We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem hidden away”
Review of The Bond Cafe & Bistro - CLOSED

The Bond Cafe & Bistro
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Continental Style Bistro in beautiful cobble stoned, south facing setting. Serving freshly prepared food for brunch, light lunches. Evening meals on Friday and Saturdays off-peak. Every Evening July/August. Speciality being Local Fillet of Beef for our Steak on the Stone or Gourmet Burgers and Lasagnes. Fresh fish, pasta dishes, Healthy Salad Selection, House Dressings. Vegetarian dishes and scrummy home-made everything, including the Demi Glace! Desserts an absolute must. Gluten Free Soups, Mains and Desserts. Eight Croi Healthy Ways Approved Dishes.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little gem hidden away”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I was told about this place by a friend and I decided to go here with a freind for lunch and we I had the burger and chips and my formed had a wrap and chips both were lovely and taste and prices not too bad either. Staff very friendly and welcoming and on the day we were there it was quite busy. Would recommend to anyone wantin some nice food. Would go back again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious Food!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went for dinner at the Bond Cafe whilst on holiday in Ballina last week. The staff were really friendly and all of the food was made from scratch and really tasty. We went for the salmon and the thai green curry but all of the options looked delicious. Unforunately we found the cafe on our second to last night, but we will definitely be returning when we come back to Ballina; it's just a shame that we couldn't have gone more often during our holiday this year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful soup”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went to this cafe with our lovely friend Sean while in Ireland last week. It was a wet horrible morning and he recommended the spicy parsnip soup. It was so lovely. All the staff were lovely and I would recommend a visit. All the food looked amazing and I only wish we could have gone back for more!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We 'discovered' this cafe/bistro as we were wandering around Ballina during its annual festival.
I had consulted tripadvisor before our trip but didn't fancy any of the TA top-rated restaurants in the town as they all seemed to be attached to either a pub or an hotel. For some reason The Bond Cafe escaped my notice during my research, and it nearly did again when we were in the town, sited as it is down a secluded alleyway which gives access to a courtyard that was once part of a bonded warehouse complex. An atmospheric location for a restaurant.
The evening my wife and I found it we weren't looking for a 'big' meal and thought we would give it a try since it called itself a 'cafe'. We were greeted by a charming lady, who turned out to be the proprietress, and were offered two menu sheets, one a pizza menu and the other an a-la-carte French bisto style menu. We decided on the pizza option and were served by a most efficient waitress who was every bit as charming as her boss. The pizzas we were offered can only be described as being the best we've had outside of Italy (We discovered later that one of the chefs is Italian, and the other, French). For dessert it was suggested we should try one of the almond croissants baked by the proprietress herself and we succumbed. Exquisite!
We were so delighted by the overall experience that we decided there and then to return the following evening and try the a-la-carte menu. Our impressions of the first night were underlined on our second visit.
On both occasions the bill was very reasonable especially as, on the second evening, we were offered a delicious Lois Jadot white burgundy to accompany local salmon caught, we were informed, by the chef himself!
Finding this little gem was the highlight of our stay in Ballina and our only regret is that it isn't located much closer to where we live.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey_JonesNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Visited restaurant for lunch recently. A lovely experience with excellent food, atmosphere and attentive staff. This restaurant is a 'must visit' when in Ballina, will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bond Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing