We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely venue shame about rest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely venue shame about rest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had an invitation to attend a party there some days ago with about 60 or so others.
The house and estate have been restored at considerable cost.
Little things, however, soon catch ones notice.
The car park is some way from the main entrance. So what you ask but remember it is in the West of Ireland where it rains and rains. I dropped my wife at the main door, drove to the car park and waited 18 minutes before I dared to make an dash for it. An evening in wet clothes is not good.
Guests arrived, photos were taken and we were then called some way upstairs to a room that soon became very, very warm.
The next point noticed was that nobody seemed to be sorting things out.
The tables were set for three courses and it was a buffet.
The staff seemed to be running late so the head waiter decided that the starter and main course should be collected at the same time and on the same plate.
The main course consisted of chicken in batter, salmon, gammon and beef.
The salmon soon ran out and although we were very close to the premier salmon river in western Europe, no more was to be had. This was to the disappointment of many.
The beef, although in some type of gravy, just missed being made into shoe leather.
Desert followed the same pattern with over baked crumble, very hard base to the lemon meringues and ice cream being the safe option.
The building is lovely, the grounds are wonderful but Mount Falcon, in the rain, is not for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mocroi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    158
    54
    32
    14
See reviews for
268
453
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed over while attending a wedding here, can't fault hotel, facilities,rooms,food and staff BUT being asked for €30 for 3 shots of Woodford Reserve shocked me, particularly as one can purchase a 20 measure bottle for €40, A mark-up of +400% seems/is inexplicable. I rest my case.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night at Easter. The house is very imposing with lots of original features preserved and well maintained. The extension where most of the bedrooms and function suite are, is sympathetic to the original building.

We were in a standard double room - it was a lovely dual aspect room with nice new furniture and comfortable opulent bedding and soft furnishings. Super thick pile carpet added to the luxurious feel of the room and everything was of high quality. The bathroom was exceptionally large and modern with separate shower and bath with fluffy bath robes and The White Company complimentary toiletries - just lovely!

We ate in the main restaurant, and had a very nice relaxed meal - albeit with rather slow service; but we were in no rush. The menu was imaginative and the food of a very high standard. Quite high prices did reflect this, but weren't ridiculously over inflated.

All in all, we were very impressed with this hotel, bearing in mind it is rated as 4 star. I have stayed in lesser 5 star establishments which Mount Falcon could teach a few things to.

My only criticism would be that the hotel was very busy in the main public areas which we were advised was due to it being Easter Sunday. Lots of children and families were congregating to take part in the various activities the hotel had planned over the holiday period, and this meant the public areas got a little hectic at times. Bear in mind the resort has various self catering accommodations nestled amongst the grounds, and those guests can use the main hotel facilities at their leisure, thus it can get quite crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyMac1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited mount falcon and we ate in the bar. It was absolutely beautiful and we will definitely be back. The atmosphere is lovely in the hotel. The staff and service were very good. Will be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a wedding. While the venue itself is beautiful and the staff were lovely i couldnt warm to this place.
The wedding meal couldn't be faulted. It was delicious. However I'm afraid the breakfast really let it down. The hot selection was not hot and a bit thrown together. Considering the cost of the stay I would have expected more from this caliber of hotel. We rented one of the lakeside lodges as well as a room in the hotel itself. The hotel rooms are lovely but in comparison to other places I've stayed for the same money then they are nothing special. While the houses are nice I felt a little more attention to detail on cleanliness and some simple DIY would help. The bath surround was split and could be easily fixed. Also the shower door and tiles had not been wiped down and had all the dried on splash drops still on from previous guests. A little spray of mildew remover in the corner of the bath wouldn't go a miss. I feel the current price doesn't reflect in what you receive, however with a little extra attention to detail on these few simple fixes then this place could be brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Falcon last weekend. Deirdre at reception handled our check in very well and was very pleasant. The room was exquisite. When we visited the pool late in the evening around 6:00 pm there was a rather unruly bunch of children at large as it were. The pool attendant was letting matters get a little out of control for our liking anyway. A least we enjoyed the lovely steam room and sauna. The attendant had promised he would have towels for us after our swim but did not do so, he did get them when prompted. Dinner was a little disappointing as vegetables were charged as extras! At the prices being charged one would have thought that some carrots and broccoli would not have broken the bank. The biggest problem arose with the checkout time which is 11:00am. We did manage to get an extra half hour due to slow service at breakfast and a plea that as the clocks were moved forward some discretion should be applied. We were quite surprised that in the guest information book a surcharge was noted at €25 should the guest not check out on time. A bit sternly put for our liking. Overall Mount Falcon with certain notable staff exceptions is all about being Mount Falcon and could do worse than to reconsider it's approach to it's guests. Joe

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room as the floor below could well be noisy from pool equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Mount Falcon for 2 days for a friends wedding and almost all aspects of the stay were excellent.

Although we only stayed in a standard room it was a great size and very well presented. The only downside to the room was the fact there was no cold water in the taps, the water was scolding hot (great for a shower, not so when you want to clean your teeth).

Breakfast was very good and the waitress we had each morning was very friendly. We also had our wedding dinner at the hotel and the food was very good.

The pool was a very relaxing area and even though we didnt have ours with us it looked very child friendly. The sauna was rubbish, it was practically cold both times I used it.

Overall I loved this hotel and would have gladly stayed another 2 days.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scudamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
5.1 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.0 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
24.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Property: Mount Falcon Estate
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing