We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Westport, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family (nearly 40 of us, adults and kids) and I stayed here last weekend to celebrate our dads birthday. We all had a lovely weekend here, rooms were great, spacious, very clean. Dinner was arranged on the Fri night and was really good, breakfast was lovley and the staff were very friendly. Overall it was a great weekend, we will definitely be back. .

Room Tip: Only downside was noise of traffic/people late at night outside but rooms on river side were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    150
    83
    36
    32
See reviews for
102
203
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for four nights. After two we went to reception and asked to be moved as the noise from the main street at 3am wasn't great - someone was having his own party! No problem at all being moved to a much quieter room but still overlooking the Moy.
The staff are all great but special mention to the happy, smiling ladies in the breakfast room who couldn't do enough for you!
Would we stay there again? ABSOLUTELY!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room overlooking Garden street - great suites but can be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank programmerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We parked free in the adjacent parking deck. The location was walkable to restaurants and pubs (The Junction for breakfast and The Broken Jug for dinner). The room was fully modern with a great bathroom (full tub). The heat was a bit strong for my taste, but we were able to open both windows to regulate the air flow.

Free washer with laundry soap on the third floor if you run out of clean clothes on your travels.

We had a nice view of the river Moy from our room. Plus they had the best quality hotel blow drier I have ever used!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Salmon-and-lox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful room with comfy beds and loads of space. Great value for b and b and dinner. Food was lovely and served with a smile. However the whole stay was soured by a wine corkage fee charged at check out. Despite the fact that the waiter told us that corkage was free, we were charged €8 per bottle for two bottles at check out. Not only was this excessive - I think €5 is more than enough - but we were lied to at dinner. The bill for dinner, which was signed for, did not contain this charge. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: ask for moy view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had the privilege of a complimentary two day stay at this hotel courtesy of RTE Late Late Show. Unfortunately on checking in I had developed a bad virus and was feeling quite ill. I was feeling very disappointed as I had been looking forward to revisiting Mayo which is such a lovely county. However, from the lovely smiling young woman on reception who made me so welcome (and brought me up a pot of tea)and gave such helpful advice on local hairdressing etc Having settled I went to the Bistro in search of a hot drink explaining I had flue. The delightful young woman immediately said "I will make you hot blackcurrant..that will comfort you". I wasn't charged for any soothing hot drinks.. The night porter assured me that he was on all night and if I needed anything just to call down. It was more like home than a hotel...and Susan in the dining room a pure saint! The staff are the heart of any hotel and such personal welcoming assistance is rare, unfortunately. This is a hotel on the lovely river Moy that our American visitors would love. Old fashioned comfort, Old fashioned Irish hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and very central. The visitor information, which I had time to read from my sick bed, was the most comprehensive I have had anywhere. So despite my welcome complimentary break being marred by a bout of flue I left feeling a welcome guest and I will be back. Street parking was safe and easy to find. Bord Failte "(Ireland of the Welcomes)please note!!

Room Tip: Looking on to the River Moy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrainneDunLaoghaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived to departure we were blown away by the friendly and helpful staff. What more could one ask for on our first stay in Ballina. Karen at reception and David in the bar deserve special mention. We had a dinner b/b rate for 2 for 99eu and if you need a break without breaking the budget I recommend this hotel. Our room was fantastic overlooking the wonderful Moy. The hotel is in the town with plenty parking and we really enjoyed our visit. We run a small business ourselves and it is hard to getaway with the recession we did not notice the faded items of previous reviewers we saw the smiling faces of staff who work extremely hard. Reviewers may suggest things need changing but small business cannot get credit .......so look beyond faded chairs sit down relax and listen to the wonderful music of the Moy..... We had mass on sunday at 11 and the choir were incredible ....back soon.

Room Tip: facing the moy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeddie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent our weekend in this hotel cause of its central location ...we definately made the best choice. The rooms were spacious ,nicely laid out with a lovely view of the river Moy The staff couldn't be any nicer, they were available at all requests. The spa room was small but the treatment was excellent. I had a facial & neck and shoulder massage which was to die for. Kym the beauty therapist was a charming young lady and I would definately return in the furure. I was disappointed that dinner was only available in the bar....The hotel resturant was closed during our stay. Overall the hotel was ideal for a short stay and was reasonable priced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollymc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Property: Ballina Manor Hotel
Address: Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing