We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Abbey B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey B&B
Ranked #7 of 19 Ballina B&B and Inns
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed two nights. Lovely bedroom with large comfy bed which was so nice that i hated getting up in the morning. Shower is amazing. Very clean b&b with great detail and perfection in it. Breakfast was good, great selection of cereals, yogurts, fruits etc. Hosts James and Nuala are lovely people, very friendly and welcoming. Price very reasonable for the rooms. Would highly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyneady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at this B&B whilst visiting family. Very welcoming and accomodating hosts. The room was spacious, however, the bathroom was a bit tight especially the shower cubicle. The walls were very thin and we could hear next door talking & snoring!! The b&b is situated on a main road so traffic noise is bad although this may not be as much of a problem if you get a room at the back of the house. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts, and of course the full Irish!! Free off road parking. The b&b is in an excellent location, only a few minutes walk in to town. Overall I would definately recommend this b&b and would consider staying here again when next in town. PS. b&b also had free internet!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherburnLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed in the Abbey B&B for two nights. Location excellent. Owners very helpful and welcoming. Room very clean and spacious as was bathroom. Breakfast was great too. Would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewryFefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Just returned from a friends wedding in Ballina, stayed for 2 nights at the Abbey.

Located just a few minutes walk from the town.

From minute one everything was perfect.

Nothing to much trouble for the owner, a pleasure to have stayed here and met the owner.

Should anybody require a more in depth review about the Abbey or Ballina then dont hesitate to contact me.

  • Liked — Friendly and very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poppysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

A modern house with large room and lovely bathroom with great shower. Slight problem regarding noise of other guests in the house due to thinness of walls, (eg snoring, showers, loos flushing, tvs, louder conversations) which although was not a problem for myself could be to light or late sleepers or to those who enjoy only peace and quiet.
Full irish breakfasrt was good but no other choices available. Although 'continental' was offered it consisted only of scones and soda bread!!!

  • Liked — the shower
  • Disliked — the lack of breakfast choice
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lover242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2007

I went to Ballina for work, and I stayed in this B&B. The owner are so nice and they make you feel so welcomed :) I recomment this place to everyone. The room is nice, electric blanket, always clean, private bathroom. The breakfast is awesome. Go and enjoy yourself!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank fabiolaSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmeath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

My brother in law recommended this b n b to me and to trip advisor. We were only intending to stay for one night but ended up staying for two. We were made feel so welcome by the owners and their cute son! The room was beautifully decorated with a great attention to detail and the breakfast was also very nice! I rarely agree with my brother in law but he was right on this one!!

  • Liked — the quality of room and welcome
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_pumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.0 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,015 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
577 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whitestream House B&B
Whitestream House B&B
#2 of 19 in Ballina
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey B&B

Property: Abbey B&B
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing