thank Omm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridmoni, Owner at Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Delighted you enjoyed the food and dining experience in Nirvana. We are working on a daily basis to make it a really great dining experience. We are currently working on new recipes for breads and homemade icecreams. Please come back and visit us soon. Best wishes. Brid Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We went to Nirvanna last night.. And oh my god the food was out of this world.. I had the Tiger prawns to start followed by the duck.. My husband had the goats cheese followed by the 12oz sirloin steak ( cooked to perfection) wine was delicious and service excellent.. I cant recommend Nirvanna enough:)

2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridmoni, Owner at Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you very much Sandra for the good review of Nirvana. The team in Nirvana are doing their upmost to make it a really good dining experience for everyone who walks through the doors. We are pleased that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you soon again. Best wishes. Brid Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I was visiting Ballyshannon/Bundoran over the last week and decided to drop into Nirvana's for dinner. I ordered the prawn cocktail for starter, and chicken stir fry with hoi sin sauce for dinner, and they were absolutely divine! The prawn cocktail looked amazing, and tasted just as good! The vegetables, noodles, and chicken in my main course were all cooked perfectly, and there was just the right amount of hoi sin in the stir fry that it didn't over power the other flavours.
Service at the restaurant was also very good, the waiter was very polite and my food arrived quickly.
Pricing in the restaurant is also very fair. The prices are very affordable, and you get more than your money's worth from the food.

I also found that the restaurant has a facebook page (just search Nirvana Restaurant Ballyshannon), and on it there are pictures of some of the dishes served, and every meal looks amazing!

If I am back in Ballyshannon at any point, I will be visiting Nirvana's Restaurant again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridmoni, Owner at Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you Paul for your very thoughtful review. We are thrilled that you took the time to tell people what you thought and felt about your dining experience with us at Nirvana. We are a team and each member goes out of their way to make it a memorable experience for all those who dine with us. You paid particular attention to the food you had and we are glad to tell you we have two very experienced chefs in the kitchen who genuinely care about our customer dining experience. They regularly ask for feedback. Your kind words will be passed on. Hope we see you soon again. Best wishes. Brid Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed our dining experience, the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. Highly recommend their seafood chowder. Baked fish and duck meals were delcious too.

3  Thank Merri57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridmoni, Owner at Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are delighted you had a good experience in Nirvana. The staff go out of their way to make it a good time for everyone who dine with us. The seafood chowder is a particular favourite for a lot of people. Please visit us again soon. Best wishes. The Kelly family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went to Ballyshannon for night out and end up in Nirvana for evening meal as there is not much options in the town.
Restaurant looks quite nice and modern and staff was friendly and responsive.
My starter was very tasty and nicely balanced super food salad.
Unfortunately main course was big disappointment, I had fish dish with grilled prawns where half of the prawns were burned on one side and fish was overcooked.
Other friends had pork, steak and fish dish and all of us had some objections to food; in general we were not impressed.
Another minus was the price in my opinion not relevant to standard of food or location. I think this place could do so much better as it has potential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridmoni, Owner at Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Either this person is confused about the restaurant they were in or it is a bogus review. Firstly we do not serve superfood salad as a starter and secondly we do not have any main course dish on our menu which includes prawns with fish. Other bonafide reviewers have commented on our good prices, excellent staff and beautiful restaurant. Readers should take this review with a pinch of salt. Our success is starting to annoy people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana also viewed

Ballyshannon, County Donegal
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
 
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
Bundoran, County Donegal
 
Bundoran, County Donegal
 

Been to Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing