We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stay recently following a recommendation from a thoroughly satisfied past customer. Bubbly on arrival from a very warm welcoming reception staff, very nice. Initial impressions was that of a very tired decor which prevailed throughout. Layout of hotel very much designed to accommodate original old house, which necessitated having to transit the spa area to access your room, not the ideal situation for patrons of the spa (small criticism).... All staff we found to be very pleasant and enthusiastic to help at every turn. Complimentary room service for breakfast with the morning paper, nice touch! Glass wall facing onto river could have done with a window cleaner, beautiful just the same. All in all a very pleasant break. Question: Would we stay again?
Answer: Most definitely!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank aermyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Good evening aermyles,

I am very grateful to you for taking the time to air you views regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ice House.

Your very constructive comments have been discussed and acted on accordingly.

It is always good to hear some feedback back be it positive or negative.

We look forward to your return visit to Ballina and the Ice House Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Whilst on a business trip to Ballina, I booked the Ice House over the net. Parking is available beside the front door, I had a fast check in, & shown to my room. I had an issue receiving coverage with my mobile phone, so asked reception if there was an alternative room available. Within four minutes I was in an alternative room. That's the way to do business.
I was given a "Heritage" room, which was a large spacious old world room (with all the usual mod cons). It felt like staying in a Grand House.
I had dinner from the Bar Menu (Hake).....fantastic. I ordered a half bottle of red with my food and shortly after ordered a second. The restaurant / bar manageress noticed that a few small river flies had landed in my wine and immediately offered to credit the second bottle. Again, this is the way to do business, no messing.
Check out this morning was like all my experiences at the Ice House, painless.
If you are looking for a hotel in Ballina that knows how to look after its guests, don't pass the Ice House.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have a fantastic view of the river & wildlife if your into that kind of thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Coolehead,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am really very pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here and hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location on the river with unique outlook and the bonus of breakfast in bed to enjoy the view and the wildlife through our full height glazed wall. Very friendly welcome on arrival together with a glass of sparkling wine while we gathered our thoughts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amersham599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Amersham599,

We are indeed very fortunate to be located on the bank of the infamous "River Moy" facing the Moy Estuary and the view across the river to Belleek Woods.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed what we strive at all times possible to do, and that is to Enjoy, Relax, Chill and experience the warmth of hospitality we provide in a relaxing and care free environment.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I have just returned form a fantastic stay in the Ice House Hotel. From the moment we arrived we arrived we knew that we had made the right choice for our relaxing weekend away. Check in was efficient and we were greeted very warmly by both the manager and receptionist. The glass of bubbly after a long drive was such a lovely touch and much appreciated! They very kindly upgraded us to the beautiful Moy suite which was spacious, cosy, spotless and had everything we could have asked for including all of the 5* touches such as robes & slippers, high end toiletries, rainforest shower, huge bath tub etc.
Breakfast is lovely and the hot food is made to order. We dined in the restaurant on our 2nd night and had a fantastic meal. Food was delicious, service excellent and to die for cocktails!
We used the thermal area on the Saturday afternoon, drinks in the hot tub overlooking the river...what more could you want!
Would highly recommend the Ice House, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear rcallagh,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am really very pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and delighted to be in the position to offer the upgrade to our majestic "Moy Suite"

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked the ice house for a birthday surprise weekend . What a fabulous hotel! The view spectacular -all the rooms seem to have a view . We were in a deluxe room - Amber and it was perfect . We could lie on the luxurious bed and watch the wildlife on the river . The staff were fantastic - Ken was excellent as was Leo - he was so friendly and helpful - always smiling . Food was excellent for breakfast and evening meals . We ate in the bar one night and restaurant the other and both fabulous
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Good evening Maureen C,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments regarding your recent visit to us here at the Ice House.

Leo was delighted, as he always is, when he sees his name "up in lights"
Your comments in your review have been well received and greatly appreciated by all

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the warm friendly welcome with a glass of bubbly, we knew this would be an amazing break. We were taken to our Riverside Suite and were greeted with our bottle of pre-ordered prosecco and a chocolate treat for my partner's birthday. The views from our suite were outstanding. We had some prosecco, got changed and made our way to the outside hot tubs and sauna for some late afternoon relaxation, then down to dinner. The three course meal we had was incredible. Watching the crows swooping outside at sunset while supping our complimentary birthday champagne was superb. Now to the bed... So so comfortable we did not want to get out of it. "Womb-like" is how my partner described it. We had breakfast delivered to the room, and ate on our balcony. Again, the breakfast was up to the high standard of our meal the night before. We left feeling as if we had been away for three days rather than just overnight. Loved it so much we have booked three nights in March for my birthday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Coolehead,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am really very pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Our niece from South Texas got married in Sligo county Ireland. During our visit we stayed at the Ice House Hotel in Ballina in near by Mayo county. The Ice House is a small hotel near the mouth of the River Moy. The decor was European modern with a balcony over looking the river. The only problem with our room was the extreme darkness and lack of good lighting in the bathroom. My wife had an extremely hard time putting in her contacts and make-up. The food at the hotel restaurant was extremely good. I most enjoyed the traditional Irish breakfast. The mix of Eastern European and Irish people working at the hotel were very nice and made our stay very pleasant.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank GaryS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear GaryS77,

We are very grateful for your very constructive comments which we encourage and like to hear. There is always something we can do to improve the "Guest Experience".

I am delighted you enjoyed your long trip over to Ireland to celebrate your Niece's special day. Hopefully we will see you all back at the Ice House in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
605 reviews
5.5 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $145 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing