We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stpp for my birthday lunch”
Review of Market Kitchen - CLOSED

Market Kitchen
Cuisines: Irish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award Winning Gastro-Pub overlooking the River Moy in Ballina, Co Mayo, serving the Freshest of Seasonal and Local Produce with Pride along the Wild Atlantic Way Best Restaurant in Mayo Award - 2014 & 2012 - Best Of Mayo Awards Best Customer Service in Mayo Award -2013- Irish Restaurant Awards Best Restaurant in Mayo - 2012 & 2011 - Irish Restaurant Awards
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent stpp for my birthday lunch”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I was taken here as a birthday surprise whilst on a trip in Mayo. What a lovely place for a birthday lunch! All the food that our table of 4 had was deemed excellent. Superb value menu 2 courses for €20! Our waitress saw I was given a card and present, put two and two together and presented me with a beautifully decorated 'happy birthday' plate along with candle. Lovely place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank AlanMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    62
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great menu, really good service from knowledgeable staff.
Really well cooked food, crunchy veg, meat cooked to perfection and a tasty sauce to top it all off.
Nice selection of deserts and wines also

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Evelyn_078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very nice lunch here. Clean well decorated, very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Relaxed lunch with a family member while on holiday. The lunch menu had a very good choice and was very tasty. Good portions. Would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Failte0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A party of 19 of us dined at the Market Kitchen on a busy Saturday evening as part of a hen party. The staff went to great efforts to make our evening run smoothly and also to make the hen feel special. The food was absolutely delicious and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BelfastLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

had a little stop-over in Ballina during our family trip to the West of Ireland and this was one of our little vacations' highlights: everything was great, the place, the service, the quality of the food, the care for details,...

The food is simply gorgeous and there is a very large wine list, we all cleaned our plates


I will definitely go back there during my next trip to the West

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing