We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in a lovely setting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a lovely setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful Irish setting beside a creek with a small cascade and a nearby garden.
The rooms were very nice and the food was good. Bright and airy lobby and the owner, Rachel, is a treasure. She seems to omnipresent and seems to greet every guest. Anything wrong? Rachel will take care of it.
Unfortunately, they did miss our wakeup call but I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the green garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    155
    53
    37
    33
See reviews for
163
184
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Myself and my Son stayed at the Downhill Hotel this Weekend the staff and the management off the Hotel are wonderful and very cooperative .I asked to move rooms to be a bit closer to front off the hotel but nothing was any trouble to them .The rooms were spacious great for familys plenty off things for the kids in leisure part off the Hotel .I hope the Downhill will continue to be a great Hotel to stay for years to come .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaughan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscrone, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our 50th school reunion dinner was held in the Downhill House Hotel on May 11th this year. The Staff were extremely professional and pleasant and so helpful with all our inquiries. The Lough Conn room was beautifully decorated for the occasion and the meal was excellent. Well done to Rachel Karen and staff. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaQuinn1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed there with my husband and 2 year old 2 weeks ago. We had a family room and my 2 year old had a wooden cot not a travel cot. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and all of them appeared to be used to children and looked after our 2 year old first!

The food was perfect especially Paddy's homemade burger. They also had a good menu for children. The weather was terrible at times so we used the swimming pool and Jacuzzi which was nice. I think it caters for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeriLomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently had a group dinner at this hotel. I found the food to be delicious, great value and the staff helpful, professional and fun. We had a great evening and will definitely return. The room provided to us was private, warm and friendly. The atmosphere was friendly and bright and the tables very pretty. We stayed until late but were made feel very welcome.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Aedine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Aedine

On behalf of the Management & Staff of the Downhill house hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor and I am delighted that you and your group had such an enjoyable evening - it is great to get "Local Feedback" from our loyal customers and we look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future.

With renewed thanks,

Rachael Moylett
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a group of 28 walkers we had a fabulous 3 day break at the Downhill House Hotel. We had spacious and comfortable rooms. We were booked Half Board with packed sandwiches also provided. All the meals were excellent. Complimentary tea/coffee was provided in the foyer each afternoon and was very welcome.The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Music was provided on Sat night and management even organised a Quiz on the Sun.night. We all had a Ball.The hotel helped us get a great walking guide who organised a bus and lead us on a beautiful walk on the foothills of the Ox mountains. Altogether a great weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roisin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Roisin

What a lovely group of walkers that stayed with us over the Bank Holiday weekend. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and I will pass on your compliments to all the staff concerned - it is lovely to get positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next Walking Expidition soon !

Thanks again,
Rachael Moylett
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Downhill House Hotel on business for four nights and from the moment I walked through the door until the moment I departed I received nothing but 1st class customer service. The staff are amongst some of the friendliest warmest hotel staff I have ever encountered (I stay in hotels quiet regularly).

My reservation was handled professionally and during my stay I could not find fault with any area of the hotel. My room was cosy and comfortable the gym is excellently staffed and equipped. The breakfast was tasty and I ate one two nights of my stay and it was tasty and good value.

Hopefully business brings me back to this beautiful quaint hotel once more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nualaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
2.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
6.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Property: Twin Trees Hotel
Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing