We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Difficult to describe in words the feeling one gets when you first sight the magnificent building but it is a feeling which stays forever etched in ones memory. The interior of the building is simple awesome and the spacious bed rooms are superb with the restaurant providing excellent meals. If we were to ever revisit Ireland it would be a definite place we would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional. The food is second to none. The rooms are large and excellently equipped. The hotel has lots of nooks and crannies where one can hole up with a good book on a rainy afternoon. The hotel has a leisure suite and gym, which I didn't visit but has extensive grounds, which I did explore. Like Mayo itself, these are stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halloweentourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were in Ballina for one night and we were thrilled to be staying at the Mount Falcon Estate. The grounds are beautiful. So beautiful that we braved the rain to walk around the pond and through the grave yard. We did not find the megalithic tomb.
The breakfast was average the coffee wonderfully strong.
We had lunch in the bar. I had smoked salmon and my husband fish stew. Both were wonderful. The table next to us was occupied by a lovely couple from the town celebrating a birthday who recommended the Milwaukee Irish fest. So ironic to come so far for recommendation close to home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gmanbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I am currently on a 10 day holiday spanning 3 hotels around Ireland. I have never been to Mayo and found the Mount Falcon online. The food is absolutely excellent, both bar menu and restaurant. The palatial grounds and comfy large rooms make this a must to visit. my previous hotel was a 4 star in Galway last week, Mount Falcon is also 4 star but miles ahead of any other hotel I've been to. I brought my 7 year old and he is upset that we are only here two nights as he loved the swimming pool and grounds to play.

Room Tip: The rooms 1-10 seem to be built recently and look more luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just returned having spent 1 night dinner, b and b in one of the deluxe rooms at Mount Falcon. The whole stay was an unforgettable experience and the dinner was WOW.. WOW.. and WOW again. The staff were very helpful and the bedroom was beautiful. We would definitely return and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gercurry2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

€30 for two - includes loads of stuff - you certainly wont be hungry after. Very good value and very tasty too. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and we sat out front of the iconic building looking out over a fab vista. Very enjoyable. My partner would have liked a bit more of the savoury and less of the sweet options - with my sweet tooth I was happy as a clam!

Minor nigggles; service was a bit patchy, tea was slow to arrive, food served; no cutlery, no milk - all came bit by bit and since the setting and food was so nice it wasn't a major problem but ...

If you are on your way in or out of Ballina in the afternoon make a stop at Mount Falcon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank M-moate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in Mount Falcon in one of the 12 woodland lodges for a whole week and we loved it. The lodges are very well equipped, nicely decorated and excellent for a stay with family or friends. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, the hotel park is just amazing. Daily fitness courses are offered for 10.- Euro per course.
We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Woodland lodges are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,381 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
532 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
516 reviews
4.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
618 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $177 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing