We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curry spiced chicken”

The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 1986 by Sunny & Loretta Ho, The Lantern Chinese is the oldest and best known Chinese restaurant in Ballina. Famous for it's original dishes such as Spicy Chicken Wings & Chicken Dry Hot & Spicy. The Lantern continues to offer authentic Chinese cuisine at exceptional value and great service in a cosy and relaxing environment with stunning views of the River Moy & St Muredachs Cathedral. Now offering our Early Bird Value Menu Mon-Thur - €18 2 courses with a great selection of dishes to choose from. Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Business, Special Occasion Dining, Entertaining clients, Birthdays, Hens & StagsDining options: Dinner, Reservations, Take Away, Delivery Service, Full Bar Licence,
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The best meal that we ever have eaten for mains we had the chicken, dry hot and spicy curry and chicken satay to start, very tasty ..the services was brilliant too.. They are very welcoming, the atmosphere is so relaxing, ..the best Chinese food ever (or just best food ever!) and the prices are very reasonable......can't wait to return best wishes to all the staff and thank you for a lovely time

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 382elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 98 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff and the young gentleman at the door were all very attentive from the moment we walked in the door. The food was tasty and we certainly did not leave hungry. Chicken wings starter were Devine.

Thank Katiw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate here after seeing the good reviews, but not is all as it seems.
pleasant staff except or their unwillingness to deviate from the menu.
The place was rather dated and was decorated in a tacky, stereotypical way.
Pretty average Chinese food that you can get in any take away in the country, not something to waste a night on when you're visiting the area.
The clientele that were in there when we visited showed exactly what kind o place it was.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi John B,

Thank you for posting your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. As your review is very much generalised and unconstructive, I will try my best to comment accordingly.

Firstly can you elaborate on what you mean by the staff "unwillingness to deviate from the menu"? Was this our Super Saver Menu or A La Carte? We always endeavour to accommodate the customer's needs and our Super Saver Menu is flexible as to the dishes you can choose.

Secondly your point on the interior; while you are entitled to your opinion, I beg to differ. As you can clearly see from the the other reviews, customers have commented that they found the interior, warm, cosy, and inviting with a relaxing atmosphere. As to your comment of "stereotypical"; stereotypical of what exactly? I'd be interested to hear your response on this point.

With regards the food, again it's very diffcult to comment as you failed to specify which dish you had which you found "average". As you can clearly see from other reviews, customers find our food, fresh, tasty and with regards to our Chicken Dry, hot & Spicy signature dish, unique and one of a kind.

And finally your last comment about the "clientele"; I'm actually a little taken back by this comment and don't quite know what to say. We at The Lantern welcome all customers to dine in our restaurant. We do not discriminate (and rightly so) against any person or any minority groups and again I stress that everyone is welcome at The Lantern. We certainly do not judge people on their appearance and we value and respect each and every one of our customers. It is regretful and a shame for you that you choose to judge people on their appearance.

I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss the issues you have raised.

Regards,
The Lantern Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love this restaurant. The food is AMAZING! We don't go out much but when we do...it's always here. We called in tonight and had delicious king prawns in garlic butter to start (so good), and for mains we had the chicken, dry hot and spicy and beef satay, very tasty. For dessert try the toblerone cheesecake..it's gorgeous. The staff are friendly and the service is top class. They are welcoming, the atmosphere is so relaxing, food is the best Chinese food ever (or just best food ever!) and the prices are very reasonable. The Chinese beer is great too :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenisheen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi Traceysenniscrone,

Thank you so much for such a lovely and positive review. Thrilled to read that you and your partner enjoy dining in The Lantern and that you rate us so highly. It is always satisfying to read such a glowing review from repeat customers. Also happy to hear that you find our food tasty and our prices reasonable and good value.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best

The Lantern Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have had 4 nights of big meals and Irish food, and were ready for a change. The Lantern was right downtown within walking distance of our hotel, and with good TA ratings, we gave it a try. Even with a Google map directions and precise location it was a little hard to find, since it doesn't front Bury St. Rather is is perpendicular to the street with a parking lot next to a derelict nightclub.....the only giveaway is a yellow pagoda roof fronting an otherwise nondescript building.

The Lantern does a huge take away business and is very popular with locals since 1986. The eat in dining room is surprisingly nice. The menu is very good. There is an 'early bird' special for about 13 Euros, plus a full menu. Chinese food in Ireland is not inexpensive. On the regular menu the appetizers and soups are 5-7 Euros, and the entrees are 15-18 Euros.

On the plus side, the food is really good. My wife had an excellent egg roll, I had hot and sour soup......very good. For dinner she had pork with onions and bean sprouts...she asked for extra carrot and broccoli to be added, and they said no problem. I had Special Kung Po.....with shrimp, chicken and beef....and asked for it extra spicy....which is exactly how I got it. We also had a well priced bottle of french white wine with our meal....total $52 Euros.

The family who runs the restaurant is very nice.....immigrated from HK in the 1980's. They also operate Lantern restaurants in Westport and Castlebar.

If you want a change from Irish food, this is a great option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi Gatorgolfer,

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review. I am delighted to read such positive feedback from you and glad that you and your wife enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. It's always very pleasing to read such positive feedback from first time customers. It was a pleasure serving and speaking with you and your lovely wife.

Best of luck on your travels and have a great time on your cruise in Asia!

Best regards,

The Lantern Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing