We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in Ballina”
Review of Gaughan's - CLOSED

Gaughan's
Restaurant details
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Ballina”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stumbled on this place today, crab Salad excellent as well as the Quiche. Really friendly staff and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Tasting Food at Unbeatable prices”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have to declare my association with Eddie Gaughan - I knew him as a kid in Ballina. I left Ballina many years ago, now returning regularly, but little did I think that I would one day have such delicious food served to me by that big guy. Cooking is one my favorite hobbies - because I love good food. And you will get that at Gaughan's -crab salad, when in season, is one of the best you'll get anywhere -anyone who has tasted it knows that. But every dish is delicious - and very generous portions, at prices I wonder how they make money (but please keep those prices!). The ham and chicken are dishes I will always look forward to. What more can I say. Gerry Clarke

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“still as brilliant as ever”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

my husband and i just love this restaurant,it,s one of the highlights of our travels to county mayo. The food is homemade,crab salad is fab,also organic smoked salmon.excellent service and lovely homely surroundings.Owner edward is a great host and is can give you lots of local information.Can,t wait to get back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely pub for some barlunch. It has a lovely dessert menu which is worth treating yourself too. Visitors would love it here!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaG738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inishcrone, Ireland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“I still can't pronounce Gaughans”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've had linch here twice. Service is excellent and food is average. The interior could use a makeover

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaughan's also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing