We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally! The hotel we have been looking for.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ice House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Finally! The hotel we have been looking for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a long sweltering drive from Dublin to Ballina during an extremely rare Irish heat wave, we were greeted at The ice house in Ballina with two cool glasses of champagne and a warm welcome. Our luggage was whisked off to our room and we were shown to our suite once we finished our drinks. We booked a Heritage suite and were kindly given the largest one in the Hotel, the Bartra Suite. When booking I mentioned our stay was for my wifes 30th birthday, and on arrival they gave us the nicest room and a welcome brownie with happy birthday written in chocolate on the plate. a nice touch. The view over the river is fantastic, and the bed is amazingly comfortable. The bathroom holds a huge cedar wood bath which fits two people easily and where we spent many an hour over our 3 day stay! The Spa area boasts two outdoor hot tubs which in the hot weather were amazing! It was too hot to use the sauna. Unfortunately, there is no swimming pool, but that would be my only disappointment.
The food in the restaurant was top notch and the bar food menu, particularly the Tapas were delicious.
Of course this does not come cheap, but you know what you are getting in to when you book somewhere like the ice house. I cannot fault the staff, cleanliness or setting of this hotel either. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book a heritage suite, the Bartra suite! Enjoy a bottle of wine in the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boddahdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear boddahdidit,

Wow!!
Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel. What can I say!

The Bartra is also my own personal favourite and I am delighted that you are planning to return to us and continue to enjoy our "Little piece of Heaven"

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    286
    144
    55
    34
See reviews for
119
834
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location.. Room over looking the river.. Outdoor hot tub. Lovely start to our honeymoon. Friendly staff. The place is pricey but ya don't sit on a cactus and not expect to get pricked lads! You know what your booking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Wilbailey,

Thank you for your review and our sincere best wishes and continued happiness for the future. I am delighted that we played a part on your Honeymoon and hopefully you will both have fond memories and return to us for an anniversary or two !!!

Warm regards
Ken Bergin- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the IceHouse in Ballina, County Mayo. Wonderful rooms both times! We enjoyed it so much we added an extra day's stay. The location is out of the town right on the river Moy. Much nicer than in the town. Gorgeous view - especially when tide is in. We walked down to watch boats a bit and leisurely walked back to our beautiful room in evening. Well appointed, comfy beds and interesting use of modern mixed with old. The property is an adapted re-use of an historic ice house! Glasses of bubbly at welcome a great touch. Staff were wonderful, especially Sinead and reception staff. we ate two evenings from the formal restaurant menu and the bar menu. good food and nice wines. breakfast lovely. Recommend placing fans in all rooms for warm days. We will be back - thank you!

Room Tip: Riverside suite!!! Underground suites are nicer. Did not use spa, but will on next visit- it is in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLMboiseidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MLMboiseidaho,

What a pleasure it is to read your review on your recent stay with us here at the Ice House, I am very grateful as indeed are all the Team.

Not used to the very HOT weather we had recently but have taken on board your comment regarding the provision of extra fans.

Trust you had a safe and pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Ken Bergin-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

What can I say about this TRULY amazing hotel

Couldn't recommend this place enough, staff are amazing, views are beautiful and the rooms are luxurious. One of a handful of hotels around the world were I have been able to enjoy a bath (I'm 6'5" tall)

Having a ground floor suite was a bonus for getting to the bar and restaurant

We actually wanted to stay an extra night but the hotel was fully booked

What I will say though is that at breakfast time the food does take a while from ordering to arriving and at dinner time too, but not AS long

It IS a small thing I know, and it does take away that 5th dot as a result

However that being said, I would DEFINITELY go back again, and am already planning a return visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcd432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear jmcd432,

Thank you taking the time to write a delightful review and for describing us as "A little Piece of Heaven" my sentiments entirely!!

I am also very pleased to read that you are planning your return visit to us already. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards

Ken Bergin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recently stayed in 'Nugget' Riverside Suite. Superb room with views over the river Moy where we watched the wildlife including a fox on the opposite bank. Very friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant. Spa facilities also available, and I believe you can use the outdoor jacuzzis and sauna for free on a first come first served basis. Lovely breakfast the next morning in the bright and airy conservatory area. A couple of decent pubs nearby also if you need a change of scenery and the town is a 15 minute stroll along the Moy where there a few nice pubs and restaurants. We were there on Heritage day and the town was closed to traffic and very lively. Would definitely stay again if visiting County Mayo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Alex E,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay not only in the Hotel but also the Surrounding areas which there are so many points of interest and activities..

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Much cheaper to stay on a Sunday night. The bar drinks are more expensive than usual. Relaxed enviroment. We stayed in a suite. Massive room, very comfortable. I would not rush to stay again but if got a good offer it is worth a visit. Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Eire27,

Thank you for taking the time to airing your views and expressing some very constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ice House. We never get tired of the stunning view, Morning Noon or Night in all weather conditions.

We will of course keep you updated on all our forthcoming offers and look forward to welcoming you both back to the Ice House in the near future.

Warm regards
Ken Bergin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

we just left the ice house and couldn't recommend it enough. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was out of this world. We had been upgraded to a suite, and the room was fab with beautiful views. All in all a fantastic spot

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionagalway1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
DearFionagalway1978

Greatly appreciate your very kind comments and review regarding your recent stay with us at the Ice House.

Delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Ken Bergin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.7 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
5.8 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Property: The Ice House Hotel
Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing