We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ice House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
roscommon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, we just had Sunday lunch. The hotel is beautiful and in a lovely part of the town. The staff are exceptionally friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. We had our 5 month old baby with us who needed his nappy changed. Unfirtunately they don't have a baby changing area but the receptionist was nice enough to let me use a bedroom to change him. The room was beautiful and we will definitely be staying here next time we are in ballina!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ros1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Good evening Cloister_007

Seasons Greetings from the team here at the Ice House Hotel. We hope you enjoyed the festivities and look forward to welcoming you back for another special occassion similar to your recent stay in October.

Wishing you both the very best for 2013

Ken and the team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    297
    148
    55
    34
See reviews for
124
864
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Ice House Hotel for my husband birthday.It was brilliant and memorable in every way.Stunning view, friendly staffs, delicious food, breakfast in bed, a little surprise from the hotel - (a plate of strawberries dipped in chocolate with Happy Birthday written on it for my husband) really was unexpected. There's nothing that can beat the service offered by this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and will definatley come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloister_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Cloister_007

Dublin, Ireland

I am eternally grateful to you for taking the time to post your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ice House. It is always nice to here back from Guests and makes the Staff feel proud of their achievements as we continue as much we can to offer this level of service and attention to detail to all our guests.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Ice House in the not to distant future.

Ken and the Ice House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Worst weekend away of my life, given adjoining room to a screaming baby then relocated during the night to a freezing attic room that was half finished. service thereafter was appalling left ballina extremely stressed will never return again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jemmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Jemmoo,

I would like to extend my sincere personal apologies for what I can only describe as an appalling lack of our normal professional level of service that we strive at all times to expend to all our guests.

This unfortunately was not one of our best days and I am truly sorry for all the inconvenience we caused. I sincerely hope, given some of the other comments we have received that you will hopefully make a return visit to the Ice House and afford us the opportunity to give you the experience you should have received in the first place.

Again my sincere personal apologies,


Ken and the Ice House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently got married and had my reception in the Ice House on a Sunday. The package price per head may seem pricey but you certainly get a lot included for that, there were no hidden extras. I can't say enough about the service we received from all the staff especially the wedding co-ordinater Vicky, Noreen on reception, Ken the general manager and the restaurant and bar manager. Nothing was too big an ask on the day. Very professional all round. The food and service were top class. And what a unique light filled space to have your wedding meal in, it really has the wow factor. We were so lucky to have a sunny day and when we saw the room set up before all our guests came in, we both thought it looked just like in their brochure. It was also such a bonus to have the hotel exclusively without having to pay a venue fee.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful to the bridesmaids and bride who did all their preparations in the hotel. In the months leading up to the big day the hotel was a pleasure to communicate with - emails were always answered promptly by Vicky. We really enjoyed our menu tasting and were treated so well. We stayed in a spa suite and had some good treatments in the spa. The spa girls are very friendly and professional. We also made good use of the outdoor hot tubs, what a view. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Ice House as a wedding venue. You will not regret choosing the Ice House, we just wish we could do it all over again.

Room Tip: We saw a lot of the rooms here and all looked excellent. The 2 heritage suites are amazing as are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepherlit2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Keepherlit2012,

On behalf of all the team her at the Ice House I am so delighted your special day went so well and that we had the opportunity to be apart of it. It was indeed a memorable day, Sunshine Galore!!! and a truly wonderful atmosphere.

It was a pleasure and an honour ensuring that your day went as you had always expected it to be and we wish you both continued happiness and best wishes for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to relive the memories!

Ken and the Team aat the Ice House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Ice House Hotel for my birthday and it was fantastic and memorable in every way. We had lunch in the restaurant when we arrived and the food was excellent. The view from the room was just stunning with a full glass wall overlooking the river. One of the best views we have every experienced from a hotel room. Dinner that evening was superb. The quality, presentation and innovation of every dish was more in keeping with 5 star than 4 star standard. Breakfast the following morning was equally excellent with a choice of a la carte dishes along with the buffet selection. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. We will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningDiner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear DiscerningDiner66 Ireland

Thank you so much for taking the time to air your thoughts and views on your recent stay here at the Ice House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear back from our guests.
All our team very much appreciate your kind words of praise as we strive you provide this level of professional service, care, and attention to detail to all our guests. I look forward very much to your return visit.

Ken and the Ice house Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night while we were at a wedding there. The whole day was lovely. The setting and the rooms were gorgeous, the food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay in this historic hotel.

Room Tip: There are two very different parts to the hotel - the old and the new. We stayed in the new. Stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Helen M,

I was delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay attending a wedding here at the "Ice House Hotel". It is always very nice to get feedback such as yours as it gives the team here a sence of pride at what you experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ice House.

Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a night last December - room was beautiful with a fab view of the River - did not receive our glass of champagne on arrival as advertised though - a minor niggle - Went to have dinner in the restaurant in the hotel which was absolutely beautiful - decided to stay in the hotel bar for drinks only to be told that the bar was closed for a private function - those guests were also using the lobby/sitting room area - told we could take the drinks back to our room!hotel staff were efficient but not friendly - may try this hotel again during a less busy season!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Crazy4travelcouple, Dublin.

Thank you for comments which are very welcome and much appreciated as we can always find ways to improve the quality and professional level of service we provide here at the Ice House. Apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay and hopefully we will see you back in Ballina so that you can once again see that we can learn from our mistakes.

Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
501 reviews
2.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
587 reviews
5.7 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Property: The Ice House Hotel
Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing