We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast lacking and waiting staff disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel due to the central location and price. The bedroom was fine. What you would expect for the price paid. Bottles of water were a nice welcoming touch. However, i was disappointed with the hotel at breakfast time. On the menu - it listed croissants but they had none. I asked a member of staff for toast and after clearing a few tables and asking another member of staff the other member telling me it was up to me to get my own toast. I felt that this comment was rude and only i had my elderly mother i would not have let it go (i did know the toast was self service but i hate using those toasters and also the fry was coming from the kitchen) in the end when the food was nearly gone the toast arrived. 11.50 euro per person the breakfast cost. Very poor buffet and the fry not fantastic. I did like the hotel itself - excellent location ,nice room and fair price but i feel the staff let it down. I would never dream of talking to a customer like the way they spoke to me.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Ballina Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 489 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to stay a night in Ballina in Co. Mayo, the salmon capital of Ireland, last weekend for Saturday night. The hotel overlooks the river in the middle of town at the Ridge Pool beat. The salmon were jumping out of the water round the fishermen and just after we arrived we saw a man catch a fine specimen. My son couldn’t be dragged away from the river, it was so alive! The hotel is very welcoming and in the middle of town next to the river Moy - ideal. The rooms are well appointed with quality toiletries and comfortable beds. The pool is ideal for small children and we had great fun in it. The restaurant is beautiful, again overlooking the river with a balcony either side. We were on a deal ( very reasonable) including dinner and we all enjoyed our meal from the deal menu. The children's menu was much appreciated and the two girls had a great meal. Breakfast was a buffet cereal/fruit and an individually freshly cooked main - even the toaster worked its magic on the bread! Ballina is a treat. Great service throughout the hotel. The river dominates, but there is a lovely park and playground near the hotel, an arts centre next door and a good mix of individual shops and pubs as well as Dunnes and Penneys. We were sorry we couldn't stay longer. We went to Strokestown House on our way back to Dublin and enjoyed the gardens, the house and the commentary by the young guide. Great weekend and only a little over 2 hours from Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suewestcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed recently in Ballina Manor Hotel, great location right in the centre of the town and walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars. First impressions its a bit old school/dated, but very comfortable clean rooms. The highlight really is the staff, they are all so friendly and helpful, the only downside is the Pool, its appalling ! We managed to get in but the water was freezing, this area needs a total overall and lick of paint its very tired and run down. Apart from that, lovely hotel and would recommend mainly for the location we had a great weekend, just make sure you visit Enniscrone Beach its fab and only 15 mins away.

Room Tip: Suggest a River View
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank RubyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here earlier this year and came back on business because it is so convenient and centrally located in Ballina. The best thing about this hotel is the staff - they are absolutely fantastic from the housekeeper to Thomas on reception. Nothing is too much trouble and they take the time to get to know you personally. The other real upside is free good wifi connection throughout the hotel. The major downside is the car park which is tiny with the smallest spaces which are on a1st come, 1st reserved basis. There is another car park nearby but who wants to lug heavy bags around especially if it is raining? The other problems are small but add up. It seems that maintenance and cleaning are not all they should be: in my room there was a broken window latch, a broken shower bracket and there were cobwebs/spiders in the corner of the window recesses. Not keeping these things under control indicates a lack of investment and this is what ultimately will let it down. However, since my last visit the TV has been upgraded and is a great improvement. My room overlooking the river was quiet and the beds are comfortable. I don't eat at the hotel (apart from breakfast which is ok), but I do enjoy eating out in the town because it has some very good restaurants indeed. I would stay again as it is so convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Comfortable hotel and stay. Reception friendly & helpful meeting all our needs. Room was good & bed comfortable with small bathroom. Breakfast was fine with hot & cold food available and good service. Car park is underground close by but very tight spots. Get there early to make it easy. Overall good with no complaints.

Room Tip: River view room good
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I like a room with a view and this hotel provided a great room overlooking the Moy river. The hotel is situated right in the town so it was great to be so centrally located and still have a great view. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere and oozes a desire to make your stay very relaxed and enjoyable and it succeeded brilliantly! Even though the side of the hotel facing the river looks very new, inside it looks quaint and has a myriad of cosy nooks and sitting areas. The bar downstairs has lots of bookcases full of books to peruse through, which I also loved. The hotel also has its own underground car park.

Be sure to visit the cathedral just across the river. It has superb stained glass windows. Also visit Belleek Forest which is lovely for a long walk.

Room Tip: Get a river view room!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We tended to stay away from the downtown hotels because of parking and the fact that the buildings are older.

This hotel has had some major renovations paticulally in the common areas. We had a very spacious room that overlooked the street. At first I thought that noise would be a problem as theree were pubs an stores outside the window.However a combination of heavy curtains and the fact that it was a small town that has early sidewalk roll up let us have a good nights sleep.

The service was excellent as we were having trouble with our laptop and the internet and the front desk did everything they could to help us.

The parking as well was not to much of an issue. Parking was in an undergound parking lot next to the hotel.

The food was good. We ate in the pub and by this time full Irish breakfast was getting a little much so we were opting more often for the buffet.

All in all we would stay in this hotel again although we prefer not to be right downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paroganator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
513 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Address: Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing