We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous treat”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a midweek break and I haven't been able to stop telling everyone about it since.
From the moment we arrived til the moment we left we were looked after so well by the fabulous staff. They were all so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
We had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights and the food was amazing! So full of flavour and cooked to perfection. The cocktails at the bar were lovely too.
The room itself was lovely and spacious with everything we needed. The view over the river was fabulous.
I can't wait for the chance to return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NessaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear NessaMc,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

Please continue to spread the "Good News" and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    294
    146
    55
    34
See reviews for
122
852
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

For anyone looking at this venue for your wedding don't hesitate in booking. We had our wedding here and could not fault the hotel in any aspect of our wedding day. Every request we made was catered for and was never a problem. Staff were so attentive without being intrusive. The venue is amazing and we had a lovely relaxed wedding which is exactly what we wanted. All of our guests loved the hotel and many are planning on going to stay again. The hotel made our day extra special with lots of little extra touches along the way!

Room Tip: The old style rooms are a lovely treat but the new suites are beautiful also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear blocky,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your Wedding Experience here at the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

On behalf of all the team here, I wish you both every happiness for your future life ahead, (Just celebrated 25 years myself last week!!)

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina, perhaps on a wedding anniversary

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Myself and my family are just back from a weekend at the hotel celebrating our mothers birthday.
From the moment we walked into the hotel we were treated so well. All the staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

We had dinner and drinks on both nights we stayed and I've never felt more at home in any place.
The food was amazing, each night was a struggle to figure out what to order!

The rooms were gorgeous too. Fabulous views, really comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom with a brilliant shower! Oh and of course the underfloor heating was a welcoming surprise!

We also had treatments in the spa and again the staff were wonderful. Very friendly and knew what they were talking about. Sadly we didn't get to use the outdoor hot tub (it was very busy) but all the more reason to return again!

I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends and/or family.

I had a blast for the 2 nights we stayed and will hopefully get the chance to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stumpytoes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Stumpytoes84,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

Thank you for spreading "The Gospel" and delighted we added to the celebrations for your Mum's special day.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great hotel. Great staff, management, service, location, food. It was lovely. Menu was amazing. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing break. Spa facilities are top notch too. Unfortunately didn't get to use either hot tub as the weather wasn't great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear 284Anonymoususer

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am very pleased to inform you that we have installing a New Outdoor Barrelled Sauna to compliment our two outdoor Hot Tubs and have also been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin.

So hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina so that you can experience our new arrivals, the sun will be out!!!!

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are getting married in Ballina and the Ice House is a convenient hotel to serve our out of town guests. We had the opportunity to stay there ourselves last weekend and we were more than pleased with the service and accommodation we experienced. The enormously helpful lady at reception handed us a glass of pink champagne to enjoy in the beautiful outdoor lounge overlooking the Moy River after we booked in. Was it because there was a wedding there the next day? Not sure but what a nice touch! We had a late lunch that was served to us in the parlor room. It was very relaxed yet nothing about the place seemed cheap or "mass produced". The food was delicious. Another really nice touch was the general manager of the hotel introduced himself to us and the other guests and had a brief chat. I thought it was lovely and added to the "boutique" and intimate feel of the place.

We booked the Moy Suite - it was the only vacant room. The room was beautiful with panoramic views of the River Moy. It was full of antiques, a four poster bed and had fantastic, old fashioned barrel tub but still had a decent wifi and tv reception etc.

We didn't get a chance to use the spa but I know where I am going for some pre-wedding activities!

We are more than happy that some of our guests will be staying here while attending our wedding.

Room Tip: If the suites are not too dear, they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear JodyEllen,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

It was indeed a pleasure to meet you both and chat when you arrived. We strive to ensure all our guests experience the warmth of hospitality we provide in a relaxing and care free environment.

A Glass of bubbles awaits all our guests when they arrive after their journey "The icing on the Cake"
Once again thank you for your kind words and trust it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ice House Hotel Easter weekend. We stayed in the 'Still' suite for 2 nights. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and given some 'Bubbly' while we waited for out room.
The suite was amazing. One of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. There was plenty of space with a sitting room type area and the bedroom and there was a sliding door between the two if you wanted to feel more cosy.
There were 2 slices of cake waiting for us and a 'Happy Anniversary' written on the plate. So nice. There was also a jar with cookies- such a lovely touch.
The floor to ceiling views were gorgeous and the balcony was a nice place to look out over the river.
We had dinner at the restaurant the first night and it was delicious, especially the Guinness bread that was given at the start. The young staff were lovely and very friendly. A girl brought more of the Guinness bread because we liked it so much!

The bed was marshmallowy, so comfortable. We slept really well and had breakfast in bed both mornings. Room service for dinner the 2nd night was perfect and food was great!

We were some of the younger people staying in the Ice House but we were treated just as well as everyone else. I think some of the restaurant/bar staff are so busy being professional that at times they forget to show some personality. But that is such a minor flaw.

It was a very relaxing stay at the Ice House and I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I would go for the suites as they are slightly away from everything else and the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahIreland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear SarahIreland3

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am particularly pleased by how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

We have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin which will enhacne the Guest experience even more.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Clare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just back from a recent stay at the Ice House with my husband and it exceeded our high expectations. We stayed in a beautiful suite with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the River Moy. The room was large and clean, the bathroom was very modern and the bed was comfortable. We were served breakfast in our room both mornings which was a real treat. I asked for something that wasn't on the menu and it wasn't an issue. The staff are really friendly and welcoming and the quality of the massage and facial in the spa was excellent and professional. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night in a lovely setting and I couldn't fault the food. Overall, the experience was a very relaxing and enjoyable one and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to unwind in a unique setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJC1678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear TravelJC1678,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed what we strive at all times possible to do, and that is to Enjoy, Relax, Chill and experience the warmth of hospitality we provide in a relaxing and care free environment.

As an added bonus we have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.8 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Property: The Ice House Hotel
Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing