We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't recommend it enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away - MOVED

The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Established in 1986 by Sunny & Loretta Ho, The Lantern Chinese is the oldest and best known Chinese restaurant in Ballina. Famous for it's original dishes such as Spicy Chicken Wings & Chicken Dry Hot & Spicy. The Lantern continues to offer authentic Chinese cuisine at exceptional value and great service in a cosy and relaxing environment with stunning views of the River Moy & St Muredachs Cathedral. Now offering our Early Bird Value Menu Mon-Thur - €18 2 courses with a great selection of dishes to choose from. Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Business, Special Occasion Dining, Entertaining clients, Birthdays, Hens & StagsDining options: Dinner, Reservations, Take Away, Delivery Service, Full Bar Licence,
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend it enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love this restaurant. The food is AMAZING! We don't go out much but when we do...it's always here. We called in tonight and had delicious king prawns in garlic butter to start (so good), and for mains we had the chicken, dry hot and spicy and beef satay, very tasty. For dessert try the toblerone cheesecake..it's gorgeous. The staff are friendly and the service is top class. They are welcoming, the atmosphere is so relaxing, food is the best Chinese food ever (or just best food ever!) and the prices are very reasonable. The Chinese beer is great too :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenisheen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Traceysenniscrone,

Thank you so much for such a lovely and positive review. Thrilled to read that you and your partner enjoy dining in The Lantern and that you rate us so highly. It is always satisfying to read such a glowing review from repeat customers. Also happy to hear that you find our food tasty and our prices reasonable and good value.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best

The Lantern Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
708 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Very nice, fresh cooked Chinese dinner....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have had 4 nights of big meals and Irish food, and were ready for a change. The Lantern was right downtown within walking distance of our hotel, and with good TA ratings, we gave it a try. Even with a Google map directions and precise location it was a little hard to find, since it doesn't front Bury St. Rather is is perpendicular to the street with a parking lot next to a derelict nightclub.....the only giveaway is a yellow pagoda roof fronting an otherwise nondescript building.

The Lantern does a huge take away business and is very popular with locals since 1986. The eat in dining room is surprisingly nice. The menu is very good. There is an 'early bird' special for about 13 Euros, plus a full menu. Chinese food in Ireland is not inexpensive. On the regular menu the appetizers and soups are 5-7 Euros, and the entrees are 15-18 Euros.

On the plus side, the food is really good. My wife had an excellent egg roll, I had hot and sour soup......very good. For dinner she had pork with onions and bean sprouts...she asked for extra carrot and broccoli to be added, and they said no problem. I had Special Kung Po.....with shrimp, chicken and beef....and asked for it extra spicy....which is exactly how I got it. We also had a well priced bottle of french white wine with our meal....total $52 Euros.

The family who runs the restaurant is very nice.....immigrated from HK in the 1980's. They also operate Lantern restaurants in Westport and Castlebar.

If you want a change from Irish food, this is a great option.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Gatorgolfer,

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review. I am delighted to read such positive feedback from you and glad that you and your wife enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. It's always very pleasing to read such positive feedback from first time customers. It was a pleasure serving and speaking with you and your lovely wife.

Best of luck on your travels and have a great time on your cruise in Asia!

Best regards,

The Lantern Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food,excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

On entering the lantern,a group of my friends and I were greeted with a friendly smile and were shown to our table,we choose a few different starters,spicy chicken wings,spring rolls and soup,they were all equally delicious,for our main course,we ordered chicken dry hot and spicy,house special curry and beef in satay sauce,like our starter the main was fab and the portions were generous,the staff was very friendly and efficient,the decor was warm and inviting,I will be returning as soon as I can,if you want delicious Chinese food,this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Happyjaws,

Thank you so much for such a detailed review. It is always pleasing to hear that a Ballina local and a repeat customer enjoys dining in The Lantern. Also glad to hear that you found our staff attentive and professional and you enjoy the cosy and friendly atmosphere.

Thanks again for such a positive review and hope to see you soon.

Regards,

The Lantern Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, welcoming & cosy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was in Ballina on a family trip in July. This place was recommended by the locals for a great meal. Food was very tasty, not to mention very reasonably priced and staff were extremely helpful even when my little lad was being a bit choosy from the extensive menu. A rare gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Paddy W,

Thanks so much for posting your review. We were delighted to serve your family and very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meal. Your son was very cute and we were more than happy to help with choosing a meal for him. We recognise the importance of having a family friendly restaurant and we cater for all ages in our kids friendly menu.

Hopefully see you and your family again soon.

The Lantern Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent a weekend down and the best food on the trip was in the Lantern. The staff were friendly and the food as well as being tasty was excellent value for money - will definitely go again the next time I'm in the west!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLanternManager, Manager at The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Ken C,

Thank you for your review. As always it's pleasing to hear from a first time customer that you enjoyed your meal in The Lantern. We continually strive to offer tasty and quality food at reasonable and affordable prices.

Thanks again.

The Lantern Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lantern Chinese Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing