We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend!”
Review of Foxford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foxford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Foxford B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I'm just home from a weekend away at Foxford Lodge with nine other girls and all I can say is what a weekend!! We were made very welcome as soon as we arrived with tea and biscuits. We were then shown to our rooms which, like the rest of the house, was spotlessly clean.

Later we had a chinese buffet which was delicious! We all relaxed in the lounge and had drinks and it wasn't long at all until we were singing our hearts out until the early morning on the karoke machine!!! There was a great selection of songs and also a flashing spot light!!! You can bring your own drink and there was a fridge and ice-making machine there also. There was tea making facilities also.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious with homemade bread, a grill/fry of your choice, juice and cereals. We opted not to do the water painting class which was 35euro extra and went into Castlebar for a look around instead.

We came back to change and have some drinks before being picked up at ten to 5 to go to our secret location for the Murder Mystery. The costumes were of very high quality and Brigid offered to alter/change them if you were not happy. The Murder Mystery was great fun and Ray who was in charge was very enthusiastic and kept the show on track! We breaked for a four course meal in the middle which we all agreed was delicious.

The bus picked us up again at about half 10 and we had the choice to go out or to go home. You are allowed to wear your costume out for the night if you wish! This weekend is great value for money, is really well run and really is just a very entertaining weekend, whether it be for a hen or just for an exciting weekend away with a difference!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin,ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We recently stayed in the Railway cottages in Foxford,The house itself was spacious,spotless,really well equipped and well located a short walk from the town.
We had breakfast delivered both mornings which were delicious.We ate out during the day,doing some site seeing and sampling some of the local pubs in the evenings before returning home to the cottage to light the fire and relax!
I would recomend these houses as they are in a beautiful part of the country,we were looked after very well by Harry And his wife.The week end was a complete success and we would love to go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co CLare
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed in the Railway Cottages which are part of Foxford Lodge for the weekend. We had a 50th Celebration there and used the Studio attached to Foxford Lodge. Amazing weekend was had. The Studio proved to be the perfect location for party no 1. A Karaoke evening. Food and music provided. Just fab. Party no 2 was a murder mystery the next night, fully arranged by Carol and her team. Collected by bus, costumes provided and facilitated for the evening including food. Best night ever. The facilities were great and staff made sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend. Pauline N, Co Clare.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Myself, my husband & 2 friends stayed in railway cottages for the weekend. Excellent value for money and would rush back again soon.
We did the murder mystery that is provided by the foxford lodge and we certainly weren't disappointed!!! Absolutely brilliant weekend , breakfast at the lodge was amazing as was their hospitality and friendly service. Really looking forward to going back again, 10 outta 10 on everything!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in the Railway cottages for a family Easter break. We found the cottage extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean,a real home from home. It was an excellent base to explore the area. We had breakfast at the main house Foxford Lodge which was without doubt amongst the best we have ever had with home made bread and scones fresh from the oven each morning and looked after really well by Harry & Brigid. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just home from a fabulous weekend at Foxford Lodge. Brigid and Harry catered for our every need. Thoroughly enjoyable! Picked up from the train, gorgeous warm welcome including chocolate cake and then taken to a very professionally run Murder Mystery evening. We couldn't have asked for anything more, from the karaoke to even a honest box for a bit of alcohol. Rooms are spotless, beds are comfy and brekkie is delicious. Would I recommend it, absolutely without hesitation, although as long as there will be a free weekend for me to return as I fancy a lesson in Watercolour painting! Well done Brigid and Harry! Thank you for a wonderful, affordable and thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSKells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we stayed in the foxford lodge in mayo for a hens weekend ( muder mystery) . the lodge was amazing . we got a great welcome and the bedroom all ensuite were fab, cleanand nicely decorated. we wer picked up and brought to the muder mystery when we caqm back we had karakoe in the lodge which was set up for us. the breakfast was amazing the next morining home made bread and jams cereal, or fry we were really well looked after and would have no hesitation going back.

Room Tip: all room quiet in a fab location all rooms amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxford
0.0 mi away
The Mayfly Hotel
The Mayfly Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foxford
88 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
478 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
3.4 mi away
Woodview House
10.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxford Lodge

Property: Foxford Lodge
Address: Station Road | Pontoon Road, Foxford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Foxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Foxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foxford Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Foxford. There are six well appointed rooms, comfortable orthopaedic beds, free to air satellite TV, en-suite rooms and one Single room with a private Bathroom.Our breakfast menu is seemingly taking on a celebrity status on Tripadvisor with excellent reviews. We'll let the menu speak for itself when you get here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Foxford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing