We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

What a setting? What a property? What a gem? We called in for a coffee and a look see. It is very impressive. Beautifully restored old country house. The furniture and fixtures and overall ambiance makes a visit well worth while.The staff in the bar (and others we met in corridors) seemed very friendly. All we had was a coffee and a prosecco so can't really comment on much else.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank M-moate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Mount Falcon Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went for the Grab One Deal which included afternoon tea which was a real treat! Also had an amazing facial and massage from Sarah in the Spa and I couldnt praise her enough! She was fantastic and had such a lovely manner too. My husband used the driving range which was expensive enough when you are staying there 10.00 euro for 35 balls! He enjoyed the pool and sauna while I was being pampered. The room was beautiful, very spacious and bright and temperature just right! We chose the bar food as afternoon tea is quite filling, and we really enjoyed the atmosphere there and the guinness was first class! The breakfast was a little disappointing though, ordered porridge which took forever and it was not worth the wait as there was no flavour to it, My husband had to wait for ages too for his omellete and the restaurant was not busy at the time, the waiter also brought our toast to another table instead, and seemed very pleasant but very scattered!! The overall experience was great and we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Room no 18 is bright airy clean and quiet! Also not far to walk to the spa in your dressing gown fro...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walsharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife, teenage son and I visited the Mount Falcon Hotel last week for a 2N B&B plus 1EM.
Our main reason for going here was because of the hotels setting and old world charm having only been renovated around 10 years ago.
Other big attraction was its stocked lake for fishing and the River Moy just outside the grounds.
The plus side of the Hotel was:
Great areas in hotel to chill out and unwind in front of various log fires and no TV’s around which for us is a big advantage (TV in your room if required)
Leisure complex.
Walks around wooded grounds of hotel approx. 3km
Rod room for fishing gear which our son loved
Access to hotel fishing gear if required and stocked lake of rainbow trout.
Bedrooms very comfortable and quiet.
Nice Staff
On the negative side.
The dinner menu is very restricted for example if you wanted steak you had to order it for 2 people and I think for 65e price per person a choice of steak on the menu should be available for one. We had the mixed fish option which we enjoyed.
Note the 65e price is for non-residents normally dinner price is included in the package you buy.
The changing area in leisure complex is really small only fitting about 6 people comfortably and only 2 showers.
If pool was really busy it must be a nightmare trying to get changed, although you can return to your room in robe which is provided.
On the second morning at breakfast one of us wanted to have a kipper with potato cake from the breakfast menu.
We were told that it was no longer on the menu and to choose something else (strange when breakfast runs until 10:30 and this was 9am).
My wife didn’t particularly want anything else so just asked for a simple plain omelette and was told that it’s not possible only items from the menu can be ordered. Wow this is a 4star hotel and it’s only an omelette my wife wanted.
Another minor problem about breakfast too which I won’t go in to detail on.
However I did inform the receptionist about the problems who apologised for both events and said we could have 25e off our next stay.
Which if we do stay, it certainly won’t be because of the breakfasts.

Room Tip: 32 rooms available and if large group have options of renting one of the lodges on the hotel grounds
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 166LeoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently stayed in connors gap suite for one night on a valentines break .Suite was really clean and spacious only problem was location of the suite is just above reception and bar so noise levels are high at night .We had dinner in the restaurant but food was very disappointing. Breakfast was very poor too and no beans which may not seem like much but ive been to lots of different hotels and this was the first time I couldnt get beans. Overall its a gorgeous relaxed hotel in a great location .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 855DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Mount Falcon. The warm welcome from all the staff was wonderful. We arrived for a spa treatment which was heavenly, then afternoon tea, fabulous and after that we had a stroll around the beautiful grounds. The room was spacious clean and warm with lovely white company toiletries in the bathroom.The house keeping staff were fabulous and couldn't have been more helpful. Evening drinks by the roaring fire finished the day well. Breakfast was a great experience again, a lovely choice from the cold buffet whilst orders from the menu for hot food were prepared. We had such an enjoyable experience and I cannot recommend Mount Falcon highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne75c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed on 16th February for one night, these people know how to run a hotel, the staff were so friendly and bubbly, we had afternoon tea on arrival and it was 'proper aft tea' felt like I was in downtown abbey. Walks about the hotel are short but a longer circle was there for the energetic. The rooms are so comfy and spacious (heading to 5* standard. To cap it off we had a wonderful five course meal with Michelin star touches. Even though valentines had passed we were given glass of complimentary prosecco and I got a red rose and handmade chocolates at end of meal. Meal is €65 a head but if money is tight great bar menu. I found a gem in Mayo and will be back in 2014.

Room Tip: Front of hotel obv has best view but at end of day does it matter when rooms are so relaxing
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Unfortunately my stay in Mount Falcon was only 1 night. It was one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences I have ever had.

Most importantly the staff are amazing, from the minute my friend and I walked in the door the could not have been nicer or more accomodating. You were made to feel welcome and special every second of your visit. They were both professional and thoughtful.

The rooms are spacious, bright, warm, clean and well equiped. You could actually spend a day just realxing in your room. However that would be a waste. The estate has so many facilities to be enjoyed. The pool is beautiful and there are lots of outdoor activies you can try. For the less adventurous there are lots of easy walks through out the estate. Some nice features on the walks include an old graveyard, megolitic tomb and ancient well.

We ate in the bar for lunch and dinner - the food was perfect, a nice selection, great quality and lovely flavours. Breakfast was a great treat, you order your cooked breakfast which is then made fresh for you - no hot buffet :) Lovely selection on the cold buffet too - plenty to choose from.

I can not reccomend this hotel enough. Open fires, great food and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,328 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
4.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $199 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing