We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite meal and atmosphere. Magical!”

Belleek Castle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $73
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Belleek Castle is set in the heart of Belleek Woods. It is a cosy romantic hotel with plenty of character and award-winning restaurant. Afternoon tea is available daily from 12pm until 5pm. Tours also take place each day of the dungeons where you will get to see and hold Irelands largest private collection of armour and we also boast a collection of fossils - plus a few extra surprises!The Armada bar has been constructed from a spanish armada ship which makes it boast plenty of character and is admired by all who visit the castle. Our restaurant is cosy and romantic with an old world feel. We are proud to serve gourmet dishes without the gourmet price! Our head chef Stephen uses only the freshest local ingredients available to create masterpieces in the kichen.The castle is also an ideal wedding venue with several weddings held here every year since 1971. We strive to ensure that everyone has the most perfect day possible and where better to celebrate such an occasion than in a romantic castle.Belleek Castle is a home away from home and is well worth a visit - we hope to be welcoming you here soon!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite meal and atmosphere. Magical!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was a guest in the hotel and opted for the early bird menu. Sometimes an early bird menu can be bare but this was absolutely not the case. I thoroughly enjoyed each course. A table near by got the steak on the flaming sword which looked delicious. I settled for the slow cooked steak and it was very tender and flavoursome. Dessert was very rich and thoroughly enjoyed. Beware of the chocolate, its heavenly. Even the nibbles like homemade bread & banana bread were a nice touch. House wine was great too.

Atmosphere is just fantastic situated in the heart of a castle. And the staff were all extremely helpful and served well. Compliments to the Chef.

they do have a gourmet tasting menu the early bird satisfied my curiosity.

All in all a very pleasant experience and I would highly recommend it for that special occasion/date night/treat. The early bird was excellent value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusinessMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    31
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
“Very nice caslte”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A very nice place to look around and grab a coffee in.
Also a great place for a wedding venue, very peaceful in a beautiful setting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxxxsensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location to celebrate any event big or small”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I celebrated my 30th birthday here and I can genuinely say that I've never had such a wonderful evening. The food was amazing the service was outstanding and the location was magical. A night I'll never forget. Thank you to all the team. We're still talking about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weewheels1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal in atmospheric setting”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We came here on a midweek night and had the five-course market menu which is actually a bargain at 49.50eur considering the superb quality of the food. The castle setting is spectacular - we were brought first into the bar/drawing-room type area to have a pre-dinner drink which gave us a chance to have a good look around at our fascinating surroundings.

Once we were seated at our table the meal was a delight from start to finish. Of the two starters we ordered, the duck was the winner and the lemon-and-thyme sorbet course was a perfect palate cleanser. For the main course we both had the drunken bullock which is prime beef impaled on a sword, drenched in Jameson whiskey and set alight. Yes you read that right! It actually works - a bit of theatricality like that fits quite well when you're eating dinner in a castle. But the best thing about it was that it wasn't all show - the beef actually tasted amazing.

The restaurant was relatively quiet that night and we had plenty of attention from the staff - but crucially not too much. We were also left alone to sit and enjoy our meal. The service was just the right level of friendly without being overbearing. If you are having a special night out (we were on our honeymoon so we had a ready excuse!) and if it is on the wine list when you visit, I would heartily recommend the pricey but spectacular Luigi Bosca Malbec as the ideal accompaniment to the drunken bullock. Overall a great meal and a unique dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyEnoughCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

As part of a recent stay at the castle we enjoyed a meal in the small dining room. Lovely intimate setting, service was excellent and the food was superbly prepared from an interesting menu. Highly recommended, and very good value for the quality and choice on offer from the early bird menu we chose from.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darraghmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belleek Castle Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Belleek Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing