We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed in BestWestern Plus Ballina Manor Hotel in February and it was wonderful. From the moment we entered the hotel until our departure, each and every member of the team we met could not have done enough for us. Food wonderful - would love to go back

Room Tip: Request a River View Room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Ballina Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel fronts up well, lovely fire in the comfortable lobby. I think refurbished a year or two ago and most bedroom fittings are functional and ok. Light in bathroom and towel rail didn't work, but when I requested a DVD player staff bent over backwards to get one and set it up for me. TV's not much good - I could get only a very grainy BBC 1 picture and I think Channel 4, but no other UK TV channels. A bit frustrating. This hotel has a lot of repeat customers, especially with business travellers so it is obviously very acceptable and convenient. Staff, without exception, are absolutely great - friendly, chatty and will do anything to help. However, the restaurant is a real let-down. I ate there the first night and it is so gloomy that you want to get out as quickly as possible. However, as the hotel is in the town centre you can easily walk to some really, really good places to eat. Car park is also a bit of a nightmare - it's very limited and tight. But it can't have been too bad as I'm going back there on business in June.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel Sat and Sunday and have to say i had a lovely time. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room that overlooked the river which was great. Dinner and breakfast as lovely, couldnt fault it. I would definetly reccomend this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe123NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My partner and I spend last saturday in the Manor hotel. We could not have faulted anything. Thomas on reception was most helpful and on a very cold evening the open fire in reception was most welcoming.

We did not dine there but the breakfast was excellent.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for good location, friendly staff and good accomodation.

We will return soon

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Moy
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night, found the hotel easily enough, the carpark is a bit difficult to maneuver though and not very many spaces.
Check in was quick, our room was great. We used the pool, which is quite small (only 1m deep) but the novelty of the pool to ourselves did the job for my partner's daughter.
Breakfast the next morning was ok, I'm all in favour of hot plates but when they brought out the childs breakfast on a plate so hot that I couldnt even touch to cut up the food was ridiculous. I eventually transeferred the child's breakfast to a side plate.
Also the heating didnt work in the room that night, we rang down to reception and they quickly brought up an electric heater, however we didnt feel very safe leaving it plugged in all night but then the heating came on at about 8am so the hotel must have had it switched off.
Overall it was enjoyable but we had a few issues

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in the Ballina Manor Hotel with friends for a week-end break and we were not disappointed.

Staff were pleasant, food was first class - congratulations to the chef on the quality of food produced and the weather was amazing.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a centrally located hotel in a town with a great selection of independent stores.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armachian-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can I say my sister and I stayed her for 3 nights and it was excellent-food service and particularly Clodagh.The hotel is spotless and the stay very friendly and helpful.Would recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
513 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Address: Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing