We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with good food and services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place with good food and services”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here recently in the courtyard self catering facilities and it was set in lovely grounds. We used it more for a base and managed to explore the area. The property had plenty of facilities including a washing machine dryer, hair dryer, iron, dishwasher etc. We had full use of the spa and it's facilities including free wifi in the hotel.

The breakfast was generous eating as much as you could and there were plenty of options. It was child friendly and the bar wasn't overpriced. We had a lovely time here with our family and I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    161
    55
    33
    14
See reviews for
275
459
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my partner and I must say we just fell in love with the place!!

It's a bustling country house hotel with so many activity!
And lived up to it's reputation with the food, we dined in ''The kitchen'' restaurant on our stay, the food was to die for, must try the salmon gravlax, as for grace and zack they were just wonderful.
We took a hawk walk the next day the birds are truly wonderful and Jason really knows his stuff.
All in all a lovely get away great staff where no ask is too much, hope to be back over Christmas!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just back from a fabulous week in Mount Falcon. We stayed in the Courtyard houses which are finished to a very high standard, ideal for families and couples alike. The estate itself is beautiful and maintained to a very high standard. Ballina is a busy town with plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs to choose from. It is also well situated for day trips to all that Mayo has to offer the budding tourist. And if you looking for a relaxing few days/week, Mount Falcon is an ideal location.

Room Tip: The Courtyard is very well positioned, close to the hotel and all the facilities it has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weekend_Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Mount Falcon and we have never been disappointed.
Our room was at the back of the hotel, while I expected some noise it really was fine! I had booked through Booking.com and got a good rate so I didn't expect a room with a view!
The room was beautifully furnished with comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom. Food was excellent, we ate one night in the restaurant and the other nights in the bar.
Breakfast was served in the Fuller room, It is a function room which must be used when the hotel is busy. The staff were pleasant and the service good.
My husband is a keen angler so apart from choosing M. F. for a relaxing break we go for the fishing! The magnificent Salmon river Moy runs through the estate. You do need to book the river and ghillie if you choose to have one. There are many lakes and rivers within driving distance and for the golfer plenty of beautiful courses such as Enniscrone and Carne.
The hotel has a very nice pool, sauna, steam room etc. there are also lovely walks through the estate. There is a small stocked lake which is good for practising fly casting, not for any serious fishing!
Mount Falcon is not cheap especially if you are fishing every day with a ghillie, but in my experience you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golftimestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Pleasant stay in Mount Falcon Estate. Lovely setting. Stayed in room called the Dugout. Not overly impressed with size of room but it is in the old part of the hotel. Bathroom though was lovely with separate bath and powerful shower. Bed quite creaky but comfortable nonetheless. Small free standing flat screen TV. Tea/Coffee making facilities. Dinner quite expensive 59 and 69 euro. Hired bikes to cycle around the Estate which was lovely but do take a map. Breakfast was just ok - served in a large room lacking in character and service was rather slow. Got good rate with online booking agent. Hotel quoted double that price.

Room Tip: I would request room in newer part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Mount Falcon Estate is confused! While it markets itself as "a Luxury 4 star Mayo hotel" it basically caters as a hotel for families. Probably an amazing place to bring the kids for vacation BUT if you are looking for a quiet subdued place that cushions you in luxury this isn't the place to choose..While the deluxe room truly has character and the bathrooms are great it's hard to just enjoy and relax when children are running the hallways till 10 at night (this- stopped after a phone call to reception) The deluxe rooms are over the reception and bar and on the same floor as the "kiddie play room" so the action was going till about 23-24 pm. (note the kiddie play room is open till 20:00 but kids were outside the room listening to loud movies at 23!)
The mattresses are not up to a 4 star hotel and in fact not a 3 star!
We left email messages from the web site to book a massage at the spa - they never returned to us but luckily we called just before we arrived and they had two spots left - please note the the massage was amazing.
Breakfast was just ok but we had more of a selection in a more simpler hotel and once again children were screaming and running around ( love kids but just didn't want to be around them these few days)
We definitely would recommend the clay pigeon shooting which was fabulous and the grounds are beautiful; We want to thank Veronica for all of her assistance she worked quickly to find solutions to some problems that arose. We would have loved it if we were paying average rates but at the price we paid we feel - wow - didn't justify the high price !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

i never write any review but before to travel to Ireland, i was looking at tripadvisor and michelin guide as every French person do. we decide to stay in Ballina because my wife still have some relative in Sligo and we wanted to meet them. We also wanted to find a hotel with a garden for a morning jog and a fine dining restaurant. We stay in a deluxe room, beautiful, great bed, so quiet. Before our breakfast, we jogged around the estate which has a lake and beautiful wood and a gold driving range, we even been to the garden to have a look (mind you it was close but you can still find a path way to go in)..amazing gaden, the chef must be delighted to be able to cook some beautiful vegetable coming directly from the garden. The breakfast was good, i ordered a poached egg and my wife took a porridge. Nice selection of juices, fruits and seeds, nice to see that. During the afternoon we have been to the pool and jacuzzi, with view on the wood, very relaxing. The diner was one of the best we have had for some time. For starter i have a salmon and my wife goat cheese, beautiful presentation with little herbs and flowers, for main we have the beef and turbot which were amazing, the flavour of the dish, the colour and presentation magnifique. The french chef use the vegetable from the garden and also the turbot was served with fresh seaweed (i dont think too many chef are using the seaweed but they should). for dessert, i took the local cheese and my wife the chocolate dessert. both great. I thought the menu at 59 euro was a great value considering the quality of the food and the professional service. It was a very very nice night, and i even try the chef tarragon liqueur, A must. The following day we meet my wife relative and told them about our experience. They knew about the place and told us they only hear good thing about it..Unfortunetly we could not eat a second night as we have to stay with the relative but we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASHERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
458 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
576 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Property: Mount Falcon Estate
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing