We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place!”
Review of Foxford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Foxford B&B and Inns
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super Place!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at Foxford Lodge whilst on a painting course with Harry. I really enjoyed the entire experience. Brigid's cooking was superb and I have to say her breakfast was simply one of the best I have ever had!! I had a lovely spacious en-suite room which was spotlessly clean. The hospitality from the entire family was second to none. I cannot recommend Foxford Lodge highly enough, I certainly will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipstoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
18
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed overnight while on business in Foxford. Foxford lodge turned it from a brief overnight stay into a very worthwhile, relaxing, and memorable visit. Very homely feel, great food (The Salmon special for breakfast is unreal), and genuinely friendly, accommodating hosts. Just two minutes from the town centre, and in the other direction, two minutes from stunning views of Lough Conn. From the moment you walk in, you know it's a special little place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Its always a pleasure looking after the weary traveller. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just returned from a week’s holiday with the wife and a (very) small child at one of the Railway Cottages and have to say what a fantastic time we had. We cannot praise Harry, Brigid and their family enough for the warm welcome they extended to us during our stay with them.

The house we stayed in was spacious, extremely clean and offered all the facilities that you could require during a self-catering holiday (including a travel cot which was handy). Although we were on a self-catering holiday we had the pleasure of dining at the Foxford Lodge on a number of occasions and the home cooking provided by Brigid was heavenly.

The only downside from our stay was that our holiday came to an end and we had to leave!

We certainly look forward to returning to Foxford in the future and would highly recommend a stay at the Foxford Lodge and Railway Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxfordLodge, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, it was a joy having you all here. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was staying in Foxford Lodge few times because of my work in county Mayo. Owners are fantastic people, rooms are great,atmosphere is great and even they are serving unusual breakfast (salmon with a potato) which is amazing. I recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracjan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxfordLodge, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We do have alternative Breakfasts for people as we find a lot of people get the usual Irish Breakfast everywhere. Customer Service is very important to us. Thank you for your nice review. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Foxford Lodge on our way home from the Irish Fly Fair in Galway ,we really enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable and warm room with plenty of hot water and fresh towels .Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us ,we will definitely be back again soon .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinKerr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxfordLodge, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, always a pleasure to see returning customers. Shows we must be doing something right! Many Thanks. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had an amazing time at the Foxford lodge last weekend. The family are lovely, the house is amazing and the home made bread is worth the trip. From Karaoke to just relaxing this is the perfect setting for a nice weekend away. We were here for a hen party and a murder mystery weekend. We didn't have to worry about anything because it was all arranged, collection from train, bus to the murder venue, all sorted and ready to go. Highly recommend Foxford Lodge for anyone who wants a nice weekend away, a mid week break or a hen party :) thanks very much - really enjoyed it!! The house is beautifully decorated with nautical theme. Really loved the stay here. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Nice rooms, warm and cozy, showers are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sootykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxfordLodge, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, It was a our pleasure to look after you all. Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a wonderful guesthouse, well deserving of all the reviews.
Harry & Bridget were amazing hosts and really let you feel like you are at home, but not in an overbearing way, they have it to a tee.
Breakfast was amazing and the kids really loved it too.
We will be back, thanks so much - Mark,Tracey,Eric, - Trevor,Lynda & Tadhg

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxfordLodge, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many Thanks for your kind review, lovely having families staying with us. Hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxford
7.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.0 mi away
The Mayfly Hotel
The Mayfly Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foxford
86 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodview House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
458 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,015 reviews
10.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxford Lodge

Property: Foxford Lodge
Address: Station Road | Pontoon Road, Foxford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Foxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Foxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foxford Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Foxford. There are six well appointed rooms, comfortable orthopaedic beds, free to air satellite TV, en-suite rooms and one Single room with a private Bathroom.Our breakfast menu is seemingly taking on a celebrity status on Tripadvisor with excellent reviews. We'll let the menu speak for itself when you get here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Foxford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing