We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay recently .From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome by all the staff -they were so helpful in every way .The bedroom was spacious with a wonderful view of the river and wild life and what a comfortable bed .Our dinners both nights were excellent if a little expensive .We loved the relaxed athmosphere of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESHMS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear JESHMS123,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us her at the Ice House. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed both days with us. Best of look in the reply against Clare!!!

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
There are newer reviews for The Ice House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had one night stay with friends. Lovely boutique style hotel with lovely touches. Glass of bubbly on arrival, bags brought to our room. Attention to detail in rooms with lovely river view from window. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Book ahead if you want to use treatments as check in time of 3pm makes it difficult to access. Hot tub, sauna and team room lovely. Dinner excellent with newly reorganised restaurant with views of river. Breakfast slow in morning due to shortage of staff only disappointment. Recommend this hotel for couples and groups.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JoanMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Good morning JoanMcCarthy,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

Your very constructive comments are very welcomed and have been taken on board.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

this place is brilliant, from start to finish the staffed couldn't do enough for u, the room was amazing the view stunning,, I couldn't find a bad would to say about this hotel, yes it was expensive but well worth it

Room Tip: there all brilliant but the ground floor is great
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry-lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Terry-lee M,

Thank you so much for your very kind review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ice House. Your comment are greatly appreciated and very welcomed by all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Warm regards
Ken Bergin General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would just like to thank the Ice House Hotel, for there hospitality and excellent service they provided for are entire stay, especially my daughters wedding day ( Antonia and Toms ) the food was divine ,everything we asked for, was done with a smile , nothing was to much the staff are so lovely and friendly , my daughters wedding was magical , will defiantly be going back to the ICE HOUSE once again thank you so much for all your hard work you are all a credit to your employers Antonias mum Liz xxxxxx

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views, the spa and heritage suites are superb !
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear elizabeth t,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

It was a pleasure looking after Antonia and Toms wedding and indeed all your guests. It was such good fun and very enjoyable. Wishing the "happy couple" every happiness for the future.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a terrific hotel for a getaway break. I was lucky to be treated to a weekend away for my birthday. The location is great - just a little outside the town and right on the river close to the quay. However for me what really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Right for the first moment they set the tone - no sterile typical hotel desk, you sit down for a simple check in just leave your luggage to be whisked off to your room while you adjorn to a lovely seating area for a glass of bubbly. This friendliness continued throughout the stay and each staff member you met couldn't do enough for you. I stay in a lot of hotels throughout the year for business but the Ice House is something different. They have created a lovely oasis.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was really top notch. Breakfast each morning was also excellent.
I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a get away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear SuzDundalk,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband just returned from a two night stay in your fabulous hotel. The staff on arrival at reception, the restaurant/bar staff & cleaning staff are thoroughly first class & very accommodating. We stayed in the Mayo suite which was lovely & had a very picturesque view. The breakfast & restaurant food was also excellent. A small suggestion is maybe to include a small fridge in the room for refreshments, milk etc.

Thank you for such an enjoyable stay. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NualaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear NualaSD,

A sincere thank you for your every kind review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ice House.

I am delighted that everything you experienced met with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully In the not to distant future,
Warm regards

Ken Bergin General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in June to celebrate my birthday and it didn't disappiont. On arrival we were greeted with champagne althought we didn't want any at the time so they kindly offered it to us the next time we went down. We were personally taken up to our room and shown where everything was. The service was excellent from start to finish. The following morning we called down for milk and it arrived about 1 minute later. We also ate in the restaurant where the food was stunning and the service impeccable.

The rooms and the view that go with them are beautiful. They are very spacious with a large bed and huge chairs with a little table to sit by the window and take in the view. The bathroom is also gorgeous with a huge bath and candles.

It's close to the town and Belleek Wood and well signposted all the way.

I really could not fault this hotel. Stunning from start to finish!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Amy W,

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed what we strive at all times possible to do, and that is to Enjoy, Relax, Chill and experience the warmth of hospitality we provide in a relaxing and care free environment.

I am also very pleased that you not only enjoyed the relaxing experience at the Ice House, but also at the local amenities near by.

We look forward to your return visit to Ballina

Warm Regards
Ken Bergin General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
601 reviews
5.5 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $143 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing