We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and quiet”
Review of Dorrian's Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dorrian's Imperial
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Certificate of Excellence
Kloten, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and quiet”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed in Ballyshannon for the Rory Gallagher International Tribute Festival. It was very busy for the entire weekend and it was great to escape to the quiet of the hotel situated in the centre.
The staffs were very friendly and helpful. The room (309) was clean and just the right size for a single use - the quality of the bed was excellent. The bathroom is a bit out of fashion and might need some renovation soon. The breakfast was o.k. - I missed yoghurt, healthy muesli and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    42
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
42
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome. The room we had was very spacious, comfortable, very clean and well furnished. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and staff very pleasant and helpful. The Irish breakfast served every morning was a brilliant start to each day and we had very nice meals in the evening. We stayed in Ballyshannon for the Rory Gallagher International Tribute Festival. The town was very busy for the whole weekend but it was nice to escape to the quiet of the hotel situated in the centre of the town.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel on the second floor, it was a spacious room and en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Lucky to get last minute booking.When we arrived I thought the hotel was a bit dated.To my delight the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.The hotel is extremely clean.The food is good.The Chef went of his way to make me a special vegetarian breakfast each morning,which was served by a lovely friendly lady.I will definitely return to Dorrians Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Dorrians' Imperial Hotel is an absolutely delightful surprise in the southwest corner of Donegal in Ballyshannon, Ireland. From the gorgeous old woodwork to the chandeliers and wing-backed chairs in front of the fireplace in the reception area, the place exudes warmth and hospitality. The bedrooms are large and well furnished. Friendly, warm staff offer an array of breakfast choices. Dorians' imperial Hotel is a gem.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Raymond1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a lovely warm welcome from the owner on our arrival. Room was very clean and functional. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bar was really busy as the drama festival was in town. Lovely breakfast. One of the few family hotels left. We should support them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmcnmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a great time in Dorrian,s Hotel. Stayed one night on April 13th. Fabulous warm welcome from the Owners to the huge glowing real fire in the foyer. The bedroom was huge, clean and the shower was fab. Really enjoyed our meal in the Restaurant and the breakfast in the morning. Thanks again. We travelled a long way from Cork and it was worth every minute. Hope to be back soon. Regards, Mary & Geraldine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maryryanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here a few week's ago during Ballyshannon Drama Festival. Had a great time! The rooms were spacious and very clean.The staff were friendly even when some of us had a few too many!! We didn't surface for breakfast but have heard it was delicious. Great value for money! Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cafwin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
3.2 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
254 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
354 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
858 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorrian's Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorrian's Imperial

Property: Dorrian's Imperial
Address: Main Street, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorrian's Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dorrian's Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorrian`s Imperial Hotel Ballyshannon
Dorrians Imperial Ballyshannon
Dorrians Imperial Hotel Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing