We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch for reasonable price.”
Review of Gourmet kitchen - CLOSED

Gourmet kitchen
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Bakery, wine & coffee shop. We have 2 kitchens. One gluten free kitchen that has been approved by our local Hse.
Ballina, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great lunch for reasonable price.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Gourmet Kitchen is a nice, big, bright, airy place, with friendly staff.
You can get a really nice lunch there, for a very good price

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eily1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything a coffee shop should be”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Gourmet kitchen is a character filled charming spot down town ballina idea for either a quit coffee stop while shopping or a more serious stay and chat over wonderful cake and buns. There's a big selection of gluten free stuff as well

Helpful?
Thank rosnarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely quaint cafe”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I eat regularly in this cafe, there GF brown bread is to die for, and the menu is slightly different to other cafe in town which is nice. Plenty of options to choose from.
they also do a slimming word option every day too, they really cater for those with a food intolerance.

I love the cups for tea, pictures of cows on them. gives the place a lovely atmosphere.

the only bad thing I have to say is that it takes a long time from ordering food from it arriving to the table. it is worth the wait though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill n, Owner at Gourmet kitchen, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you Lisa for your lovely review. .we are proud of our gluten free brown bread it took a lot of attempts to get it right. the feedback on it from our customers is a definite thumbs up. We will work on the speed of order to service....we look forward to serving you again....jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something missing!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Popped in by chance lovely big spacious coffee shop that lacks ambience! Menu ok desserts were deserted, hardly any choice display cabinets looked bare, didn't have the choices that were on menu, crockery mix matched which wasn't nice no tall spoons for coffee no brown sugar simple things missing, the toilet has sliding door! Could be lovely given a little attention to detail!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billybuntin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill n, Owner at Gourmet kitchen, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Sorry your visit to my shop was not as enjoyable as I would have liked it to have been.to answer some of your comments .miss matched crockery is my personal preference. The sliding door in the toilet cubicle was a requirement by the health inspector as you need to have an area separating the toilet from eating area. There is a notice on the outer door to lock it behind you making toilet private to use. Not sure what day you visited us but as we are very busy and constantly selling our homemade desserts every day gluten free and wheat treats it's possible the display units were cleared. We are a very small bakery we bake what we can and when it's gone it's gone so you are guaranteed fresh goods everyday. I'm sorry our menu didn't appeal to you. We have our menu displayed in front window so customers can read it before coming into coffee shop.i will definetly invest in long spoons.i hope next time you visit ballina you will pop in for a coffee . Regards. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLINA,MAYO,ROI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seriously relaxing”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent stop-off Watch the world go by Enthralling atmosphere Everything so clean and easy on the eye Really varied menu
Great value for money Homemade flavours hard to beat Really personal and non intrusive
Cant wait to go back Whats simple is beautiful and this soo works

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RODDDERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill n, Owner at Gourmet kitchen, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Makes it all worth while when we get positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet kitchen also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing