We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top class property in a fantastic island setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite) Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite)
Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Bedroom 2 Twin room (double & single bed)
Upstairs livingroom, stunning views of the Mullet peninsula.
Kitchen - Dining area
Family bathroom.
Belmullet CGS (North facing)
Our 2 Luxury Pods.
Boat trips can be arranged by request.
Luxury Pods also availablle
A panoramic view from Claggan Island.
Panoramic view from Belmullet Cgs.
Aerial View of Claggan Island. July 2013
Aerial view with Claggan Island in the background, July 2013
Sunset over Belmuller CGS
Claggan Island Sunset
Claggan Beach with Belmullet CGS in the background.
Claggan Beach (Achill Island in background)
Stunning views of Achill to the south.
Carramore lake. A 15 minute drive away.
The wild Atlantic ocean at its best.
Ballyglass Lighthouse. 20 minute drive from Claggan Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
wilma D
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class property in a fantastic island setting”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a wonderful week in this very comfortable house The advantage of sea beaches and farmland together make it an ideal place for those who live in cities or towns to recharge their batteries also a great place for children to experience farming life and livestock The friendliness of the owners is the best I have experienced in renting cottages in the past 15 years

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Crossing the causeway
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
Wow, thank you for your kind words and praise for us. We are truly flattered and delighted you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you all and spending time in your company. Thank you for the wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maryscanl...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The warmest welcome under mackerel skies”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the coast guard station on claggan island.
The family made us very welcome and checked we had everything we needed for a memorable stay.
Memories:
The starriest skies, cosiest turf fires, song of the sky lark, stretches of clean white sand, clear blue green sea, the story telling and laughter mixed with the tranquility of the island
Our 5 year old son enjoyed all the farm animals and even got a ride on a tractor.
There's wifi, wii DVDs and board games if you prefer to stay inside
There's so much to do and see on the wild Atlantic Coast and after exploring it was bliss to return to the peace and comfort of the island

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A home from home feel
Liked least: Readjusting the reclining chairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again on Claggan Island. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
853Elisab...
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
“Great house near the beach”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage on Claggan Island is spacious, clean, and tastefully furnished and the kitchen is very well equipped. Our hosts were extremely friendly and always happy to advise us on the sights as well as restaurants and pubs in the area.
We especially enjoyed going to the beach (a few minutes on foot) and watching the gorgeous Irish sunset. All in all, we would recommend this cottage to anyone - couples, families or groups of friends. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the Sea
Traveling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back on Claggan Island again in the near future. Best wishes from all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eimear37
Munster
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect valentines getaway on breath taking Claggan Island”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent a long weekend on Claggan Island to celebrate valentines weekend. We arrived in lashing rain and gale force winds to the most cosy, romantic retreat and blazing fire!! It was just what we were looking for, so peaceful we didn't see another person only when we went into the town for dinner (which was gorgeous!) The following day we awoke to clear skies and amazing views in every direction. We enjoyed a long walk on the beach and back again to a blazing fire... Bliss!!!! We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the near future. Best wishes form all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryMacG
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a way to see in the New Year”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Ireland in late December for our New Years stay at Belmullet CGS, we were not disappointed.
Even before our arrival we experienced the warm inviting welcome which only got better upon arrival, the communication from the outset of our booking was second to none.
Our booking process was excellent which even ran to us being able to do a grocery order in advance of our arrival, all fresh produce shopped locally and awaiting us stored away in cupboards and fridge.
The property was warm and inviting on arrival as was the welcome from the property owner and family.
Both the interior and exterior quality of the property was impeccable and the standard of fixtures/ fittings, beds/ bedding etc were that of the standard to be expected at fine hotels.
We loved our evenings spent by the log/turf burner in the kitchen and long chats lover a glass of wine whilst listening to the Atlantic breezes blowing around the property.
We were two family's of 3 with young boys aged about ten yrs old, the boys loved the farm and beach, walks in the winters fresh breeze being a part of our morning routine each day before going to visit some wonderful surrounding towns such as Bangor and Belmullet
The drive over the dunes and causeway to Island was a pleasure and gave us the feeling of it being 'our' little bit of paradise on the West Coast
I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Belmullet CGS where I am sure a welcoming Cead Milte Failte awaits all who are fortunate enough to visit
We are very much looking forward to returning again soon

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for the kind & positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in future. Best wishes from all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing