We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place, outstanding!”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a fabulous, top class little quirky medieval gem.

The warmth, welcome and atmosphere is second to none. Set in a forest the drive up to the castle is spectacular. Walking through the big wooden doors is like a time portal to the past. Candles burning everywhere and a big open fire greet you as well as great staff. We had a drink in the Armada bar and then had a tour of the castle and museum. I had had the privilege of meeting Marshall Doran many years ago , the man behind the restoration of the whole castle.

The rooms are fantastic, all of them very different but all with four poster beds. Felt like a queen!

What do I say about the food...magnificent. Stephen, the chef, has been there for many years and continues to delight and tantalise the taste buds. His food is a joy and a must not miss experience. Thank you Stephen.

Would I stay here again....in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Belleek Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 515 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had our wedding reception here last April. The whole experience was top class...We were treated very well by the relaxed team at Belleek. Our chef Stephen was phenomenal and our tasting night last Christmas was an unforgettable experience. We had a feast of mouth watering food in their gorgeous and atmospheric restaurant. The wedding itself was in the medieval banqueting hall it was perfect and some guests are still raving about the Drunken Bullock...which I have to agree was the best beef I have ever tasted. Our guests got a tour of the Castle and Museum and another relaxed evening of food, wine and song ensued. We really felt at home and loved every minute of it. If you like all things rustic you will love this place.

We will be back again and again.

A big thank you to Stephen, Paul, Maya and Mary.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the usual bridal suite it's at the top of the stairs looking out on the front garden...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciakellyDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The food in Belleek is outstanding! We chose Belleek as the perfect romantic setting for our wedding celebrations this past summer primarily because the food is so good (thanks to chef Stephen's talents), but also because the owners always extend such a heart-felt welcome every time we visit. Perhaps traditionally more associated with winter occasions than summer ones, Belleek's medieval ambiance provided a uniquely special backdrop to our midsummer wedding. Blessed with 29 degree heat on the day, we were also blessed with Maya's willingness to let our band play outside in the grounds of the castle -creating our very own mini summer festival! We are still talking about how incredibly accommodating Maya and all the staff at Belleek are, and our friends still rave about the impeccable service we experienced over the course of the weekend. We were not the easiest of couples to please - having our own distinct ideas about how we wanted everything on our wedding day - but we were treated royally and are so very grateful for how accommodating and lovely everyone involved in Belleek is. From the old oak bar, to the gorgeous four-poster beds and the wonderful setting by a forest, we cannot recommend Belleek enough. This place is a true gem, and ideal for anyone hoping to experience beautiful Irish food, in a uniquely charming castle set in the rural West of Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Myself and three friends Belleek visited last week. We all have an interest in castles and decided to do the tour. We dealt with Miriam from the beginning and she was there to guide us thought the castle. When we arrived, Miriam was tied up and we were invited into the Armada bar for a drink while we waited. Miriam promptly arrived and sat with us while we were finishing our drink and she gave us a great insight into the castle before we started the tour. Miriam is a wealth of knowledge and you can tell loves her job and the castle.
The tour is fascinating and the man who restored the castle from the 1960's, Marshall Doran, comes across as an amazing character who put his life into this wonderful venue.
Because it was November, the castle was quiet but I can only imagine the atmosphere there in the summer or at a Christmas party.
If you are in Mayo, it is definitely worth a trip out and to soak up the brilliant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went on a lovely girls' weekend trip to Belleek Castle. I am studying abroad in Ireland right now, and we came from Dublin via train, went to Westport the next day, and ended on Achill Island. The castle is beautiful. Though we arrived late and only stayed one night, the grounds were magical. The room was fit for a princess. The beds were super comfortable. For three of us, we had a large room with a king size bed and two large twin size beds. Tea was provided in the room, which was a nice touch. The bathroom was large and clean.

We had a lot of fun exploring Ballina, which is a very cute Irish town. Definitely eat dinner one night at Dillon's Bar and Restaurant. It was delicious and great atmosphere. The breakfast at the castle was also delicious - we got it included in our price. We were really only in Ballina for the evening, and I would recommend spending more time there.

As students this was a treat to stay here one night, but you have to spend one night in a castle in Ireland! Overall, a lovely stay, and I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant recently with a group of 4,such a fantastic setting on a winters evening,huge log fires and candlelight.superb early bird menu,such great value.food excellent,5 star,would highly recommend,a place everyone should experience away from everyday hustle and bustle


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank pearljam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We never thought we would get the opportunity to stay in a castle but Belleek Castle lived up to our dreams. Driving up the long drive provided a great first impression. The large castle like furnishings; candles; unique bar area - all very cool. Room itself was fairly basic but very suitable and comfortable. We had dinner and the restaurant was over the top. Fabulous food. We almost stayed two nights just to experience it more but decided to move on....we will be back here if in the area again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytoretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,328 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: $161 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing