We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorest course condition in Ireland”
Review of Carne Golf Links

Carne Golf Links
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carne Golf Links lies in magnificent unspoiled sand dunes overlooking Blacksod Bay and the wild Atlantic Ocean near Belmullet Co. Mayo in the west of Ireland. Carne was the last links course to be designed by the late Eddie Hackett and it is now believed by many who have played it to be his greatest challenge. The building of Carne has caused little disturbance to this wild and ancient landscape. Tees and greens occurred naturally and very little earth moving was involved in the course construction. Along the course are some breathtaking views over the Atlantic and the legendary islands of Inis Glóire and Inis Géidh
Reviewed April 12, 2011

8 of us were on a four day golf trip in the Sligo /Mayo area and Carne was supposed to be the highlight. Unfortunately this was not the case. The general maintenance of the course is very poor and the fairways are bare and patchy. Greens are a disgrace with little grass and patchy surface at best. We finished playing at 16.00 and there no towels available for showers because the Pro had gone home.
Only plus was that the food served in the clubhouse was excellent, but we did not come for the food!
Certainly not worth going out of the way for.

Thank MDIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayoErris, Manager at Carne Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Dear MDIRL,
Thank for your comments and review below.
Firstly I would like to apologise for no towels being left out for the group in the locker rooms upon your return, there is no excuse for this except a short sight on our behalf.
Your comments on our course were taken very seriously and after consultation with our green staff and course committee below is our explanation.
A Green Reseeding programme is currently in place. This involves over seeding the greens with indigenous grasses such as fescues and bent. We are, in so far as possible removing the invasive poa-anna grasses from all our greens. This is done in conjunction with a light top dressing of sand which is done approximately once a month. Following this monthly application, obviously for a short period after this treatment greens would not be as fast as we would like them to. We had applied fertilizer and a sand top-dressing on the greens midweek, this with unseasonal hot weather (20 degrees) Friday and Saturday that week caused the grass to grow at treble the normal rate.
We hold our hands up on the greens problem on that day. However the rest of the course is as conditioned as it ever was in the past at this time of year.
True Links fairways are generally bear at this time of year; we would be very concerned if they were lush green and therefore displaying a very un-natural appearance so early in the season.
Our course is raw, rugged and natural as it is so renowned for, we have in recent days received several compliments on our course and the true nature of a rugged links course.
I would like you to have a positive experience of Carne in the future so if you find the time could you please drop me a note to sales@carnegolflinks.com. We respect all feedback and address all concerns raised. Thank you for taking the time to visit Carne and I trust that on the next occasion the visit will be more enjoyable.
Sorcha Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Carne Golf Links
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you like links golf, you should not miss Carne. My wife and I played the course on the afternoon of the final round of the British Open and we had the course to ourselves, all the members having played in the morning. The course is difficult and you will need to buy the course guide to find your way around, but this is a great golf course, imaginatively designed and at the same time completely natural. Every hole seems to have been fashioned out of the dunes, with several blind shots. However, it's a fair course and rewards good shots.

However, if you have trouble keeping the ball on the planet, I would skip Carne. You'll never find your ball in the fescue and you'll be frustrated beyond belief. Hit it short and straight and take your bogeys and you will not be disappointed. Bring a camera and a full box of golf balls. This is Irish links golf at its best.

2  Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I was able to play many of the great courses throughout the northwest of Ireland and this was the best by far. I enjoyed every hole. This place has amazing dunes and terrific scenery. If there was one course that I could play for the rest of my life this would be it.

2  Thank shamrockscgolf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayoErris, Manager at Carne Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

Thank you so much for your great review of Carne.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our Links course and hopefully we will get to see you again soon, in the meantime tell all your friends.

Best Wishes,

Sorcha
Commercial Manager @ Carne Golf Links

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

This one beats them all.

Ballybunion and Lahinch are not at the races once you have played Carne.

I played it in a steady force 4 stiffening to 5 south westerly and only lost 6 balls . I am so so SO proud of myself .

Well worth the trip . Here is how you make a weekend of it .

I recommend staying in Ballina or Sligo and starting the weekend with a gentle 18 hole excursion to Rosses Point or Enniscrone first .

Neither of those two will really prepare you for Carne .

It is an absolute monster and would still be an absolute monster if there were no wind blowing at all .

One dune is about 80-90m high and YES. The Green is on the other side !

If this were in Kerry it would have its very own International Airport next door with bizjets nose to nose all summer on the apron .

Maybe that's what they should do in Belmullet .

2  Thank MuggKins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Great value golf course, the layout is superb and the rough is very difficult. The greens and clubhouse were a little dissappointing but the staff were very friendly and accomodating with the food being top class as well. It is a long drive out to Belmullet on bad roads but it is worth every mile of it.

Thank Curragh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayoErris, Manager at Carne Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2010

Thanks for your fantastic comments and review of Carne Golf Links, we look forward to welcoming you back another time, We have just recently embraced Trip Advisor and only getting around to responding now- so apologies.

Best Wishes,

Sorcha
Commercial Manager
Carne Golf Links

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne Golf Links also viewed

Belmullet, County Mayo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 
Belmullet, County Mayo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 

Been to Carne Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing