We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We didn't stay here but celebrated Valentine's Day with Afternoon Tea at this establishment. Lots of other couples seemed to have the same idea as it was very busy. Nevertheless we were served efficiently by a very polite and sociable waiter. The standard of food was well worth going along for and it felt so elegant to have it in the lounge. A real treat for any special occassion or even a special treat for visitors. No need to book up which is also another handy thing.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kath4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Mount Falcon Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went to stay there last night to check it out as a potential wedding venue.
The main restaurant is closed during the off season so we got there late and we didn't have particularly great expectations of the food, but it was delicious and very good value.
Room was large, spotlessly clean, comfortable and tasteful.
Staff were friendly and polite and the breakfast was large and very tasty.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be equally good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Arriving at Mount Falcon hotel, we were struck by the beauty of the location and the friendly and helpful staff, it was a very welcoming experience. The rooms were excellent, well appointed and spacious, not what we are normally used to for a fishing weekend! The decoration features include sporting scenes and there is a lovely antique atmosphere to the hotel even though the facilities are very modern. The bar and lounges are very comfortable and it is easy to find a quiet comfortable corner to relax. The bar is quite small and it's easy to strike up a conversation should you be looking for company and the barmen are first class. Although the river was a little high and dirty on the first day, by the second day the water had dropped & cleared and the salmon came on the take and in three days six of us caught 46 fish, keeping 6 for the table. Altogether it was a very special experience which we hope to repeat some time soon; superb hotel, super staff and superlative fishing, what more could anyone ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in a courtyard house with a 4 and 5 yr old and were very happy with the degree to which the house had been furnished. Really everything we needed was provided for. The house was warm and clean, very close to the hotel and perfect for our family.
We had all the space and comfort of the house and could use all the amenities of the hotel so we couldn't fault our experience. The pool is great and kids can use it all day.
The lake, which is a minute or two walk away, is lovely and the hotel staff gave the kids some bread to feed the ducks (and fish) which was a big hit with them.
All in all a great experience, good value and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself and the wife stayed here recently and availed of the night stay with evening eal for 110 per head, we were greeted with the usual friendly welcome that we have always received the predvious times we have stayed. The rooms are always clean, and beatifully decorated, with have a wonderful old charm, that is present throughout the hotel. We love the wonderful smell of an open fire that seems to hang pleasantly through the hotel. The meal was faultless, with fantastic wine recemendations for all dishes, with glasses available for each. The full ala carte menu was available to us, even though we were on the special deal, this was very nice touch. All ound great small hotel, and I think would be a fantastic romantic wedding venue. I look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lovedtravel2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Be careful when making your booking with this hotel. When you book on-line you will not be dealing with the hotel directly but connected to their booking agent 'aro'. I recently booked a weekend at Mount Falcon which, unfortunately, I had to cancel six days beforehand. I was unable to get my deposit refunded because I failed to read their terms and conditions properly. If I had made a telephone booking direct to the hotel my 40 euro deposit would have been refunded. So take the time and make the phone call .... makes the booking conditions more customer-friendly when the unexpected happens and you have to cancel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed numerous times at Mount Falcon and it gets better every time Henrietta and Paula are exceptional and the dining room staff cannot do enough for one. We have been on many de luxe cruises , stayed at five star hotels all over Europe including many five star castle hotels in Ireland but we just keep coming back to Mount Falcon.We stay in the same suite everytime, its like home from home. We have stayed on numerous occasions with our entire family and have always enjoyed the experience. Cant speak highly enough about Mount Falcon and its friendly staff and cant wait to return. Out on its own deserves to be a five star!!

Room Tip: suites are amazing but any room you choose is fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
4.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $199 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing