We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Mayo Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackie Clarke Collection

Jackie Clarke Collection
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another Mayo Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thanks to Jackie Clarke, his family and the folks of Mayo for creating a venue and forum for an eclectic collection of historical documents traversing much of the history of Ireland, especially the 19th and 20th centuries, as viewed and reported by contemporary commentators. Jackie Clarke, a man of Ballina, amassed a treasure trove through his own initiative. I only wish we had more time to peruse the collection, having arrived later in the day...but I shall return. How inspiring to uncover the insights of the people who lived through emancipation, the struggle to move from its labor-intensive, foreign-controlled agrarian economy, its civil strife, and its progression to establish a stable government. The museum is worthy of support in every way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank QuebecoisFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Informative and well presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Liked all of the Jackie Clarke Collection - a great insight into the history of Ireland as well as local events. Worth a visit if you are in Ballina or in the North West generally.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorp688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was a surprise and a fountain of Irish Historical info.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our visit and found it very interesting from an Historical point of view, really a big surprise. Highly recommend . We needed more time, next time we will plan it better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a free museum and if you are into Irish history then you have to take a look and there is also a lovely little garden where on a good day you can sit out an den hoy the sun after the tour or before hand. Staff at very friendly and as I believe all voluntary as well. So well worth a look. I enjoyed it and will be back with family or friends next time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate Kent U.K.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing collection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a truly remarkable collection of memorabilia and artefacts collected over many years, some fantastic old maps and photographs, a must for any one interested in Irish history

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie Clarke Collection also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Jackie Clarke Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing