We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red River Lodge B&B
Ranked #9 of 20 Ballina B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend in Ballina for a wedding and stayed in the Red River Lodge for 2 nights. The owner, Dolores, was very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of the house when we arrived.

The house and surroundings are beautiful, we ate our breakfast looking out at the lovely scenery and the river Moy. The whole house and garden is immaculate and very well kept.

We stayed in a family room with a double and a single bed. There was more than enough room for 3 adults to get around. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. The only thing it didn't have was an iron and ironing board but Dolores was quick to ask whether we would like to borrow one.

We were asked to fill out a small form each night to say what we would like for breakfast the next day and what time roughly. There was a good choice for breakfast and the full irish breakfast was delicious!!

Our room was cleaned and our clothes, folded or hung up in the wardrobe for us.

The b&b is around 5k from Ballina and 7k from Enniscrone so does seem a bit in the middle of nowhere, but this is no problem if you have a car and if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay a little bit out of town, this place is perfect.

Overall, Dolores couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasurable as possible and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here at the weekend with my girlfriend. We were touring some of Ireland for the weekend on the motorbike. The B&B is about 5 miles from Ballina out the Quay Rd. Once you get into Quay village you pass through it and on for about 1.5 miles before arriving @ the B&B. The rooms were clean, modern, quiet, and we had a front facing room whch looked over the bay which was very nice. We paid 55euro, which was a 1 night stay for 2 with full breakfast. There is ample parking at the B&B, and for those bikers, you are able to park at the rear of the house so the bike is out of sight, not that your in the middle of the town anyway.

The owner recommended a local restaurant, Crockets for us to have dinner, and it was phenomenal, great food nice atmosphere and not bad price either. The owner of the B&B verykindly dropped us down. We had starter and maincourse each, shared a dessert, tea, coffee, and couple of beers which all come to about 60euro which was very good value considering the very high standard of the food. We got a taxi back which cost 6 euro, you could walk it however the road isnt great (narrow & twisty with no footpaths) so we didnt want to.

The breakfast was lovely and we had a great selection from cereals, fry, pancakes, french toast etc etc.

Very pleased, would stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wooger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were in Ballina for the wedding of a relative so we decided to extend the visit into a real Ireland Vacation. We selected The Red River Lodge based on the Four Star rating by AA, as well as the friendly response to our inquiries by the proprietor Dolores. We were not in any way disappointed.
The house is lovely, and the grounds beautiful and well kept. The first thing to strike us was the quiet and the smell of the fresh country air. I wish we could have bottled both!
Breakfasts are traditional Irish with some modern additions, and everything was delicious. The host is attentive and extremely accommodating.
Rooms are spacious, well lit, astonishingly clean, and very comfortable. You won't want to leave!
The views of the Moy River will set up some wonderful photo opportunities.
It's about a mile out of town (2KM) so you might need a car if you want to experience Ballina, but there are taxi services available in town.
If you are movement impaired, be aware that this is a home and may not be wheelchair friendly, but there are ground level rooms available.
Prices are very reasonable.
It's not open year round, but when it is, you could not do better than to stay here!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms on the river side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Red River is located south of Ballina by the Quay river, out away from the city. If your looking for peace and quiet this is the place. Also the home itself is so beautiful, with wonderful views, you will not find a speck of dust, rooms are immaculate. Delores is a very gracious host, she will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mayanfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had a wedding nearby and found Red River Lodge on Trip Advisor. The rooms are impeccably furnished and decorated, and the place has a relaxed, comfortable and cosy feel to it. Our hosts were always nearby to help out with recommendations on where to eat, emergency safety-pins, ironing board and a friendly chat. I highly recommend Red River Lodge and will definitely come back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alimacgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Red River Lodge for us was the perfect B&B - The room was clean and well decorated with a beautiful river view, the breakfast was delicious and the host made us feel at home, all that in a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shira_Sachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was a fabulous bed and breakfast. We found our hostess Delores to be very friendly, welcoming, and very kind to us as well as very helpful in guiding us to where we should go, and provided us with information. Staying at this bed and breakfast definitely enhanced our trip to Ireland. Delores's Irish breakfast was so wonderful and the scenic views and landscaping was absolutely breathtaking!! Wonderful Irish hospitality, very accommodating, clean and welcoming. I would highly recommend this Bed and breakfast for anyone traveling to this part of Ireland. Delores is wonderful, and her bed and breakfast is just as equal her hospitality! Thank you Delores!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mysweetbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,381 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
516 reviews
7 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.7 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
532 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Loft Bar and B & B
The Loft Bar and B & B
#6 of 20 in Ballina
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red River Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red River Lodge B&B

Address: Quay Road, Ballina F26 W088, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range: $37 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red River Lodge Bed and Breakfast ceased trading in September 2015. Unfortunately it is impossible to contact TripAdvisor and have this listing deleted. We would like to apologies to all travelers who contacted us inquiring about accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing