We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food”
Review of Market Kitchen - CLOSED

Market Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Mediterranean, European, Italian, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Award Winning Gastro-Pub overlooking the River Moy in Ballina, Co Mayo, serving the Freshest of Seasonal and Local Produce with Pride along the Wild Atlantic Way Best Restaurant in Mayo Award - 2014 & 2012 - Best Of Mayo Awards Best Customer Service in Mayo Award -2013- Irish Restaurant Awards Best Restaurant in Mayo - 2012 & 2011 - Irish Restaurant Awards
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a dinner here early one evening. We had the restaurant to ourselves for a while! Great choice of meals and prices. Food was delicious and the staff were very helpful and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    62
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Really tasty food despite being a little overpriced. Was worth it though as couldn't fault the food or the great service

Helpful?
4 Thank amroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Called in mid December to Market Kitchen on a quiet week night. Restaurant was closed but the two staff on duty were more than accommodating offering us both the bar and restaurant menus. Both menus have excellent choices and I opted for Crab Claws and Pork Belly from restaurant menu, while my wife opted for the Sole tempura from the bar menu.. The food and sauces on each dish were to die for, and we were more than satisfied. Check out the Wine list too, Some crackers to choose from. Another reviewer said they thought this to be a little expensive which I disagree with. Quality has to have a price and Market kitchen's is fair. The service from the waitress and bar manager was very professional, friendly and they created a very welcoming atmosphere. I will certainly be back !! Thank you all concerned.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank foodtrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a nice meal but it was expensive for what we got. We had a long wait between courses so allow yourself time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayoman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superp food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am always wary of eating out around Xmas time but had one of the nicest meals here yesterday coming up to Xmas week. The staff are so nice and friendly and create such a lovely atmosphere . Looking forward to eating here in the New Year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maryellenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing