We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel in Ballina!”
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Downhill House for one night while passing through Ballina with our coach tour in August 2012. It's a very nice, family-owned, classic style hotel. I would say that a highlight of their establishment is the Sports Club, which is complementary as a hotel guests but appeared to be utilized by local residents as well. It had a nice pool and multiple rooms of workout equipment. Our room was well-appointed and hotel overall is very lovely inside and out. The breakfast was okay but we found the dining room to be quite crowded and noisy with several coach tours staying at the hotel, in addition to our own group. It was a 10-15 walk to the little main street area of Ballina, which is worth of a visit if you stay at Downhill House. I would certainly recommend Downhill House to others as we enjoyed our brief stay here.

Room Tip: The hotel hallways and room layout are very maze-like, so if you have trouble getting up and down st...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Bosley

Just following up on your recent comments on tripadvisor and I wish to thank you most sincerely for your positive comments. It is great to see you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Downhill House hotel in 2013 perhaps - where our motto is "Let our family Look after Yours"

Kind regards
Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Twin Trees Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 603 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would like to thank you most sincerely for your kindness with my daughter
last weekend at a Golden Wedding celebration we attended. My daughter has autism and
it was a pleasure to stay in your hotel with staff that looked after us so well. From the moment we stepped in the door your receptionist Louisa looked after us and made sure everything was ok for my daughter (organising the room and breakfast etc).
I was also very impressed with how you looked after her at the meal making sure she had her dinner and ice cream.
Many thanks again for your kindness and hospitality. It makes life so much easier for parents of children with special needs when staff help out and are understanding.
I will be recommending your hotel to everyone!

Angela,
Buncrana,
Co. Donegal.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and had one at the back of hotel and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Angela

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor - it is much appreciated. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed the evening celebrations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Let me know personally when you would like to return at - rachael@downhillhotel.ie.

See you soon,
"Let our Family Look After Yours"

Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have lost count how many times we as a family have returned to this hotel. We have visited others in Ballina but none compare to the Downhill. It continues to offer good quality food, a friendly Irish welcome and value for money. Look forward to seeing you all again on 2013!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellenbarwholesale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Ellen

Thank you once again for leaving your very honest comments on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for me as a third generation family member to welcome back so many repeat Customers.

Our New motto - "The Difference is we are family Owned"!
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013,

Sincerely,
Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great value and assistance with tee times at great area golf courses.
Terrific Irish charm and asistance from the staff. Good food and
very flexible in preparing what our group wanted for the dinners we
had at the hotel. Charming family run hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikecman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Mike

Glad you enjoyed your recent golfing holiday with us at the Downhill House hotel. Kay Devine works very hard organizing Golf Tee times for all our Golfing enthusiasts and has great pleasure in welcoming back over 80% repeat golfing business year on year. With the excellent golf courses available in the area we are spoilt for choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,
"The Difference is We are Family Owned!"

Regards
Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good value 3 star hotel - stayed in an older more traditional style room with ok bed and small tv but all very adequate. Enjoyed an evening meal as part of package - I was offered either to eat in restaurant or bar and chose bar as I was travelling solo on this occasion. Didn't make use of the leisure centre. Nice 15/20 min stroll into Ballina. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - it is a great pleasure to get nice comments from our clients and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

"Let our Family Look after Yours"

Sincerely

Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough!! From the start of our wedding prep 2 years ago Karen,Rachael and the staff looked after every minor detail with extreme care. They were helpful and attentive (didn't miss a thing!)
When our big day finally arrived the sun shone and our guests had a ball sitting in the gardens sipping punch awaiting our dinner.
The meal was fabulous and the staff were very helpful to parents who needed extra requirements for children's needs.
I loved when the lights were turned down and the "flaming" baked alaska was brought through the function room! A great photo opportunity.
We danced and drank until the early hours and if we had to do it all again we would definitely pick this hotel. Fab fab fab :) thank you all at the Downhill House Hotel for making our day do perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Hi there Patrice

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor - much appreciated.
I am delighted you and you Husband ! had such a fantastic day and night and that everything went perfect for you - I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to all our hard working staff from the front door to the back door.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Downhill House hotel in the not too distant future, have a good year!

Sincerely
Rachael Moylett - The Difference is "We are Family Owned"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had booked to stay here with our family, Found Mary on reception extremely friendly.Rachel was so welcoming and friendly.
We had dinner there. What we really enjoyed was the leisure center. The girl working both morning was just extremely friendly. She was so welcoming and the kids loved her. Avril i think was her name. My little boy was so afraid of the water that she pulled up her tracksuits and got into the small pool with him. She got him distracted and he had so much fun. She then give us places to visit with the kids, We went into the town on Belmullet where we ate in a small bakery shop belonging to her family. The food there was fabulous.
Me and my husband were just saying if we had meet her on reception she could have helped us more! We can not fault the hotel. Its fab grounds, lovely area to walk around and the food is outstanding there, We enjoyed our trip and next year will most certainly be back. Adam did the fitness camp. He had so much fun. The only thing is the camp was a bit to much for him as he was only 6. But neither the less he made a lovely friend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Guest Relations Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Amanda

If gives me great pleasure to read your comments at our Management meetings to all our hard working staff in the hotel who work so hard to deliver the best service possible.

I am delighted your family enjoyed their stay and as the third generation of Moylett's it makes me very proud of the hotel and staff alike. Our motto is "Let our Family Look after yours" and I look forward to meeting you again,

Sincerely
Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
515 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing