We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Slice of History”

Foxford Woollen Mills Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Foxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rugs, Throws, Blankets, Scarves & Accessories Baby Blankets and Rugs Furnishing Fabrics. All items woven in Foxford. In our Restaurant we serve a selection of homemade lunch/dinner/salads/soups and deeserts. Also home made Jams, Chutneys, Salad Dressings, Brown Bread and Scones to eat in or take away.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little Slice of History”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Do not go here without doing the audiovisual tour. This was an extremely interesting and fascinating piece of Irish history of how the mill came to be and woolen mills in general in Ireland. The gift shop is pricey, but you will not see this craftsmanship or this quality of wool anywhere else in the world. The gift shop staff could have been a bit friendlier, but we went in October and maybe they were “burned out” from all the summer visitors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3girls7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    99
    30
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

It's a lovely place to visit, with easy parking nearby, a coffee shop, and also lovely gifts for any occasion, but they are very expensive, but the rugs will last as my mum had one given to her on her wedding day, and still has it 30 years later, so although expensive, it will be a good investment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LASTORDERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent way to wait out the rain”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Found this place on a side trip. I was looking for something to do as most of what I had planed for the day involved being outside looking at vistas, but the weather was rainy and super windy. While the tour is a bit expensive, it was very well done- it was great to see the history of such an ambitious nun! The food in the cafe upstairs was AMAZING!! I am always on the look out for fresh fruits and veggies when traveling since it is so easy just to eat fried all of the time, and this placed delivered! I had a nice sweet chilly chicken wrap with fresh fruit salad, and tomato and cucumber salad. Perfect way to spend part of the afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatesATraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“coach party”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our group loved the tour of the mill. The shop is delightful with friendly helpful staff. The access is good for wheelchairs with a lift taking you to restaurant. What a selection of food, something for everyone and the cake selection is amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARYANNT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIVEMILETOWN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Touch of class”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great place to visit and have a cup of coffee. Sore on the pocket as there is some lovely items in the shop and is hard not to buy something

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hrfmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxford Woollen Mills Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Foxford, County Mayo
 

Been to Foxford Woollen Mills Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing