We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, we just had to write another review!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant

Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Ballina
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: Irish, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Brennan’s Lane is in the heart of Ballina, on the evocatively named Garden Street. From outside it looks quite small, but this is deceiving as it stretches way back and is actually huge. It has an almost Tardis quality in the amount of space inside. Downstairs is the bar, where some pretty serious gigs take place while you will find the restaurant on the first floor. The dining room is beautifully designed and features exposed brick walls, cool sofa seats, plenty of well spaced tables and chairs and some interesting art, as well as a series of old style butchers blackboards showing farm animals and the parts the different cuts of meat come from.  The room is long and fairly narrow, but well thought out design means it feels light and airy, and the open plan kitchen at one end adds to the sense of space. It is modern and elegant, warm and inviting. Description from Taste of Ireland by Paolo Tullio
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Well, we just had to write another review!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We reviewed this restaurant after our last visit there on New Years Eve 2011 and we feel that three months later, we will have to give it another 5 stars. Happened to be in Ballina again last weekend and after our latest visit, the standard of this restaurant has remained, and must be up there with the best in the country. Great food, great atmosphere and the friendliest and most helpful owners and staff make this a 'no brainer' when choosing somewhere to have a special meal in the Ballina area. Had a good drink in the lively bars afterwards as well, great music and a decent heated smoking area, though it gets a bit packed rowdy near late closing as it is the only pub in the town with a late license, but everyone we met were very friendly and in good form......Taxi right outside the front door....Magic, we'll be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank The-Celtic-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    39
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mayo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went for dinner here one weekend & were blown away. The food was really good & loads of choice.
The service was excellent. There appeared to only be two servers on duty, but our waiteress Evelyn was very attentive, helping us with our dishes and our wine choices and coming back to make sure we were enjoying everything. The other waitress, came over a few times to check up on us also, bringing water and taking empty plates.
I would highly recommend and we will def be back

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank lynzeebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo,Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Brennans is one of my favourite restaurants to go to. Having eaten here on numerous occasions I can say the food and service is consistently good. My most recent visit was with about 15 work colleagues for a night out and everyone of us cleared our plates! The service is friendly and efficient without being over the top, and the staff are really helpful if your having a hard time choosing from the menu! My favourite starter is the oriental tapas, and the homemade pasta's and lobster ravioli are to die for (when I didn't want the creamy sauce for the ravioli, the chef kindly made me up a fresh tomatoe sauce). I'm not really a dessert person but my colleagues raved about the creme brulee. The presentation is five star and I love the way the kitchen is open so you can see the chefs at work. After our dinner, it was straight downstairs to the bar for drinks, a very busy spot but with three different bar areas there's always a choice of music at weekends! Can't wait for the next occasion when I can head back to Brennans for dinner.
If your in the area and dine here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy1980_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hens weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

we went here as it is a late bar and nightclub had a great time gets really packed but the bar staff really nice

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank jumangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend went away for the weekend to Ballina we stayed in the ice house which was beautiful but we went to Brennan's lane for dinner. It was the Saturday of valentines and we had booked dinner for 9:30 we arrived at 9:50 which is any restaurants nightmare especially on a busy night but this was not a problem for the staff in Brennans Lane i felt so bad for being so late but they were so accommodating and so nice they could not have been nicer about the situation there is no way any other restaurant would have been as good about it. As we sat and sipped on our complementary prosecco our food arrived which was fantastic. I had heard people say great things about it but really did not think it would be as good as it was. My boyfriend had surf and turf which is something he orders whenever it is on the menu and he said it was the best he had ever had and he eats out all the time as he travels a lot. I would highly recommend Ballina for night out as once you have had dinner in Brennan's Lane you can head downstairs to there bar which is the most popular bar in town as it has a massive smoking area and live music you will be guaranteed a great night for food and drink. Great food, great service, great price!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank phillymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing