We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice House.... Perfect name.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Went to eat in Restaurant. Very poor parking facilities.
Was directed to a table on entrance. Lovely view from restaurant.
Waited ages for a waiter to attend us. She appeared to be very snobby. The room was ICE cold. I had to keep my jacket on.
We were have a menu which was very small. There was nothing my wife and I could actually order. We met friends there which were there before us and the complained of the same.
We had to leave again without ordering anything.
I think this is a restaurant that is aiming for a so called "upper" class of people which do not exist in 2013. The staff had this attitude and found it very difficult to even speak to us never mind greet us friendly. They should remember that they are probably on minimum wage or less!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Mayoperson,

Thank for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House. Your comments have been taken on board and please except our sincer apologies for the inconvenience we caused. We value every customer that walks through our front door.

We have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin, and already we have introduced a new "Spring / Summer collection" Bar Menu so hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to the Ice House.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in The Ice House hotel after receiving a blue book voucher and decided it to use it to stay on Easter Sunday night. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of "bubbly" and asked to take a seat in th Lounge area while our room was prepared. When the room was ready we were shown to it and everything was explained very nicely! The view from the room was really nice and as the day was lovely we had a great view over the river moy. However there was a few little things that seems strange for a hotel charging the prices it is...1) No milk in the room for tea/coffee, you have to ring reception and they'll bring the milk to you 2) The window sills were pretty grotty with kind of black mold on them 3) There was two leather seats in the room and one had a big tear down the middle with the fluff coming out. We just thought it was a bit shotty considering we'd paid €180 for the room.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which Im afraid to say lacked much atmosphere, even considering it was an Easter Sunday. We were looking for something small but they could only offer us a Sunday lunch menu, they said that the bar menu was not on that day. Which was a bit wierd as the family to our left were dining from the bar menu!! There are plenty of spots to eat in Ballina and Im just sorry we didnt go into town instead for lunch.

As a hotel I think its nice but a little cold, there is nothing too warming or welcoming about it. We've stayed in some nicer places at home and in the uk for a fraction of the price. We stopped off in Mount Falcon on the way home and they have fabulous grounds. We just had tea and they gave us some yummi biscuits but the staff were very attentive and the house itself seemed lovely. We didnt see any of the rooms but the grounds are worth a visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinLass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear DublinLass26

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House. Your constructive comments are indeed very welcomed and I sincerely apologies for the inconvenience we caused you during your stay.

I am delighted therefor to announce that we have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin.

Already he has introduced his new "Spring / Summer collection" for our Bar Menu.

So hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a hen party here at the weekend. There were 15 of us and we had our own private room which we were able to decorate to our liking. We got a great package deal which included a three course meal and two cocktails The cocktails were to die for and the food amazing. The staff and service we couldn't fault either. All in all we had an excellent evening in the ice house and being a local group of people our experience made us feel like we weren't even in our home town,! I would highly recommend a visit even if its just for one of the tasty cocktails!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Lorraine B,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

It goes without saying that our Team also thoroughly enjoyed looking after "The Girls" and I am delighted that everyone enjoyed themselves and we were a part of your memorable night.

We have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin.

So hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to the Ice House and of course a taste of one of Leo's magical "Cocktails"!!

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband found The Icehouse in Ireland's Blue Book (slowly working through it) and booked it directly with them for my birthday treat over the Easter weekend. It was lovely to arrive into the room and realise that the reception staff had taken notice of his email saying it was for my birthday and they had left a birthday card and two gorgeous pieces of tiramisu on a decorated plate for me. Having read the reviews he had tried to book the riverside or heritage suites but they were all already booked but we were shown to the Claret room which was absolutely fine with a superb view of the River Moy from a wooden balcony. The bed was really comfy, I described it as like sleeping on a cloud really soft, puffy duvet ..gorgeous.
The restaurant maitre d's were excellent all weekend, very attentive without overcrowding us and everything we asked for, was no bother at all. An evening meal was included in the weekend package and the menu was top class but for a heathen like me .. no chicken dish...The chef was great however and made me a gorgeous chicken dish and even sent out complimentary purple carrot, beetroot and honey soup which was out of this world...so many thanks to him/her for being so understanding...I even tried my husband's stuffed quail starter which was delicious so my tastes are expanding.
The bar menu was expansive and I enjoyed the carpe diem cocktail particularly while my husband devoured Guinness and whiskey sours.
I had a lovely back massage in the spa on saturday afternoon. I had to fight the sleep when it was over to get up and make my way back to the bar to an equally as chilled hubby and guess what...yes ...a pint of Guinness. It was so easy to sit over a drink and relax and watch the ducks and cranes out on the river and the lovely thing about it was that the vibe of the place was so chilled,it just felt really comfortable to sit there and forget about normal life. It would have been nice to sit outside on the balcony area outside the restaurant but it was too cold but thats something we definitely intend to do again in the summer.
I know people will read this review and think I am raving about the place and it can't be this good but it really, really is. The management have got it just right in that all guests are treated equally well whether they are in jeans or suits, young or old...well...you can't tell these days who has money and who hasn't. Its refreshing to go somewhere and not feel judged by some of the staff, as happens in many places which profess to be upmarket. Its happened to me loads of times and Ive never gone back to these hotels or recommended them to anybody. There is nothing as off-putting and narrow minded as being made to feel that you aren't worthy of being in a place. The Icehouse has got everything right in my opinion and I couldnt fault one thing, which is amazing for me. Its quirky, chic and cool with a great attitude. We'll definitely be back with friends !

Room Tip: Ask for first floor as public walkway past lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear finnsaunders,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am particularly pleased by how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

We have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citron Restaurant - Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin, as we embark on another wonderful food excursion.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Myself and my husband and three children had the most beautiful meal in The Ice House today! I truly could not fault it! From the minute we arrived we were looked after! Because of it being Easter Sunday they really made a special effort for the children with an Easter egg hunt and a beautiful chocolate fountain with all sorts of goodies for the children and Adults ( yummy) Absolutely fabulous, stunning location! We are local to Ballina so we have never needed to stay over but I have used the spa a lot in the past and could not fault any of the therapists. We as a family have had the loveliest Easter Sunday! Lovely and relaxed, had a lovely booth area ,lovely food and service, there was no rushing us out the door. It was just lovely! A very special family day thanks to the ice house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear holidaylover75

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

Indeed we all felt like kids on Easter Sunday sampling all that chocolate!!!

We have now been joined by Chef "Matt Fuller" from the "Citrone-Fitzwilliam Hotel" Dublin.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to us and to sample his new "Spring/Summer Collection" Bar Menu.


Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned home from a two night stay which our daughters purchased as a gift. Prior to going we looked at the website and thought we were in for a real treat. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of bubbly by friendly reception staff which was a lovely start. Sadly after that it went down hill. Our room was nice & we had booked in the restaurant for our evening meal for both nights. At 45 euros per person for a three course meal which came with a complimentry bottle of wine we felt was a little expensive but though why not. However, the food failed to match the price and we decided not to bother with a desert and as a result because we had not ordered a three course meal we ended up having to pay for the bottle of wine at a cost of 25 euro's. So a poor two course meal for two cost us 95 euro's !! We booked a treatment each in the spa, however my treatment left me a little disappointed because the 'Body Banquet' which included a full body exfoliation only covered my legs, arms & back & my pedicure left alot to be desired as mentioned in previous reviews. When we returned to our room at 1.30pm our room had not been cleaned. We mentioned this to reception & they said they would sort it Due to our disappointment with our meal the previous night we decided to eat out at a local restaurant which was a much better experience. Our breakfast the next morning was a joke. We had to ask someone for a pot of tea & we were never asked or approached to see if we would like a cooked breakfast. So sadly our two day break turned out to be a very expensive disappointment. Also can I note I have never ever written a review before but felt so let down especially when someone had gone to alot of trouble to book it as a gift.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat80_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Pat80_24,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience we caused.
Your very constructive comments were discussed at length and measures taken in order to maintain the high quality level of service and attention to detail we strive to offer all our guests.

However I fully accept that this did not happen on this occasion This is not acceptable and for that I am truly sorry.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Came here for dinner and really wish we had been able to stay here instead of Mount Falcon (unfortunately we left it too late to book). The food was absolutely fabulous and there was just the right mix of the familiar and the exotic. The dessert menu was a little disappointing (mostly ice-cream) but to be honest we were too full anyway.

The atmosphere was nice and relaxed and the hotel from what we saw was quirky and interesting with an unusual mix of old and new. Would definitely stay here if we returned to Ballina especially as it is walking distance to the town.

The only thing I didn't like was that all the tables faced out the window - I'm sure it's lovely when it's not pitch black outside but personally I'd prefer to face the room or my other half rather than a dark pain of glass!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank v0nsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear v0nsie,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am especially delighted to read your comments regarding our Restaurant. You will be delighted to hear that we are embarking on a refurb for the Restaurant and are very excited about the outcome. Your very constructive comments on our layout is very much noted and will be addressed as part of our new look.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina as the Journey will be worth it.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#4 of 9 in Ballina
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
611 reviews
24 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $114 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing