We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballina Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here one night in June while on a fishing trip in the area. A little disappointed not to have hotel parkins as spaces were full. Not too problematic as it was a weekend and I had parking on the street, however one likes to have the security of a hotel cark park.
The biggest bonus was my room which was overlooking the river, I could even hear it. the room itself was pretty much what one expects at this level: clean, tidy, nice bathroom (good gels and shampoo, which I always think is a good sign in a hotel), good TV although I never look at it.
Had a continental breakfast, so not much to comment on there apart from the absence of croissants, which I do like. the Irish breakfasts looked fine but I don't usually have one.
Service friendly and pleasant, prices very reasonable. Very good and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: River view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Patrick C

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Did you catch any fish? As mentioned previously, we are blessed with our fantastic town centre location but sometimes parking can be limited - but we do offer permits to our guests to park in an over-flow car-park. I am sorry that you did not have any croissants with breakfast as we do bake them freshly every morning (maybe they had just run out and were waiting for some more from the kitchen).

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon - maybe again before the fishing season is over?

Take care

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    137
    77
    35
    28
See reviews for
99
179
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here last week and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel in quiet a while, I travel regularly for work and from start to finish it was the most relaxing and friendly two nights I have ever spent away from home! A true credit to the Irish hospitality industry, every member of staff that I encountered went out of their way to ensure I was happy and comfortable. This hotel is 4 star luxury, clean, affordable, excellent food and service, topped off with free WiFi and parking. Will definitely be returning when I am in the area. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWalsh941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear DWalsh941

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor Review, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our team here do their utmost to ensure that each and every guest have a feeling of home away from home and I see that we certainly achieved this for your stay. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to The Manor in the near future!

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ballina Manor for 5 nights at the end of May and had a thoroughly enjoyable week. The room, which overlooked the river was very spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Ballina which suited our requirements very well. The car park was a little tight at times but we always found a space. The staff were very friendly and efficient, and the food at breakfast and in the bar were very good. Would we stay again? Very definitely.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrwilliewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear mrwilliewombat

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all the Team here in The Manor and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

After a 3 hour journey we where told that they couldn't find our booking by last minute.com
The girl at reception was very pleasant and said she would try and find us an apartment or upgrade us at the very least. When the manager took over she was very matter of fact and unfriendly. She found us a room which was very old fashioned with a view of the chiefs having a smoke,the bath also had chips in it.I told them I was not happy and was given another room which was just as bad. Decided not to stay and was assured I would get a refund,couldn't see the manager as she was in a ''meeting'' 9 o clock at night? Was given half my money back as a " good will gesture".
There is no good will in taking 69.22 of my hard earned money from me. Would never consider staying.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Siobhan C

Thank you for taking the time to post your trip advisor review, I am truly sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with you if you could contact me directly here in the Hotel on 096-80900 or via email at edel.sweeney@ballinamanorhotel.ie

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

From the first moments, I felt welcomed. After a long trip, the inviting reception area warmed by a cozy fire and the cheerful young man at registration gave me a sense of that I had found a very comfortable place to stay. This hotel has it all; friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, and lovely rooms and public areas. It's location: close to town center, bus and train station.makes it an ideal place from which to explore Ballina.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Mary L

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review, we really appreciate it! I will be sure to pass on all of your kind comments to the entire team and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to The Manor soon.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Arrived in middle of snowstorm to warm and a welcoming riverside hotel.
Although car parking was tight as previously reviewed, it was adequate and free!. Hotel quiet for Valentine's day but so was whole town. Lovely fire in reception and spacious room with river view. Absolute bargain for what we paid!

Will return in summer

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Peter C

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our free guest parking is certainly an added bonus in our town-centre location and I hope you had a lovely Valentines Day - be sure to give us all call if you are in the area for Valentines Day 2015 and we will look after you!

Looking forward to seeing you back in The Manor soon!

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Ballina Manor is ideally placed in the centre of the town over looking the River Moy both for visitors and business people alike looking to stay in the locality . The hotel is comfortable , a bright reception and the bedrooms are all a good size , free bottles of water and basic toiletries on arrival are all welcoming .But the jewel in the crown is the wonderful staff who help to make your stay special. Nothing is too much to ask for, a very customer orientated hotel The reception team led by Thomas , the bar staff to the ladies who greet you for breakfast always with a smile ( best fresh , hot plated Irish breakfast in town) to the night porter , all excellent . If you want good service , Ballina Manor is the place to be , well done to all concerned .

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothersapplepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Mothersapplepie

Many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have pasted on your lovely feedback to all of the team here in The Manor.
We are really looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
6.9 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Property: Ballina Manor Hotel
Address: At The Moy Ridgepool Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing