We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Rest Assured" ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Downhill Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"Rest Assured" ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

David Urquhart coach holidays don't get any better than this! My first coach holiday to The Emerald Isle will certainly not be my last!

The Downhill Inn's John and Nicola endeavoured to make sure everything was perfect for all their guests. If you have a concern or dietary requirement just say to them!

Our coach driver Stuart had a great rapport with us all and helped make my holiday particularly memorable due to his informative and hilarious at times coach talks.

My room was excellent - crisp clean bed linen, immaculate bathroom with appropriate hand rails and beautiful wooden walk in wardrobe. Card key in operation. My only criticism of the room was the fact that I could not charge my mobile by my bedside due to no power socket there and the free wifi only works in the lounge not the room.

I loved having hot yummy porridge (just one of the many options)mail lowed by a full breakfast, tea/coffee and toast. Noticed that the Kerry butter was yummy also!

Entertainment was good and appropriate for a small hotel.
There is no dance floor - a wee bit of a disappointment for those who wished to show their ballroom skills.

The countryside is gorgeous and would thoroughly recommend a visit to Co Mayo and to this lovely hotel!


Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WestLothianLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    34
    14
    21
See reviews for
37
49
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed here twice for 5 day breaks and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff, facilities and service we received were first class and we would certainly recommend the Downhill Inn for a relaxing break or a base for touring the area. Thanks again from The Soup Man.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOSEPH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This Hotel is situated just outside Ballina and it is possible to walk into the town, however it is about 15-20 minutes away. The owners are great and very attentive, the check in process was quick and flawless. They were very helpul with any queries or requests that we had. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. In my opinion the lobby area, combining the open dining room and bar area does not work and should be revamped to make it more modern and inviting. However I am sure the finance for a major revamp is hard to come by in this recessionary economy. The TV was very small in the room, but otherwise the room was adequate and functional. For the price this hotel is a good choice, but a few changes would make it even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Downhill Inn and we were both very impressed with the overall feel and warm atmosphere while there. The staff were more than exceptional and their kindness and attention to detail was appreciated greatly. The menu and presentation of all meals was excellent. We would recommend this motel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on a David Urquhart tour. Firstly, forget every bad review I don't think these people were at this hotel !!! This is excellent value for money.The staff work very hard and cannot do enough to satisfy your special requests at breakfast and dinner.The food choice is varied and good - OK it is not five star but nowhere does the hotel purport to be that.Hotel is probably about a 15 minute walk into town but for people with mobility issues (like myself) it might be just too far.The " Craic " was good at the bar with top marks to Carl - great rapport.
Not much more to say about this just go ahead and book it - you will not be disappointed.
Oh ,almost forgot, free Wi-Fi in most parts of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which I think was the first ground floor room you came to so not too far to carry yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Downhill Inn while on a coach holiday from Scotland. On arrival John the owner, boarded the bus and welcomed us to the hotel, which was a nice touch. First impressions were the outside of the building looked well maintained and the grounds were equally tidy. Checking in was quick and efficient and assistance with luggage was provided for older members of our party.
The reception area was fresh and tidy with lots of comfortable looking sofas and chairs dotted around. The bar area, although fairly small, also looked inviting with comfortable seating and tables.
Rooms are on two floors and our ground level room was spacious,clean and fresh, with ample space for storing luggage and clothing. There was a double and a single bed each with a duvet and a throw. The bathroom had some signs of wear around the bath seal and tiles and some slight water damage around the hand basin vanity unit but nothing major to complain about.
A powerful shower and a generous bath were more than welcome after long days and there was abundant hot water. One tiny gripe was the television....it was very small and mounted on a corner wall bracket, but we had all the channels and it was handy for getting the days weather forecast!
Evening meals were three courses, basic but tasty and the portions were adequate, in line with the price we paid for the holiday. The service was very good each evening and the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast offered a good range of cereals, tinned fruits, porridge, juice etc, soda bread and toast followed by a tasty plate of bacon...delicious Irish sausages, and fried or scrambled eggs with as much tea or coffee as you liked.
Drinks prices were reasonable and there was ample space around the bar to sit in comfort in the evenings. In truth, The Downhill is probably more motel than hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we could not fault anything with either the facilities, food or staff. The hotel itself is on the edge of Ballina town and is about a twenty minute walk away for a reasonably fit person but there are local taxi companies available to take you in for around 4-5 euros.
On leaving, John once again boarded our coach to thank us and bid us all farewell. We have done many coach holidays all over Europe and the UK and very seldom if ever in our experience has anyone taken the trouble to do this and I think it speaks volumes about the level of customer care and service at the Downhill. To anyone considering staying here, ignore the dodgy reviews and book it!
Thank you John and Nicola and all your staff for a very pleasant stay and we would have no hesitation about coming back to the Downhill in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lensman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed at The Downhill Inn many times over the years and recently stayed again this month. In our experiences everthing is always 'spot on'!. This is due to the staff members who are a real credit to the Downhill Inn. Without exception they are always so pleasant and customer focussed. They clearly enjoy ensuring each of thier guests are fully satisfied with the service. The food and beverage is always first class and the accommodation very comfortable and peaceful. Its location is very pleasant and the taffiffs very reasonable. Nothing is too much trouble fot John and Nicola the managers and his team to ensure that their guests enjoy a pleasant experience and stay. We would not hesitate to highly recommend to others and we are already looking to our next stay. The faithful 'Downhill' will never let you down.

Room Tip: Second flloor on the town side of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0ff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.9 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downhill Inn

Property: The Downhill Inn
Address: Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downhill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downhill Inn Hotel in Ballina, is amongst Ballina Hotels gems - priding itself on offering value for money, excellent service and quality hotel accommodation in Ballina, Co. Mayo - this family owned and managed 3 Star Hotel in Mayo is a real treat to discover.This Ballina Hotel in Mayo is renowned for its friendly, efficient and professional staff.Last Minute deals can make the accommodation cheap in cost, offering good value. Hotel Discounts are available with our special offers.The hotel is located on the Sligo road on the outskirts of Ballina Town in the heart of Mayo, near the river Moy which is famous for salmon fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Downhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina
The Downhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing