We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great course - still” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carne Golf Links

Carne Golf Links
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carne Golf Links lies in magnificent unspoiled sand dunes overlooking Blacksod Bay and the wild Atlantic Ocean near Belmullet Co. Mayo in the west of Ireland. Carne was the last links course to be designed by the late Eddie Hackett and it is now believed by many who have played it to be his greatest challenge. The building of Carne has caused little disturbance to this wild and ancient landscape. Tees and greens occurred naturally and very little earth moving was involved in the course construction. Along the course are some breathtaking views over the Atlantic and the legendary islands of Inis Glóire and Inis Géidh
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great course - still”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We played this over 10 years ago and always promised ourselves another visit. It is just as good, if not better. Superb links course with views to take your breath away. Nice people in the bar/restaurant and clubhouse. Always welcoming.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great challenging course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

tough links course but unfortunately we played it on a day with hurricane wind blowing. Would play again on a calmer day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DublinRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You must play it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited in march 2014,
We got good weather if a good stiff breeze but being seasoned links players we expected and enjoyed this, It is challenging but fair and was in great condition especially remarkable considering the winter it had endured. The welcome is excellent and very professional.
We enjoyed our 18 so much we returned the following morning to see if we could play the new Kilmore 9. This request was accommodated without a problem and before we knew it we were on our way. The new 9 could have been there forever it blends in seamlessly.
A fabulous golfing experience on a true natural golf links. If you are a links fan this is a must add to the bucket list

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've played all over Ireland. Carne is truly unique. I visit Carne and played 8 rounds over 5 days and never tired of the course. The holes are very diverse. The club has a wonderful culture and atmosphere. The members are welcoming and friendly and very interested to know what you think of their club. Hanging out in the bar after golf, watching the British Open final with the members was special.

I will never forget my first visit to Carne and I hope to return soon. You must try it!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MGD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“An amazing course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We travelled to Sligo for the October bank holiday weekend to play a few of the West of Ireland courses, we weren't disappointed. Carne is about an hour and 40 minutes from Sligo but better say two just to be safe. The course itself is a true Links and will really test your golfing skills. It was raining and quite windy the day we played and got so wet playing the 1st we couldn't even stand and the rain drops were pounding us. As it was so heavy and unplayable we went in and waited to see if we could get a break in the weather. The staff were very accommodating and left us try dry our gear out. The clubhouse bar was friendly and the food was nice. After a two hour break the sun came out and the wind died down. We decided to persevere and venture back out onto the 2nd and are we glad we did.

The course is fantastic and it's incredible the way the dunes hide the holes. Even the par 3's are varied will cause a serious discussion on what club to use. Buy a strokesaver it'll be worth it. The views are breathtaking and each hole has is so different. Hitting the fairway doesn't necessarily mean you'll have an easy second shot. It's definitely one of the best courses I've played. The 17th and 18th are great finishing holes. It was so good we went back a second day and played, even though it was nearly 2 hours away from where we were staying. So if you want to play a fantastic Links course and thing your golfing well book in for some penance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ&Keats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne Golf Links also viewed

Enniscrone, County Sligo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 
Belmullet, County Mayo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 

Been to Carne Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing