We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW - Out of this World”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Derry
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WOW - Out of this World”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thi s really is a castle - the ambience was superb. The service Quintessentially Irish. This is not a traditional corporate hotel. The reception is tiny but adequate with no computers ect, but the reception hall is magnificent - think Robin Hood. The bar and lounge and restaurant all lovely - loads candles so that you think there is actually no electricity (but there is lol). Rooms comfy and luxurious - If I could improve the experience I would suggest fluffy and extra towels. The bathrooms all redone and looked amazing. I was a wee bit disappointed in the shower which had very little power, but the disappointment was minor. We stayed one night and had breakfast which was great. We didn't eat there in the evening but by all accounts it is famed for its fab food.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms - which are the most expensive are very lovely but have just been revamped in a mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    79
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
92
282
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My patner decided to treat me to a night in Belleek castle for valentine i was thrilled but unfortunatley that turned to dissapointment in the service we recieved on our stay
Firstly reception was not infirmative about the hotel and breakfast times.
Dinner was first class .wine list pricey.the next day we were eager to explore the castle only to be told that the tour costs 8 euro p p and we had missed it
As we had paid almost 400 euro for one night i was furious that we didnt get to see any other rooms in the castle.poor way to treat the guests.woudnt go back on principle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A country house hotel with service and food of the highest standard. The duck served was as good as the duck in my village from my youth.
The bed was very confortable and the staff very friendly.
A great selection of music from around the world.
A proper log fire in a perfect Country House Hotel.
Harry and Otilia

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank berzovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Belleek Castle for two days between christmas and new year and would really recommended it.

It was a really lovely experience, friendly helpfull saff and the Castle itself is full of characters and lovely and cosy.

Also the food was excellent and as I am a coelic the staff could not have more helpfull, it made such a difference to be able to relax and enjoy my meal.

I would also recommend a nice walk in the nearby woods, which was very enjoyable.

Yvonne

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Belleek Castle. WOW. A very beautiful old worldly castle. We found the staff most welcoming, and friendly. We had the honeymoon suite, which has a beautiful view of the grounds. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless clean. We booked dinner in the restaurant which was again served to the highest of standards. I cant wait to go back in the summer and take advantage of the beautiful walks surrounding the castle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enniscrone co sligo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful old world period castle immersed in history and full of character and indeed characters. Take advantage of forest walk down to the river, Go for the steak meal flamed and served on a sword. Leave your worries on the door step and simply relax. Another great amenity on our doorstep

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joecosligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I am Irish and my wife is German, and we live in Germany. We wanted to get married in Ireland and went to see some venues around the west coast, and we came across Belleek Castle, we met with Mary it was febuary and they were busy renovating all the rooms but Mary met us with a big smile and gladly showed us around.The place is amazing an old castle that has been restored to a warm yet rustic ,comfortable, beautiful hotel, we feel in love!!! As i said we were living in germany and as a result that was the first and only time before the wedding we were in ireland, we had so much help from maya and her team i have never experienced this with any other hotel, the term above and beyond does not even do them justice. They organised everything and gave us great advice about music and other areas of our special day, on the day we were determined to have a stress free day and maya and her team made this happen, she was everywhere very organised and the day went better than we could ever have imagined, the food cooked lovingly by stephen, who rang us several times to disscuss the menu and his passion for food is amazing to hear,with everything grown on the grounds or sourced within a mile or 2 of the castle, it could not be fresher and was out of this would.The menu was just great and guest are still talking about it.I want to advise everyone that is getting married in ireland to go and have a look,as belleek was and will always be the most magical place we have come across,thanks again Maya,Paul,Stephen and the rest of the staff there you were all amazing and made our day top class.See you soon

Ruairi & Anna

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Property: Belleek Castle
Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing