We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Downhill Inn
Nearby Hotels
Great National Hotel Ballina(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands Hotel(Enniscrone)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
53
46
44
16
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
46
44
16
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach partycoach holidaydavid urquartsligo roadfantastic startfamily run hotelfresh towelsfull irish breakfastthis lovely hotelan extra nightwould recommend this hotel to anyonechoice of cerealstown centreenjoyable staynight staytea coffeesalmon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 184 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed here a few days before Easter, on a 2 night special break rate. When we arrived we were told the hotel restaurant was closed for the nights of Holy Thursday and Good Friday. We were able to eat in the town centre, and the dinner rate was deducted from our overall bill.
Bedroom was spacious with usual facilities, ample storage space, TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer etc,
En-suite adequate size, plenty of toiletries and fuffy towels. Room and en-suite spotlessly clean.
Hotel about a 5 minute drive from town centre. Staff friendly and attentive. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pussycat-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I had high hopes for Downhill inn going by previous reviews,but understand its under new managment now.Travel with coach party and we were all herded in one small part of diining room,even though no other guests.Food was basic not say least,lucky if you got two small potatoes with meal,portions very small.as a coach party we were given very limited choice and breakfast was take it or leave it.Request for boiled egg was refused as was request for just bacon and tomatoe no tomatoes with breakfast.Would not stay there as part of a tour again.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArgyllJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I have stayed in the Hotel a number of times ,The staff are very frendly and helpfull,the rooms are spotless and very warm,Highly recomended.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
Thank DublinSteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

This place was a great little find for us, as we were looking to stay somewhere which was reasonably priced and provided us easy access to visit various parts of Ireland.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Ballina and overlooks a garage which was a great place to buy coke etc for your room. Quite a bit cheaper than the hotel drinks which was good.

We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night which was very pleasant, and we also had boked in for breakfast the mornings we stayed here, which again was plentiful and very nice.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and upon our arrival at the room, we were pleasantly surprised. Room was spacious and overlooked a little children's playpark which was nice. The room itself was quite modern and very clean, which we think is always the most important part of a hotel. The bathroom was also very clean, modern and filled with toiletries. These were refilled on a daily basis along with fresh towels.

The location of the hotel allowed us to visit various parts of Ireland, and was also very convenient to the town of Ballina. 5 mins in the car brought us to the centre of Ballina town, with a wide variety of shops and restaurants etc. We particularly liked the chinese restaurant at the bottom of the town towards Dunnes on the left hand side... Great little place with great food!

Overall we would go back here again. The hotel was pleasant, staff were friendly and the room was great.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albert82bob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed here as our base with a David Urquhart Travel coach tour.
Nice welcome from duty manager at hotel and were soon settled in. Rooms were comfortable and very clean including the bathroom. The TV actually worked with a good picture. All of the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. It must have been difficult to serve a coach party of 49 with what were good quality meals at both breakfast and dinner.
Other plus points were plenty of hot water for washing and showers. Clean towels every day without request.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markinchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews