We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is really really nice!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the rooms are basically sitting on the river!! Minutes from a golf course and the beach in innischrone!!The perfect getaway from the city.

Room Tip: Up grade to a suite if you can afford it, nothing nicer than having a glass of wine on the balcony o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
There are newer reviews for The Ice House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a riverside suite. The hotel is amazing. The staff are all so helpful and friendly. We had massages in the chill spa and it was one of the best massages ive ever had. We ate in the bar and the restaurant and the food is delicious. The views from the room were stunning over the river. The purpose of our trip was relaxation and this hotel provided that for us. We only left the hotel twice, once to do a bit o retail therapy and once for a walk if I had my way i wouldn't have left at all. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break away.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BUSHMCLOVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights recently and had just a fabulous time. Our room was not ready when we arrived but we were sent to the bar for two glasses of bubbly while we waited and had some lunch which was delicious. The restaurant is sitting right over the River Moy with windows everywhere, simply lovely.
I had booked us a Riverside Suite the room was just fab, two televisions, a sitting room, a huge bed and a beautiful bathroom. The room was lovely and warm. The next day we had lovely treatments in the spa and chilled out in the outdoor hot-tub, heaven. We had in our heads there would be a pool which there wasn't but that was our own fault. When we arrived back in the evening we had a fabulous evening chilling out on the sofa, sipping on drinks and eating a delicious steak dinner. The staff are amazing in this place and complimentary breakfast in bed the next morning finished our break off perfectly.
We'll be back :D

Room Tip: Riverside Suites are beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were incredibly attentive and couldn't do more to accomodate us, from transferring our luggage to our room while we ate lunch to accomodating special dinner requests, we really felt like our experience was important to everyone at The Ice House.

The food on offer in the restaurant for both lunch and dinner was exceptionally good and breakfast in bed was a real treat. We could relax and enjoy our lazy Sunday morning looking out on an amazing view of the river.

We really couldn't recommend The Ice House highly enough, our room was impeccable and very luxurious, the staff were brilliant and the restaurant serves great food and great cocktails. We will certainly be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The welcome by Ken and staff was excellent. The view from the room was fantastic. very clean. Food breakfast (in room) was presented really well and hot.
We had dinner there x2 it was really lovely the staff were top class.
The only downside is that the hotel was hard to find with all the one way systems in Ballina it needs to be better sign posted.
I would recommend The Ice House to all.

Room Tip: Lower floors have a better view of the river.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend a wedding. It is in a beautiful location and really easy to get to from Knock Airport. We were welcomed to the hotel with a glass of bubbly (great touch). The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

The customer service really stood out that evening when we returned to our room after a visit to the local pub to find the toilet wouldn't stop refilling. A quick call to reception led to the manager coming quickly to the room to see if the issue could be fixed. As it couldn't, and to allow us a quiet night sleep, we got moved immediately to a suite for the night. The following morning the hotel found us another room where we stayed for the remainder of our trip. In dealing with this issue the hotel could not have done more - each member of reception staff had been briefed on the issue and allayed any concerns we had.

We hope to return again to this hotel to explore more of this beautiful part of Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view. The rooms on the spa side were quieter than those in the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyC1976_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

chill is the only way to describe this hotel .. i loved it and will be back as soon as i can .. from the staff to the food... rooms... and spa .. there is not one thing i could fault.. location is brilliant.. we stayed in the chill room .. one of the riverside suites and as i said chill is how i described my experience....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aileenandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
5.5 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $143 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing