We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Ballina!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The view over the River Moy is what makes this the best hotel to stay in! Outstanding! There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, which makes it nice when traveling. Our bartender was very friendly as well! It is an older hotel, so not flashy and modern, but very comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheDriftWoods24477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Ballina Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 489 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here in early December . We wanted a hotel in Ballina so we could walk around and do some shopping and have a few drinks within walking distance. Hotel was perfect for this. Staff friendly and welcoming. Room was cosy and clean but on the small side. View down the river was excellent. We booked a meal as part of the package and as there was a Christmas party on in the restaurant we were served in the bar.Food was fine nothing special but we enjoyed it. Breakfast was nice and hot breakfast was served to table. As others have mentioned the pool is small and basic for a four star.
Would stay here again if in Ballina.
Wifi available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night a week ago. Lovely girl in reception, she let us to check in 2 hours earlier then we should. The room was very oldfashoned, like in 70s. But it was clean and tidy. Didnt have breakfast because we got a deal when we booked hotel on www.booking.com, it was room only for 51euro. And breakfast price was 11.50euro per person, which I thought was a rip off, so we got breakfast few minutes walk from the hotel, and it was 5euro. So shop around for breakfast or dinner. The room walls were very thin, very noisy when somebody in the hall, sounds like its inside our room..very bad. We went to lesure centre, dont know why they named it like that, because its only a swimming pool in it. The gym was shocking, small room with few mashines in it, no TV or nothing.. it felt like we were in closed hotel, nobody was there watching the pool or in the gym.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ievuciukas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

i stayed in the ballina manor hotel on saturday 8th december and i thoroughly enjoyed my stay. the reception area had a really homely feel, with a real fire burning. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the room was lovely and clean with an amazing view of the river moy. the food was gorgeous too. we had a meal and breakfast, and we couldnt find fault with either of these. the only real faults i found was with the underground parking, it was full of concrete pillars and very difficult to get parked, and there was only about ten parking spaces, and also the swimming pool was very run down and the water wasnt heated, it was very cold, and there was no jacuzzi or steam room, but apart from this, i had a very enjoyable experience and definately reccomend it.

Room Tip: definately look for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great bedroom, nice staff and a great location. What a awful breakfast, it seemed to be out of the deep fat fryer and onto the plate. Dripping in fat and way way over cooked, everything except the egg and only two choices were a fry-up or eggs. The area around the toaster and fruit was dark and dingy and I don't think it is acceptable to sit having your breakfast looking at the bowels of the hotel with doors held open with trollies. Breakfast is a trip back to 60's Ireland.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddywackDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

stayed for 2 nights mdweek with6 other friends and we all enjoyed our break hotel excellent all around.Ballina is a great town for shopping and restaurants and some great pubs .We will return to Ballina Manor great location

Room Tip: ask for a river view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here recently for a friends' wedding (if you can guess the time and date, you probably know us, hi!), and we found the hotel to be more than adequate. We loved the decor and the roasting fire in the reception area and particularly enjoyed a late night tipple there one cold evening!

The room was of a decent size, we asked kindly if they'd give us a river view when we booked, and they duly obliged. The room was spacious, the bed was comfy, had a good size bath, and the room was cleaned well each day as you'd expect of a decent hotel. The only thing I'd say is that perhaps it hasn't been updated for a few years now, but that certainly didn't stay on our minds for too long.

The staff were extremely friendly, particularly the very helpful Anne Marie in reception, and the breakfast staff who went out of their way to sort us out with what we wanted for brekkie when we'd got our timings wrong in a self inflicted hungover stupor, so thanks to them for that. Saying that, I don't think the quality of the breakfast was the highest, but it was certainly easily palatable.

I had a swim in the pool one morning, which was very quiet, it's probably 15m long, but big enough to blow the cob-webs away.

All in all, a good hotel, excellent location in the centre of town, worth the price we paid, and thanks to the staff for giving us a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkladyx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
514 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Address: Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: $66 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing