We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2006

I have stayed in the Erris area many times over the years as a result of family connections and I have often visited Belmullet. There have been many times that I have wished there was a large, modern hotel close to the town to stay in so I was delighted when, a couple of years ago, I saw the Broadhaven being built. I have stayed there twice, once just after it opened and in August 2006 and both times I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and left looking forward to my next visit.

I have found the hotel to be very welcoming, the rooms are clean and spacious, the food is good and overall the hotel is very good value. The key feature for me of staying there is the atmosphere and the attitude of the staff. The hotel is an Irish hotel not some anonymous, heartless place that could be anywhere in the world. I don’t think that I have ever encountered hotel staff that are as helpful and as accommodating as the staff at the Broadhaven. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they give all the guests a personal touch. It helps that all of the staff seem to come from the local area. I have no objection to hotels employing workers from the European Union but in most cases you can’t converse with them and there is no chance of asking them a question about the local area. Whenever I stay in an Irish hotel I want to be served by Irish people so that you can have a conversation with them and almost build up a friendship or rapport.

You will always be able to find fault with a hotel as there is bound to be something that is not to your liking or something in the room that isn’t working but that is the case in every hotel. I have come across a few minor niggles at the Broadhaven but they were always either sorted out by the staff or they were things that I could live with especially as I was only going to be in the hotel for a few days. I have never experienced anything on the scale reported by other reviewers. Sure the hotel is a bit crowded and noisy sometimes but that is to be expected given its size and the fact that is often fully booked with one or even two wedding receptions on as well.

I like the Broadhaven. I hope to be able to stay there many more times in the future and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnPKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 518 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding over a year ago now, it is a lovely hotel, staffed by locals who couldnt do enough for you! The food was delicious with traditional irish meals on the menu.. As part of the wedding party we were treated like royalty we wanted for nothing. im returning to this hotel for another wedding this month and am looking forward to it.. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

Just wanted to say that i stayed in this hotel in Feb 2006 as we were there because of a wedding reception. The rooms were emaculate i couldnt fault them, they even had a flat screen plasma tvs.

The bar was clean and the bar staff were friendly, what more could you want?

The wedding reception was brilliant i could not fault the food one little bit, i especially recomend the baileys cheesecake.

Even poped down to the nightclub, what a great place, it was huge.

Back to my room and as others said about the noise, i didnt hear a thing and it wasnt that late nor was i drunk!! I must admit tho i stayed at the front of the hotel so maybe the noise levels in the rear of the hotel rooms were different.

The hotel looked over a scenic bay and the small town of Belmullet was friendly.

I would deffenatly return to Broadhaven Bay Hotel again and again and i would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank debbie4979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
19
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We had a poor experience at the broadhaven hotel. We moved rooms three times once because of nightclub disturbance. Secondly, we had no cold water in our shower, which left us one and a half hours late for the wedding that brought us to the hotel in the first place. There was no phone in our room, the iron didn't work and we had no running cold water in the shower in one room and in the wash hand basin in the third room. We brought our problems to the attention of the owner and she advised me that I should expect complications when staying in any hotel! The staff were friendly and tried their best to help us but even these problems were beyond their control. The hotel was reasonably priced as hotel rates go but honestly we paid enough for the level of functionality in our rooms.

Stayed: July 2006
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London , England
15
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Great to have a spectacular hotel in the heart of Erris and the food and staff really ensure u enjoy every minute of your stay. Also i would be 100% sure if u would like to stay in a scenic and beautiful spot this is the right location.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
110
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Newly opened Hotel with fabulous view of Broadhaven Bay if you could see it because they have car park in front of the hotel. The hotel is badly designed. The Nightclub attached to it is not soundproofed so you can here it in the middle of the night. The Main bar has no atmosphere and is usually overcrowded with drunk people coming down for the Nightclub. Music is terrible in the bar. Residents bar is useless because its never open and when it is open its full with people coming down for the Nightclub who are must likely not residents. You could forgive the hotel for these flaws because its a new hotel but when I was staying there the hotel was already open for a year and their leisure centre which they advertise along with the hotel is still not opened and is not expected to open until September 2006. There is plenty other places of accommodation in the area I personally would look else were in the area for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
123
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Newly opened hotel with lovely views overlooking Brodhaven Bay. Top Class, nicely priced too! I recommend it..

23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
23.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#4 of 9 in Belmullet
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadhaven Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadhaven Bay Hotel

Address: Shrofornagh Ballina Road | Belmullet, Co. Mayo, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range: $104 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadhaven Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious family owned Broadhaven Bay Hotel is located only minutes walk from the centre of the bustling town of Belmullet in the heart of the spectacular Erris region of North Mayo. This Mayo Hotel is ideally located to discover the breathtaking scenery of the unspoilt Atlantic coast and the truly captivating Erris peninsula. We offer high quality, modern accommodation and a traditional Mayo welcome - the perfect destination for those seeking rejuvenation or looking for a bit of adventure. There is a great selection of walking and cycling loops nearby, with bike and helmet hire available in the hotel. Dine in the elegant surroundings of the Bayside Restaurant where you will be served a fusion of modern and traditional Irish dishes with the freshest local produce. Enjoy drinks, the crack and all day bar food at the Kilmore Bar. Relax in our 25M heated pool*, sauna, steam room or jacuzzi in the Éalú Health & Leisure Club or work up a sweat in our fully equipped gym. Be pampered at the Spa Elysium on site at the hotel where a wide range of therapies in a calm and tranquil setting are on offer. Milano Hairdressers, also on site, offers the latest in hair design and styling.* The swimming pool is equipped for entry by persons with special mobility needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Broadhaven Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadhaven Bay Belmullet
Hotel Broadhaven Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing